We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect Fall drive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guardsman Pass Scenic Backway

Guardsman Pass Scenic Backway
Ranked #2 of 84 things to do in Park City
Certificate of Excellence
Napa, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect Fall drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We made this drive after eating lunch at the Montage Resort. We come to Park City every year and had never been on this road....shame on us! In the Fall, it's amazing with all of the beautiful colors. If you like, you can continue the road to Salt Lake, or to Midway, but going to the summit is spectacular.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel2223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    48
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Idyllwild, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful vistas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was a very leisurely trip. Also called Big Cottonwood Canyon, we were afforded beautiful views of the surrounding mountains and valleys. Some of the trees were changing color and you were surprised by the splash of color. We went through areas that were totally evergreens down to below the tree level into various trees such as aspen, etc. There is a lovely restaurant on the way down with a beautiful outdoor deck. We returned to Park City via the interstate.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Annamarie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City West, Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Top of the World”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This highway is for the skilled mountain driver. Lots of sharp curves, cliffs, rapid ascent and very rapid descent. 11000Ft at the summit and the views are fantastic. We were very fortunate as the leaves were almost at peak....Be sure to take the trip up to Guardsman Pass from Park City. Incorporate the trip down to Brighton and make sure to hike around Silver Lake and up to the twin lakes. When finished, cap you trip off with a drive back up to Gurardsman Pass and then to Midway...Well worth while and a drive to remember.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua Kona Hawaii
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Top of the world - THE VIEW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is a must see in the summer months!!! The road is paved most of the way with some of it a bit washboardy. We had a compact rental car and it handled it easily. THE VIEWS of the mountain ranges and valleys is incredible and is a must see. We went from the Park City side to the Big Cottonwood side. I think in the future, I will pack a picnic and spend some time along the creek at the picnic sites in Big Cottonwood Canyon! Really great!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Konatotheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spectacular...but not for the faint of heart!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We drove the winding back way to Park City from Salt Lake City through Big Cottonwood Canyon. Lots of climbers out on the steep rock cliffs as we wound our way up to Guardsmen Pass. Be sure to stop at the top and gaze down into the valley and across the mountains you have just come through. A few aspens are already golden against a sea of dark green. This picturesque drive is not for the faint of heart--no guard rails and the road is narrow.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank bikingoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guardsman Pass Scenic Backway also viewed

 
Park City, Wasatch Range
Park City, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Guardsman Pass Scenic Backway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing