We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our family's slice of heaven and refuge/Wisdom from a veteran guest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Goldener Hirsch Inn
Ranked #26 of 60 Hotels in Park City
Reviewed February 2, 2012

The Goldener is truly a unique property. I could go on about the physical reasons for this which are many and positive: Ski-in/Ski-out in Silver Lake Village at Deer Valley, wonderful ambiance of an Austrian ski chalet, incredibly comfortable beds, spacious rooms, clean and well-maintained, great cozy and top-notch restaurant where my kids and I had a fantastic New Year's Eve dinner of wiener schnitzel, red cabbage and spaetzle -Yum!, and THE BEST apres-ski in Deer Valley or Park City.

The most important distinguishing element for me, however, is the level of personalized service you will receive from the General Manager, Kelley Davidson, and all of his staff, particularly Doug Whitlock. These two professionals remind me of what hostelry should be. Staying at the Goldener is like stepping back into a more refined time and place.

My family of five has been staying here regularly since 2002. We began coming in the Winter for skiing and then started coming in the summer as well. For me, all other hotels in Deer Valley and Park City cannot come close to what is achieved here!

Warning: If what you are looking for is slick, cutting-edge and pretentious, Goldener is not the right choice. If you look for those qualities that stand the test of time, and a very picky inn guest (i.e. "me"), you have found your home away from home in the mountains of Utah.

Room Tip: I love them all, but the consummate in privacy are the suites on the very top floor. They are right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ciaobella10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 135 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2012

Wow, what a great experience. The general manager actively participates in welcoming guest to this lovely small hotel (that doesnt' mean the rooms aren't spacious). He even resolved a lift ticket issue we encounter with Deer Valley. The buffet breakfast also had chef prepare specials each day and the cookies and hot chocolate await you after skiing. the dining was maverlous. this is truly a gem. The staff are all friendly and i believe they all seem to enjoy their work as well as each other ,smiles abound. Loved the aveda products. It is always a plus to have a room refrig.,fireplace ,balcony ,humidifer, great showers, goosedown 2 flat tvs, Ya'll need to do it.... The trip was great even though there is a serious lack of snowfall so far this year.....the goldner hirsch made it GREAT

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank littledix01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

From the moment we entered this charming Inn, we felt enveloped in warm and loving arms. Every aspect of this stay was wonderful. Our suite was gracious and comfortable. At every turn of the hall way we came upon a lovely piece of European furniture with inviting chairs or plates of cookies. The restaurant was beautiful, delicious food served with the utmost attention. The staff is professional, courteous and goes to extremes to please. We highly recommend the Goldener Hirsch Inn in Deer Valley, Utah.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the ski slopes are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Traveling from Boulder to Santa Cruz to get my son back into the Fall semester, we thought stopping in Deer Valley would be a perfect rest stop near our halfway point. Boy, was it!

Our navigation screen brought us to their door without a hiccup. Although we arrived late, the night auditor was smiling at the front desk when we arrived. He greeted us by name (guess we were the last to arrive that night), walked us to our room asking about our journey, and invited us to get the kinks out from our long drive by relaxing in the spa.

The room was great. Spacious and overlooking the quiet cobblestone courtyard. The foldout couch was made up for my son before we entered. The beautiful handmade wooden farm implements decoratively on the walls were aesthetically beautiful and led to a memorable discussion with my son. The comfortable beds (even the foldout bed) were complimented by the cool mountain air for a great night sleep.

The next morning the GM joined us for a great chat at the lovely breakfast they offered. My son was having such a good time talking with him, we got on the road a bit late - but having thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

If the unusual name is hard to remember - use my son's observation - why settle for mere Gold when Goldener is more enjoyable without a hitch. See if you don't agree.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3rdGenDen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

My husband I stayed one night with the internet special that included a delicous, romantic dinner and a beautiful breakfast in the morning. This in is so charming. Our room was beautiful and BIG! There was a real wood-burning fireplace which the attendant lit for us. The bed was a romantic canopy bed which was comfortable. The bathroom was huge with a fresh rose on the counter (nice touch). I enjoyed the jetted tub. There is also an enormous shower.

From the moment we walked through their charming doors, everyone made us feel so special. The decor is authentic European, so it was easy to feel relaxed. The whole staff bent over backwards to fill any request we had. It was a very fun stay.

It is just a short walk from the in to the lift, if you are going in the Winter time. I would love to be able to stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ant0inettes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We stayed two nights on an internet special that included one dinner at their top notch restaraunt and two continental breakfasts. Loved the hotel which is the perfect combination of upscale and relaxed. The staff were all so friendly and welcoming from the moment we walked in the door. The room was spacious with a sitting room with fireplace and seperate bedroom. Both rooms had TVs and DVD players. There was also a large balcony. The bathroom was great with Aveda products, robes and slippers and large thick towels, seperate tub and shower and double sinks. I loved the details in the furniture and decor in the room and throughout the hotel. Truly deserves its spot on the Gold List. Everything was perfect and I would welcome the chance to stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eriksmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We bought a special package for a 2-night stay with breakfast each morning and one dinner at this quaint, European-style boutique hotel at Deer Valley. The package and time-of-year made the stay affordable at this lovely 4-star ski resort inn. The hotel staff were friendly, helpful, and attentive. The room was very comfortable with lovely summer mountain views from the private balcony, spacious and clean tiled bath, defined sitting and sleeping areas with a fluffy-comforter and pillowed king bed. A small refrigerator and lots of closet space are an added plus. We enjoyed the Austrian-themed decor and the hotel's central location. Although many of the shops were closed, we enjoyed the quiet of the off-season. The restaurant area is small but romantic and comfortable. Breakfast was "continental-plus" with breads, fresh fruit, yogurt, and cereals, juices and coffee/tea. It was a nice breakfast but certainly not worth the normal price which would have been $18. A great location for skiers with significantly embellished winter rates.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MontanaIrish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Park City hotels
0.1 mi away
The Chateaux Deer Valley
The Chateaux Deer Valley
#10 of 60 in Park City
618 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Park City, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Washington School House Hotel
1.7 mi away
Main & SKY
Main & SKY
#35 of 60 in Park City
378 reviews
1.3 mi away
Montage Deer Valley
Montage Deer Valley
#3 of 60 in Park City
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goldener Hirsch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldener Hirsch Inn

Address: 7570 Royal St, Park City, UT 84060-5111
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Park City
#10 Luxury Hotel in Park City
Price Range: $341 - $1,279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Goldener Hirsch Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located high on the slopes above Park City and just steps from the ski runs of Deer Valley Resort, the Goldener Hirsch Inn is home to a European environment in an unparalleled natural setting, featuring award-winning ski-in/ski-out luxury accommodations, personal five star service, and a renowned full service restaurant and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Goldener Hirsch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldener Hirsch Hotel Park City
Goldener Hirsch Inn Park City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing