We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Underwhelming HGVC property that was really just a rescue of part of the abandoned Hyatt/Escala complex” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sunrise Lodge by Hilton Grand Vacations

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunrise Lodge by Hilton Grand Vacations
Ranked #6 of 60 Hotels in Park City
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Underwhelming HGVC property that was really just a rescue of part of the abandoned Hyatt/Escala complex”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Brand new but not great. Studio rooms are small and very poorly lit. Despite our thermostat being on 69 the room was an unbearable 81 degrees all night. The hotel doesn't have robes yet to enjoy the hot tubs outside. There is no signage so it's nearly impossible to find the ski valet. Even though I'm a Gold HHonors member and there were nicer rooms available, they wouldn't upgrade me. The most egregious omission is the lack of a restaurant on site (we were told Cantons resort forbad it). There's not even a store or market for snacks and the hotel only provides cheap k cup coffee in the lobby. Stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zephyr221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongrandvacations, General Manager at Sunrise Lodge by Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to send your thoughts. We appreciate the feedback and will use the information provided to make improvements. New signage is now in place and robes will be in rooms soon. I’m sorry that your experience was not what my team and I expect. Please feel free to contact me directly should you wish to discuss your stay directly. I can be reached at rsykes@hgvc.com.


J. Rafe Sykes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    194
    65
    36
    18
See reviews for
289
356
23
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The experience has to do with the dedication of the persons on the property. I can't stress enough the professionalism knowledge and dedication Renee at the front desk, whose manager was also very helpful, mark should be commended for their efforts. I would highly recommend using their services, mad

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 10---MAD---5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY/USA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We have been HGVC members for 2 years - and feeling so so about it - but this really is a great property: ski lift is 100' from Hotel, one-bedroom units and up are spacious (but studios are much smaller), the place is brand new and solidly built, there are only a little bit more than 80 units and thus it has a boutique feel to it, staff is very friendly and helpful. Only minus: it doesn't have a bar or restaurant (but free coffee/tea in the lobby and there is a restaurant next door at the Hyatt Escala). Bottom line: We liked it so much that we bought a time share there! (for HGVC members: this works differently than the other HGVC resort, as you can buy a specific week here)

Room Tip: Some studios have a couch and a fireplace, but they feel more cramped, the bed is smaller and they d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GNTVF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongrandvacations, General Manager at Sunrise Lodge by Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thanks for taking time to review us and congratulations on your purchase! We look forward to welcoming you next time!

J. Rafe Sykes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I stayed at Sunrise Lodge during Sundance, my first time at any Hilton Grand Vacations resort. I had booked the lowest-cost room, a studio suite, and to my surprise, the friendly front-desk person upgraded me to a 1-bedroom suite free of charge. The suite was huge, with a fully-outfitted home-sized kitchen, living room, two bathrooms, windows everywhere, and most importantly, a great shower with high water pressure. They have a brand new workout room that is pretty well outfitted with free weights and high tech treadmills, elliptical machines, and recumbent bikes, and what appeared to be a really nice pool. Unfortunately I had an accident on the slopes during my visit, and this is when I found out truly how great the staff of this hotel is. They were very accommodating, storing my luggage for several days while I was in the hospital. When I realized I would be unable to pick it up myself, I called to see if they could FedEx it for me, but they offered to drive my luggage over to the hospital free of charge. I will most definitely be back to stay at this hotel when I'm mended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
253 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We have stayed in Hilton and Hilton Grand Vacation properties around the world and this is one of the finer services we have experienced. Really felt like we were at a boutique resort where everyone remembers your name. Ski in- ski out. Great concierge service. Rooms are on the larger side for HGVC properties and of course as a new property everything looks top notch.

Room Tip: Ask for the two bedroom with vaulted ceilings if avaiable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ocaptainmycaptain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed at the Sunrise Lodge during Sundance. Our expectations were not high as we had never stayed at a Hilton Grand Vacations Club before. What we found was a brand new hotel with high-end finish out. The rooms are very large with great views from the private balcony of the Canyons Ski Resort.

Although the staff are not as polished as a Four Seasons/St Regis/Ritz, they are happy to help in any way possible to make your stay comfortable. The best example was the ski rental valet. They come to your room to fit your boots and helmet then ensure your equipment is waiting for you before you head to the mountain.

Well done.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucasA86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This was my first trip out to Park City, Utah. The purpose of our trip was for pleasure mainly to ski and partake in the Sundance Film Festival. This newly constructed property is located in the heart of the Canyons (fairly newer area) right outside of downtown Park City (10 minute car ride), surrounded by great restaurants, ski lifts and breathtaking views. The hotel staff was extremely helpful and friendly, and even came to the room to fit us for skis! The rooms were fully equipped with a kitchen, living room, washer/dryer, fireplace, balconies, comfy beds, etc. It is a home away from home!

I highly recommend staying at this hotel! I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Park City hotels
2.8 mi away
Newpark Resort & Hotel
Newpark Resort & Hotel
#11 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 stars 576 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Chateaux Deer Valley
The Chateaux Deer Valley
#4 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 stars 501 reviews
3.4 mi away
Marriott's MountainSide
Marriott's MountainSide
#10 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 stars 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Park City
Hyatt Centric Park City
#8 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 stars 555 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort
3.9 mi away
Marriott's Summit Watch
Marriott's Summit Watch
#9 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 stars 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Lodge by Hilton Grand Vacations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Lodge by Hilton Grand Vacations

Property: Sunrise Lodge by Hilton Grand Vacations
Address: 2307 W High Mountain Rd, Park City, UT 84098-6698 (Formerly Sunrise Lodge, a Hilton Grand Vacations Club)
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Park City
#9 Family Hotel in Park City
#12 Romantic Hotel in Park City
#20 Business Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Lodge by Hilton Grand Vacations 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an unforgettable vacation at Sunrise Lodge by Hilton Grand Vacations. Nestled in the mountainside village of the Canyons Resort, the resort offers a year-round destination for skiing, hiking, exploring and relaxation. Surrounded by the Wasatch Mountain range next to the Sunrise Lift, we are just minutes from Park City Mountain Resort and Deer Valley Resort. Rooms range from studios with sofa sleepers up to four bedroom suites with all the comforts of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Sunrise Lodge by Hilton Grand Vacations reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Lodge By Hilton Grand Vacations Park City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing