We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, incredible amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marriott's MountainSide
Ranked #11 of 60 Hotels in Park City
Certificate of Excellence
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
198 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Perfect location, incredible amenities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2011

Location - right on the mountain. Walk out past the 5 pools and hot tubs with your skis, put 'em on and ski to the lift. It doesn't get any better or more convenient than this. Just a few steps away is the free, city bus so you don't even need a car here.

Staff is extremely competent and friendly. Requested an electric skillet and it was delilvered within 15 min. with a follow-up telephone call to insure it was received and what I wanted.

My spouse and friend skied and I participated in the daily events planned by the hotel. There were different, daily events for young children, teens and adults. I participated in a 5-hour snow shoe tour led by Annie in to the Uinta Forest. It was obvious our guide knew the area and took the time to point out the various trees along the hike to our group of 4.

I took another snow shoe tour later in the week with Annie and we hiked up the switchbacks on the mountain. Wow, what great exercise and incredible scenery.

One night, we took the bus tour in to Salt Lake and visited Tabernacle Square, ate dinner on the premises and heard the amazing Mormon Tabernacle Choir.

The villa is so spacious. The kitchen is stocked with dishes, glassware, pots & pans, etc. The dining room/living room is spacious for a large family and has a large flat screen TV and DVD player. Movies can be rented in the lobby.

The "master bedroom" is complete with an oversize tub (though not a whirlpool) that easily fits two. Pack your bubble bath.

The smaller bedroom has a large bed, sofa that opens and a small wet bar area with mini-fridge. There is free WIFI in the unit. The website accurately describes all the amenities and layout.

The gym has plentiful machines with TV's attached and weights. Never had to wait to get to my machine of choice.

Have been coming to Park City for many years and this is the only "hotel" for us.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yvonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    171
    45
    23
    8
See reviews for
288
129
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California, USA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2011

First off-We called beforehand and were told gaming would not be a problem. Greg G and Mike with the staff were more than helpful, patient, and thorough in troubleshooting the issue why my PS3 will not work on ANY of the LG tv's on site. Of course, my systems work at other Marriotts-Ft Lauderdale and South Lake Tahoe-but no dice @ Mountainside. Why are the tv's programmed incorrectly? Was it up with that "gray box" next to the tv? Pointless. The gray box HDMI interface plays audio, but no video. There are pages of complaints on the internet with LG tv's and gaming systems. OOps. Just deal with the truth,you already got our time and our money. I cannot recommend this Marriott to any of my friends, cause they all have kids with gaming systems. I would take back all my venom if the franchise did two things-POST on the site the place is not Gaming friendly, and or, fix the situation and buy better tv's that arePROVEN to work before guests are misinformed.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank USAF9599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

I spent an extra day in Park City after a recent business trip to Salt Lake. My only plan was to spend the whole day skiing and I could not have picked a better spot than the Marriott Mountainside. I only had one day, so I wanted to be as close to the slopes as possible. The hotel is big but there are multiple exits and all of them right near the Pay Day lift chair.
The room I had came with a small kitchenette. It was nothing spectacular but it was cozy and the bed was really comfortable. Don't forget your bathing suit! The pool and the hot tubs are right off the slopes and really inviting after a day of skiing.
The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the main strip of shops and restaurants in Park City but there is really nothing worth mentioning to do or eat on the premises. I didn’t mind the walk and I liked that I was set away from the hustle and bustle of downtown.
I am a solo traveler but it seemed like this hotel had a lot of activities for kids. It seems like a good place to bring the whole family on a ski vacation.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SalsaPicante78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2010

Did a last minute ski trip with a reduced price at this hotel. Our 1 bedroom villa was large, well equipped, and very clean. Maid service came everyday which we didn't expect for a condo. Had a free valet ski locker with short walk (50 ft) to Park City slopes. Room on 4th floor overlooked bottom of hill would request 5-9 floors if you want a better view. As others noted bowls in room were small and controlling temp was a problem. Too hot so we left window open during day to cool room which worked. Staff was very friendly and helpfull. Less than 5 minutes walk to free bus stop to go to Deer Valley or Canyons ski areas. Outdoor hottubs and pools were clean and large.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dunkirkal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

This hotel was both economical and great for families. We stayed in the off season so it was not crowded at the time. We heard nothing above our room and nothing outside the doors either. It was very peaceful in the room. The beds were very comfortable (firm for those who have back problems), nice down comforters and pillows. We stayed in the Villas right next to the activity area and literally heard nothing. From previous posts by others, I recommend you ask for a room that is not adjoining another room unless you plan to rent both. There have been some previous posts stating it can be loud if you happen to have an adjoining room with obnoxious people. Villas offer a full kitchen, laundry, dining area and more. The view was of the roof, but in the winter would actually be a decent view with the snow covering. We weren't personally bothered by the view as we are from Utah so the view is not new to us, but for those who want to see the mountains, ask for a poolside view. The mountains are beautiful. The fall colors are amazing.

This is a hotel that caters to families, college students and adults who love to have fun. I wouldn't recommend it for those who prefer silence or have a low tolerance for children. You will see and hear children at this hotel, so if you have a low tolerance for children, this isn't your hotel. We did not hear children running the hallways as some previous posters said they had. We heard people when we were outside our room, never in the room. September is a great time to visit for the fall season if you want to avoid the crowds.

Activities are provided throughout the day at "The Mine." Activities are provided for all ages at various times of the day. Our children participated in the Guitar Hero Tournament and made the Tye Die Shirts. There were many more activities for young and old but these were the two we participated in due to a short stay.

Right behind the hotel is the outdoor roller coaster, Alpine slide, zip line, merry-go-round and small coaster for the children. These are not available in the winter for obvious reasons. If you choose to do these activities, it will cost $20 per ticket or you can purchase the all day for $60 per person. It is a bit overpriced if you compare the cost to Disneyland, and your wait time will increase as more people come throughout the day. This would be a hot wait if you went mid summer and I personally would not enjoy the line mid summer. Fall and spring are perfect.

I recommend you go as early as possible to these activities. The lines begin to build about 11 am and the day gets hotter. The zip line was a 45 minute wait at 3 pm minus the 20 minute wait for the tram to take us to the zip line. For the zip line you must sign up for a time slot for each trip on the zip regardless of whether you have the all-day pass. One time slot per signing. You can't sign up for multiple times at once. We did the zip line once because the line for the sign-up is the same line where you purchase tickets for all of the attractions. Silly, if you ask me, not to have a separate line.

There are four zip lines. The zip line is fun, but such a quick ride that the wait time to get back on makes it unreasonable. If you go in the morning you are more likely to avoid this wait and could easily go for two rides. The roller coaster is operated mechanically going up but you are the operator on the speed doing down. You can go as fast or as slow as you like. It is a one or two-man ride per coaster. This was my personal favorite. The scenery was great while going up and down the coaster. The Alpine slide is fun as well, though tall persons beware. It seemed to be a common occurrence for tall people to have more stability issues. This results in you rubbing an elbow on the actual slide and getting a nice, polished burn which they will happily wrap and medicate for you, but you could probably avoid that by wearing elbow pads or not leaning into the turns. Tall people who choose to go fast and lean into their ride are more likely to tip and have this problem or completely fly off the slide. Since you have to pull back on the lever to reduce your speed, letting go of the lever to help your scraping elbow will only make it worse so you end up riding down the slide while burning your elbow. It didn't happen to us, but it did happen to a gentleman we spoke with. It seemed to be a common occurrence as one of the workers told us it is very common in taller people. That being said, this slide is not a scarey slide at all. It's more of a user-error problem. It's very easy to control the speed you are going. Small children can ride with an adult though there were plenty of younger children who did just fine on their own. Thrill seekers are more likely to have the problem with flipping out or elbow rubbing.

This is a perfect ski-in hotel. The summer activities are a great one-time thing, but this hotel really stands out for it's accessibility to the slopes. Many of the shops and restaurants surrounding the hotel are more active during the winter months. Some close down during the off season.

Park City has some great skiing, but I was disappointed with the amount of restaurants available anywhere in Park City. Many of them are small, quaint spots for couples or a very small family. You won't find many locations that cater to large groups. We did love Squatter's Pub. The service was excellent. The food was average but the service made up for any lack there. They make great scones and are perfect for larger groups. Squatters was one of the few breakfast places near downtown Park City.

The Park City atmosphere is a bit stuffy. I didn't feel Park City in general was a very friendly atmosphere especially when it comes to families. They seem to cater more to couples and older people. Even then, they definitely need some help with their overall friendliness. It's that feeling you get when you visit a small town and everyone knows you aren't from there. There is no excuse for Park City to have that type of atmosphere. They are not a "small town." They are a tourist town and should be catering to tourists. Someone needs to teach these employees how to smile and converse a bit more. Overall the city needs to step up it's customer service.

We do plan to visit this same hotel for winter skiing. I am hoping the overall Park City atmosphere improves during the winter with the return of the winter employees.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Keesym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2010

Our vacation at the Marriott Mountainside was one of our best vacations and we have traveled a lot owning two timeshares: We were in a studio unit which overlooked the pool and Mountainside Park. The studio had a small sink, dorm-size refrigerator and microwave. We usually stay in a one bedroom when traveling so were pleasantly surprised that we could still eat in several times during the week. The room was very clean and there wassmall granite bar with two stools, a couch and flat screen tv; The bed was very comfortable. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The resort sponsors a myraid of activities appropriate for all ages; Some activities required a reasonable fee and we participated in some complimentary ones and some with fees. We were extremely happy with all the acitivites that we joined. The resort is about a 15-20 minute walk to Main St. and walked down and back every day though there was complimentary bus service. Park City has great restaurants and activites for everyone whatever the age. We did several hikes and rented bikes ( a little expensive but great trails)one day. To sum this review up, we went in early July and the weather was beautiful, the Marriott Mountainside was fantastic (only downside was that lots of families were there and allowed their children to play in the hallways though it was quiet by 10:00 and we never had to complain to the front desk). We are planning to go back next summer and definitely want to return to the Marriott Mountainside.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 45hikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2010

My husband, 11 year old son and I spent two nights at the Marriott Mountainside Villas before driving up to a dude ranch in Wyoming for a week. We didn't want to go exploring anywhere else once we saw that the hotel had to offer. Right outside our door there was a chairlift to the Alpine slides and ziplines, as well as the Alpine roller coaster, the bungie jumping area, and a small mini golf. We bought an unlimited all day pass to these activities and had the most fun ever. When it got too hot in the middle of the day, we partook in the many activities (like the balloon throwing and allegator wrestling contests) at the pool. We also enjoyed relaxing in the waterfalls and hot tubs and also took advantage of the huge fitness area. In our room we had a full kitchen so we just cooked a nice dinner at the hotel. My son had so much fun that he didn't want to leave. I wish I could have seen some of the sights in the area, but the hotel provided too much entertainment for us. This was money well spent!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank susaneobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Park City hotels
0.5 mi away
Marriott's Summit Watch
Marriott's Summit Watch
#7 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Centric Park City
Hyatt Centric Park City
#4 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
5.2 mi away
Newpark Resort & Hotel
Newpark Resort & Hotel
#10 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Park City Marriott
Park City Marriott
#19 of 60 in Park City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Park City, Autograph Collection
2.2 mi away
Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's MountainSide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's MountainSide

Property: Marriott's MountainSide
Address: 1305 Lowell Ave, Park City, UT 84060-5115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Park City
#11 Romantic Hotel in Park City
#16 Family Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott's MountainSide 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Marriott's MountainSide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Mountainside Hotel Park City
Marriotts Park City
Marriotts Mountainside Hotel
Marriott Park City
Marriott's MountainSide Park City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing