We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but several drawbacks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lodges at Deer Valley
Ranked #18 of 60 Hotels in Park City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2009

We stayed 3 nights in mid-March for a ski vacation. They had "mis-placed" our reservation, so we were given an upgraded room. The staff was super friendly and helpful. The shuttle is convenient - only a 5 min ride at most to/from Snowpark area at the base. There is a mini-convenience store, lift tickets and ski rental shop on site for convenience.

Breakfast was just OK -- dry cereal, yogurts, bagels, toaster waffles, etc. Nothing hot.

Fitness center is in good shape.

Big misses: No laundry on-site for hotel room guests. Nothing. Seems a no-brainer to offer at a ski resort (even Luxe Cliff Lodge at Snowbird has guest laundry facitities). Real pain in the neck to go to a coin-op in Park City, especially when paying $400+ per night.

No on-site food. No room service, no restaurant which means going out for groceries or into Park City for eating.

Rooms are rather dark and outdated. We second the comments in other reviews on the beds as well as the noise from the lockout units. We stuffed towels under the door to cut the constant TV noise on the other side of the door. Had to run fans to block enough of the noise to get to sleep at night.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jm1234Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 177 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2009

This place was impressive pulling up to it and checking in, BUT the rooms weren't up to standard. I was in room 2209 and the mattress in the room was awful! I've had a better bed at a Hampton Inn. Another drawback on this place was there was no room service, as far as I could see in the Directory.

Otherwise, the place was average. Definitely did NOT meet a $400/nt. expectation.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Lolizl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2008

At the last minute & on Labor Day weekend, we decided to try to go to Deer Valley for our 10th anniversary since that is where we were married. At Deer Valley the same weekend was the Bob Dylan concert. I sent Deer Valley Lodging an e-mail to see if it was possible to get the concert package they were previously offering, and they went above and beyond. They not only provided us tickets to the sold out Bob Dylan show, we also received a stunning room at the Lodges.

The Dylan show ended up getting rained out after about 45 minutes, but we were glad to return to our beautiful room. The bed was so comfy and the tub the perfect size for a nice hot soak after a cold rainy evening.

The staff was amazing. They let me borrow an umbrella for the concert, they also took us to and from the lodge at our beck and call. Check in and out was easy. We will stay here again – it was wonderful.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelinggringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2008

Had a great night stay in a unit here.

The room we had was excellent. Loved the soft king size bed and the big slate tile shower. Nice a quiet as it was mostly empty.

Can't miss for the price we got.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Maplehawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2008

I was very happy to arrive at the Lodges. The lobby was beautiful, and there was a nice fireplace set up. The heated garage was the warmest garage I have ever been in. It is actually located on the same floor as the lobby. The bed was extremely confortable, almost too comfortable. We wanted two queens, but they only have two hotel rooms with two queens. Don't count on getting it! The room was rather large, and the free wireless internet was a nice plus! Except for the first day, we went to the breakfast at the hotel which was perfect for us. It was a free continental breakfast. If you want something fancy-try the breakfast at the Snow Park Lodge at Deer Valley. It's expensive, but worth it at least once if you are a big breakfast person. Otherwise, don't bother. Another great benefit was the shuttle that takes you right to the Snow Park Lodge at Deer Valley. It runs back and fourth all morning and afternoon. We never had to wait more than 5-7 minutes for it! If you want to go to the Park City resort, they have a smaller shuttle that goes there, however, it is not as frequent, and may need to be requested. From the lodges, you can see the slopes from the far. Another thing that we liked was the pool and hot tub. It is great after a tough day skiing. We found out the hard way, that you should bring the robes provided in the room to keep you warm when you get out. Otherwise you will freeze. I also looked in the gym, which is nice, but is not completely equipped. Overall, I have a hard time finding faults at this place, because it was so great. We travel at many luxury hotels around the world, and although this is problably 4.5 stars, it is not a place where you will be pampered, and where the staff will greet you by name. For that, try the Stein Eriksen. For dinner, I reccomend Grub Steak house, La Caille, and Gliterend. La Caille was my favorite. Although it is a long drive from the hotel, it is totally worth it.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank World_Traveler_194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2008

The Lodges at Deer Valley have a set up in between a condo and a hotel. The floor plans are very flexible (i.e. you can rent a single hotel room, or a 1,2 or 3 BR condo). The properties are indivdually owned and leased and managed by Deer Valley Lodging. There is daily maid service and an uber convenient shuttle bus service to take you into Park City, Deer Valley Ski area or upper Deer Valley. There is also a continental breakfast (I never ate it) in the main lodge. Take note....The Lodges at Deer Valley is currently comprised of 2 buildings called The Lodges and 2 buildings called Silver Baron Lodge. The Silver Baron Lodge buildings are newer than "The Lodges" buildings.
We stayed in The Silver Baron Lodges. We have been told that management and rentals are soon going to be split up and that Silver Baron Lodges will be leasing under a different lodging/management company than the current company. We have also been told that one of the Silver Baron buildings will be adding a wellness center/spa type of amenity. The location is very convenient. Deer Valley ski area is just a 5 minute shuttle bus ride away and Park City is approx. 8 minutes away. We stayed for 12 nights and did enjoy the convenience of having our rental car for grocery shopping and trips to other ski areas but a rental car is not necessary. The decor is fairly upscale rustic ski decor. The bathrooms are also fairly upscale with slate floors, granite counter tops and a separate bath and shower in the Master Bath. Since we stayed here last year, we know that the bath setups (i.e. tub and showers) can be different so ask about them if that is a concern. We are fairly certain that owners could choose among different levels of furniture packages when they originally bought and the kitchens can be stocked to varying degrees There is a washer dryer combo if you rent at least a 1 BR condo. Our main HUGE complaint was the master bed. We felt like Dick Clark counting down to the ball dropping....only 2 more days until we don't have to sleep in this bed anymore. Neither of us is heavy. I (being the lighter of the 2) felt like I was still on the mountain skiing, gravity just pulled me into the middle of the bed....into the valley if you will. I CANNOT imagine a 230 lb. man and a 140 lb. woman having to sleep in this bed for an extended period of time. Also, there was a hotel room lockout above our kitchen. In the morning, I could clearly hear EVERY WORD the hotel room occupant was saying...just a warning in case you're noise sensitive. The employees we encountered were all friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again, but would not stay in the unit I stayed in due to the bed (Sorry won't disclose which unit in case the owner is an attorney). I realize that beds are subjective but for me this just was not comfortable and don't know how to get around that in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chrisd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2008

We booked a stay at the Lodges through Deer Valley central reservations, which is not likely to differentiate between the various properties they are trying to rent. We booked a hotel room, as opposed to a condo. However, the property is basically a condo bldg and event space with a front desk - so don't expect full hotel service. On net, I would not stay here again - better value for your money in an actual condo without much sacrifice in terms of service. Our stay was fine but the price was not in line with the amenities, so below is a short list of pros and cons without too much editorialization:

Pros:
- Somewhat close to Snow Park base lodge (about 3/4 mile down a long narrow road - sort of dangerous to walk - it is the furthest of the properties in the Snow Park area
- Clean, attractive 'western lodge' style decor
- Well appointed (but small) room with kitchenette (micro, refrig, sink)
- Nice bathroom
- Lobby convenience store with coffee bar
- Transportation to Main Street and base lodge
- The bell desk and transportation staff were just awesome - much more accomodating and professional than the management or front desk staff.

Cons:
- Property is not full service - no kitchen = no room service, hot breakfast, etc. The 'continental breakfast' was nicely laid out, but consisted of dry individual cereal packs, Costco muffins (I saw the bulk boxes stacked in the service area), fruit and institutional bagels, etc. Not horrible, but not $400/night good either.
- Hard water - brutal
- I reserved a king, they gave me a queen and insisted there was nothing they could do without moving me to a larger room at an add'l $100/night. This is a massive pet peeve of mine - give the customer what they reserve. Bait and switch is the most fraudulent thing a hotel can do to a guest that has just traveled 2000 miles.
- Room was very small
- Lobby fireplace was gas flame - pretty but not the roaring fire you want to sit around with hot chocolate

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank japes1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Park City hotels
1.6 mi away
The Chateaux Deer Valley
The Chateaux Deer Valley
#10 of 60 in Park City
605 reviews
1.7 mi away
Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley
5 mi away
Hyatt Centric Park City
Hyatt Centric Park City
#6 of 60 in Park City
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Montage Deer Valley
Montage Deer Valley
#3 of 60 in Park City
874 reviews
1.2 mi away
Marriott's Summit Watch
Marriott's Summit Watch
#9 of 60 in Park City
638 reviews
1.8 mi away
Park City Marriott
Park City Marriott
#14 of 60 in Park City
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodges at Deer Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodges at Deer Valley

Address: 2900 Deer Valley Drive East, PO Box 3417, Park City, UT 80460
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Park City
#17 Business Hotel in Park City
#18 Romantic Hotel in Park City
Price Range: $279 - $1,360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lodges at Deer Valley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the grandeur of the lobby’s three story stone fireplace to the warmth of the beautifully appointed condominium-style residences, Lodges at Deer Valley is a classic statement in rustic elegance and warm hospitality. Conveniently located less than half a mile from the base of Deer Valley Resort, this tranquil mountain setting offers a variety of year-round activities including skiing, snowmobiling, sleigh rides, hiking, biking, fly fishing and much more. Our complimentary shuttle service, provided by Cadillac, offers direct access to the resort and allows you to experience the shopping, dining and nightlife of Historic Main Street, just minutes away. Affordably priced hotel rooms, as well as one, two and three bedroom condominiums feature full kitchens, cozy dining areas and gas fireplaces. Experience our family-friendly services including daily complimentary hot breakfast buffet during the ski season, on-site Deer Valley ski rental shop, lift ticket desk, on-site fitness facility, concierge services, general store and coffee bar. Relax and unwind in our outdoor heated pool and hot tub or simply enjoy warm genuine hospitality in a luxury mountain resort setting. Meeting and convention facilities include 7,300 square feet of flexible meeting space with views of the surrounding mountains and lakes with catering services provided by Deer Valley’s award-winning culinary team. The Lodges is the perfect choice for your family vacation or group gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lodges at Deer Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodges At Deer Valley Hotel Park City
Hotel At Deer Valley
At Deer Valley Hotel
Lodges At Deer Valley Park City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing