We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best ski lodges in the country.”
Review of Black Bear Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Black Bear Lodge
Ranked #30 of 60 Hotels in Park City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2007

I stayed at Black Bear in late March and must say I was extremely pleased. First thing I noticed when I arrived was how friendly and inviting the front desk staff was when I checked it. There was a little bit of a line, but they worked quick and even offered me a cup of hot chocolate while I waited!

When I got to my room, I was impressed. I stayed in a two bedroom on the 2nd floor. It was as my travel agent had described: Large with a rustic feel. I use the term “rustic” only because of the look the room had, the antler lights, chairs made of rawhide, and unfinished wood. The way a mountain lodge should be! Although, the feel was rustic the amenities were far from it. Private hot tub, Jacuzzi bath tubs, in-room washer/dryer, DVD player, free wifi and even surround sound!


Maid service was excellence, and my special demands were met with enthusiasm and speed. I asked for a blender for the kitchen and it was there within ten minutes. Also, when I asked about where to go grocery shopping the front desk asked for my list and had it taken care of. It was great to be able to go skiing and come back to a fully stocked fridge of cold beer.

My only complain would be the lack of an on-site restaurant, but the staff was willing to provide me with the menus of several local restaurants, place the order for me and deliver it to my room. So it really wasn’t that big of a deal. Other than that, it can get a little loud in the morning as folks walk on the wooden decks outside in their ski boots, but honestly it wasn’t anything more than any other place I’ve stayed during ski season. It just comes with the territory.

All in all, Black Bear was awesome. I highly recommend it to anyone considering Deer Valley for a vacation, did I mention the slopes are only 100 feet away! First Class!

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank Skiandbeachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 82 of 82 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2007

Let me begin by saying that, had I followed my original itinerary, I would still be on my ski vacation in Park City, Utah right now.

These accommodations were so unacceptable that we ended our trip after only 48 hours in Utah and flew back to California. Black Bear Lodge is, by far, the worst place I have ever stayed in my entire life. The units are dirty and outdated, and the staff is rude and unobliging.

My father and I checked in to Black Bear Lodge (unit #204) at 6:30 pm on Tuesday night. Check-in time, as stated on the information packet we received, is 3:00 pm. When we walked in, the cleaning staff had just begun to clean the unit. They did not finish until 7:00 pm. There was no bellman or luggage cart so we carried our luggage up to the second floor on our own.

That evening, the guests in the unit directly upstairs began to run up and down their halls, screaming and making noise. This continued until midnight and started again at 5 am the following morning. When we complained about the noise, the front desk staff said that they would contact the guests upstairs and ask them to keep it quieter. The cleaning staff also woke us up that morning at 8:30 am by barging into the unit unannounced. Upon returning to the lodge after a full day of skiing, we returned to the unit. The noise upstairs continued, loud as ever. We went back to the front desk and complained again: the staff informed us that they had never contacted the guests upstairs, but that there were six children staying there with one babysitter.

The unit itself was filthy. There were chipped and broken glasses in the cupboards. There were stains on the carpets. There were candy wrappers underneath the bed in one of the bedrooms. The humidifiers had mold on the caps. When we opened the microwave on Wednesday morning to make tea, we found a plate of uncooked food left from the previous inhabitants. Unacceptable.

We spoke to the manager of the lodge in a phone conversation, in which we informed him that we would leave the following morning unless he was willing to accommodate us in a habitable, clean unit away from the noise. He informed us there were no other units available, and that we would have to "deal with it". We packed that night and were on a plane out of Salt Lake City on Thursday morning. He told us he would be by on Thursday morning at 8:30 am in the lobby to go over the paperwork with us and to speak to us personally: he never appeared. The children above us, incidentally, began running around with ski boots on at 5:30 am that morning.

Here's an additional piece of information we overheard just by standing in the lobby for a half hour: the cleaning service was complaining to the front desk because they didn't have enough supplies. They had no cleaning cloths, no cleaning liquids and no trash bags.

This property had the worst service, the worst accommodations and the worst attitude of any place I have ever been. This is my fifth trip to Deer Valley (my father's 8th trip); I enjoy the skiing and the atmosphere very much. We have friends with property in the area. However, this experience has soured my opinion of the resort to the point where I may never return.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank cyrographum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resorts_West, General Manager at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2007

As the General Manager of Black Bear Lodge, I take personal pride in each guest experience and work hard to always ensure that our rooms and our service are consistently of the highest quality. Clearly the situation that this guest describes does not represent the lodge experience we strive to provide for our guests. As the General Manager I dealt directly with this guest and am familiar with the details of his stay. Unfortunately this review contains serious distortions and inaccuracies.

I do feel bad that we were unable to provide this guest with a satisfactory stay one that the overwhelming majority of our Black Bear Lodge guests experience each year. However, I am confident that every effort was made during the stay to promptly rectify any misunderstandings. I was surprised to see this posting based upon the dialogue I had with the guest while they were here and my continued attempts to contact them after their departure.

We work hard to ensure all of our valued guests have an enjoyable and memorable stay with us. Many of our guests return year after year to enjoy everything that Black Bear Lodge and its surroundings have to offer. Our guests here in Deer Valley demand a high level of service and the highest quality of accommodations. Our commitment is to continue to deliver and exceed those expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Irvine, California
111
Reviewed April 4, 2006

On our last visit, my family and I stayed in Unit 201, a two bedroom corner unit with lots of windows, lots of privacy, and spectacular views of the mountain and ski runs. This was truly a high-end luxury condo with plenty of room, quality furniture, and well equipped with games, books, movies, etc.
The staff was pleasant and helpful and offered room service from Stein Erikson directly across the street. There is a short 2 minute walk to the ski lifts and to the Silver Lake Village restaurants and shops. We are repeat visitors to Black Bear Lodge (both summer and winter). We highly recommend this resort and look forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2006

We found the location of the Blackbear to be very good relative to the slopes, but overall it was a very poor value. Front desk staff were friendly, but totally unhelpful. When we had to change rooms within ten minutes of arriving (my daughter had an allergic reaction despite there being a no pets policy), we were shown a room with construction debris littering the hallway and the deck. The staff also was unable to tell us the location of the Deer Valley ski rental shop (3minute walk from condo) and had no idea about the location of restaurants or shops. The condos themselves are roomy, but very poorly lit and many of the "private" hottubs front on a very busy street with no screening. We loved Deer Valley, but would not consider staying at the Blackbear again.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2004

I'm sure there must be worse places to spend a night, but thankfully I've never encountered one. We stayed at the lodge during the summer, when the occupancy was quite low. Even so, it was incredibly noisy. All night, we tossed and turned listening to shrieks and giggles emanating from the common hot tub and pool, and from neighbors on adjoining balconies having midnight family reunions. Each bedroom had a single window which opened onto a labyrinth of interior hallways and stairwells. Bright hallway lights illuminated our bedrooms to the point we could have read in bed. The heat was oppressive, even though the outside temperature was 50 degrees F, which led to the dilemma of whether to endure the sweat lodge atmosphere or else open the windows and listen to the partying. I am shocked at the poor design of this condo complex and urge people to look elsewhere.

14  Thank sonja_sonja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Pide habitación en 4to piso con vista a las montañas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mario R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia S, Marketing Coordinator at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2015
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Park City hotels
1.2 mi away
Trail's End Lodge
Trail's End Lodge
#29 of 60 in Park City
66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Goldener Hirsch Inn
Goldener Hirsch Inn
#25 of 60 in Park City
135 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lodges at Deer Valley
Lodges at Deer Valley
#17 of 60 in Park City
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Chateaux Deer Valley
The Chateaux Deer Valley
#10 of 60 in Park City
599 reviews
1.2 mi away
Montage Deer Valley
Montage Deer Valley
#3 of 60 in Park City
865 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Lodge at the Mountain Village by ASRL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Lodge

Address: 7447 Royal St, Park City, UT 84060-5110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Park City
#23 Family Hotel in Park City
Price Range: $193 - $1,384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Bear Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its log exterior reminiscent of the grand old lodges of the American West, Black Bear Lodge is a favorite destination in Deer Valley Resort's Silver Lake Village. Located just across the street from the slopes, each unit features a fully equipped kitchen, living room with river rock gas fireplace, wireless internet access and private bathroom per bedroom. Many units also boast a private hot tub on the deck. Additional amenities include pool, common area hot tub, fitness room, business center, on-site front desk, daily housekeeping and local shuttle. Experience Wyndham Vacation Rental's outstanding customer service for yourself - from the time you make your reservation, to your arrival at the front desk, through your departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Black Bear Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Lodge Condos Hotel Park City
Black Bear Hotel Condos
Black Bear Lodge Park City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing