We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good taste, fun and a pleasant atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shabu Shabu

Shabu Shabu
Ranked #89 of 265 Restaurants in Park City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Salt Lake Metro
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good taste, fun and a pleasant atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

I have never tried this type of restaurant before, but I'm certainly glad that we stopped. My wife and I were driving through Park City and wanted to try something different so we stopped at Shabu Shabu just east of the Interstate 80 on-ramp.
We were a bit hesitant after we first stepped in the door; it looked different than other restaurants, and didn't know what it would be like. We almost left, but I'm glad we didn't.
Amanda told us a little about what was available and how it was cooked in the hot-pot in front of us. Amanda was helpful and helped make the experience fun.
We'll definitely be going bacck

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank the_pakettle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    21
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bondsville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
252 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Nice to go with an expert”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

Went with some friends from the SLC area after a tour of Park City. First time at this type of restaurant and got plenty of help from a person within our party plus the staff. It was recommended that the novice diners order beef. After the pots heated, the vegetables were dropped into the water. We were coached on how long to cook the thinly sliced beef. Meat was tasty and the ingredients are available for controlling the hot factor. After all the beef is cook, noodles are placed in the pot for your soup. Ours went home for lunch the next day.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bernie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, Kansas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fun, Friendly Place to Eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

Meals are cooked in pots right in front of you which makes for a unique experience. You can share or have your own pot. The food was just the right amount and priced right. The owner was very friendly. Our drinks were never empty. We will go back when we are in town.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank HorsemanNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Hot Pot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

Hot Pot is fun and delicious! My wife and I loved going here and hit this place almost every time we're in Park City. There were some new faces working there this time and they were all still just as nice as ever. Love visiting Shabu Shabu for some wonderful food and good service.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very tasty food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

Went there twice on our last ski trip. The first night was over the top delicious and we would've given it a five star had we not gone back again. The second dinner was good but not excellent. The sushi was wonderful but the rest was just fine. I would definitely go back if we decide to ski there again.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ksr2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shabu Shabu also viewed

Park City, Wasatch Range
 
Park City, Wasatch Range
Park City, Wasatch Range
 
Park City, Wasatch Range
Park City, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Shabu Shabu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing