We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Ideal ski condo” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Bear Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Black Bear Lodge
Ranked #26 of 60 Hotels in Park City
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ideal ski condo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

We are just returning from the perfect ski weekend at Deer Valley. We stayed in a charming two-bedroom ski condo at Black Bear Lodge and were perfectly delighted with the place. It was spacious, comfortable, and clean. We loved the hot tub on the deck and the cozy self-lighting fireplace in the living room. The kitchen was spotless and well-appointed with very nice appliances and everything we needed to have breakfast in the morning. And the location is extremely convenient. We stepped out the door and walked right into Silver Lake Village about a block away. After we enjoyed après at the Stein Erikson, we walked right back to our condo across the street. We also found the staff to be wonderful! Especially the concierge Jennifer, who went out of her way to recommend restaurants to us and help is get oriented to Park City. We are already hoping to book the same unit again next year. Thanks for a lovely getaway!

Room Tip: We had a corner unit and it was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia S, Marketing Coordinator at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Rachel,
Thank you so much for your kind review! I'm glad to hear you had a great ski vacation in Park City. Jen really knows her stuff when it comes to dining and activities in the area I'm glad she was able to assist you. Thank you so much for staying with us and letting us be part of your memorable ski trip! I hope we will see you again next season, or maybe in the summer! Come see the other side of Park City!

Thank you,

Alicia S.
Wyndham Vacation Rentals
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    26
    1
    7
    2
See reviews for
44
12
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

We just finished our second stay at Black Bear Lodge and have only good things to say:
- The location is fantastic. While not technically ski in and ski out, it is about a 2 minute walk to the Silver Lake ski valet - so you can go back and forth from the mountain any time you want.
- Both of our units (101 and 107) had been recently renovated with very nice kitchens, bathrooms and other furnishings.
- The free shuttle service is super useful for going anywhere you want to go. We used it for dinner most nights and to ski Park City one day. Last year we rented a car and never used it - this year we just got transfers from the airport.
- The staff is very friendly overall. Jennifer Ringquist (concierge) and Molly at the front desk (both Wyndham employees) were super.
- We had the community hot tub and pool practically to ourselves and really enjoyed it throughout the week.
- Our particular unit this year (107) is right next to the front entrance and the hot tub is smaller than most so we never used it (just went right outside the unit to the community tub) and it was a non-factor in our enjoyment.

Overall a tremendous value in Deer Valley.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank virginiamike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia S, Marketing Coordinator at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
I would first like to thank you for your wonderful feedback. We love to hear good reviews from guests! I will be sure to pass on your praises to Molly and Jen, as they will surely appreciate it. I also want to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Park City and I hope we will see you again next season!

Warm Regards,

Alicia S.
Wyndham Vacation Rentals
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

A wonderful property with well equipped condos. Our 2 bedroom unit was on the 2nd floor and was very clean and welcoming. It was extremely spacious with plenty of room for everyone to relax. The full kitchen and washer/dryer were a huge bonus for our family as well. Our family enjoyed the private hot tub on the balcony and the ideal location with close proximity to some really great restaurants and shops. When we came back, we were always greeted with a smile from the on-site staff and appreciated the free coffee and snacks in the lobby area. It was nice to sleep with the windows open at night to enjoy the cool mountain air. This was our first trip to the Black Bear Lodge and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Island_Gil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

First, I'm very happy you had a great stay at Black Bear Lodge. I appreciate your kind words regarding the property, and your experience. I agree that the rooms are spacious, and the property's location is ideal. I'm also very pleased that your interactions with our on-site staff were positive. They do a fantastic job, and we are lucky to have them! I'm glad to hear that we will be seeing you again at Black Bear and look forward to your next visit!

Best regards,

Jason Schnaitter
General Manager
jason.schnaitter@wynvr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We just wanted to express our disappointment in the Black Bear Lodge. We have stayed at a lot of other upscale hotels in park city and deer valley and not once have we left early. This was the first time. It actually felt great to leave. My wife and I booked what we thought would be a relaxing getaway for this weekend only to be thoroughly disappointed in our choice. The cons of this weekend greatly outweighed the pros. Our rooms were about 80 degrees even though it was 50 degrees outside at night. Very uncomfortable. We even opened the windows thinking that it would help but it didn't. Our cable went out and we were only able to view 15 local channels which was very frustrating. We also purchased the room solely because it was advertised that there would be a private hot tub. We got there and the hot tub was empty and had parts inside it. I called and asked about it and was told that during the summer there is an extra charge for the hot tub for them to prep it. We weren't informed regarding that whole situation. Very frustrating. We then decided to go use the shared hot tub outside which we found to be pretty much disgusting. I actually cleaned it myself because even after I told the front desk about it, the day after it was still very dirty. When you are paying hundreds of dollars a night you expect to enjoy your stay and have things cleaned and taken care of. The list continues with the maid walking into our rooms while we were sleeping because nobody notified her that we were staying for the weekend. Good thing she didn't walk in on us dressing or anything else. Also we weren't provided a parking pass. The front desk called us on our second day to notify us that they forgot to include it with our check in packet, which leads me to another complaint. I have never had a more difficult time checking into a place than I had with Black Bear Lodge. We got there after work around 6 after the front desk had closed. When we looked at the map on the front door it said to go around the other way to enter after hours. That was locked too. We then went back to the front and had to call several numbers to finally figure out how to get in. Why don't people let you know how to check in if you are getting there late? Come on people. We actually had invited another couple to come stay with us for the weekend because we reserved the two bedroom lodge but they weren't able to make it. In retrospect I'm very glad that they didn't drive all the way up there for an experience like that.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Daniel1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

First let me apologize that you were disappointed with your stay. We want each of our guests to have a relaxing time at Black Bear and I’m sorry that you did not feel this way following your trip. In researching your stay, there were many things presented in your review that conflict with information that we have regarding your stay. I will attempt to address each of your issues individually. First, I do apologize that your unit was warm upon your arrival. The end of June can be very warm in Park City. As we communicated to you when you made your reservation, this unit was not equipped with air conditioning. We do however provide multiple fans in each unit for our guests comfort, and delivered additional fans during your stay. Typically, our guests are able to position the fans to bring in some of the cooler night air that you mentioned to make things more pleasant. In addition, we did offer to move you to a unit on a lower floor during your stay which typically provides for a cooler experience. You declined this offer. I do apologize that you had an issue with your cable during your stay. When we inspected your unit prior to your arrival it was receiving the full Comcast Digital Starter menu of 80+ channels. You did not mention this problem during your stay for us to attempt to resolve. Regarding the hot tubs mentioned in your review - we communicated to you during the booking process that the private hot tubs at Black Bear are available during our summer rentals for a fee. You declined at the time of booking to add this service. A customer service representative again reached out to you 4 days prior to your arrival to again inquire if you had changed your mind and would like the spa filled for your arrival. You again declined this service. I’m sorry that you found the common area spa water not to your satisfaction. We take this concern very seriously. Immediately following your visit to the front desk we did communicate with the Homeowners Association who maintains the spa and requested a service. They checked both the water and the cleanliness of the spa. Their inspection of the spa found it to be clean, and balanced. In addition, we had many other guest’s and owners at Black Bear that weekend who utilized the common area spa and pool. We did not receive any similar feedback from any other traveler regarding the common area spa. Concerning the housekeeper that you mentioned entered your unit. If a member of our staff entered your unit without a knock on the door or announcing themselves as they entered I sincerely apologize. I also apologize that there was not a parking pass in your check-in packet, and that you had difficulty checking in after our front desk was closed. We did provide you directions regarding this process with your reservation contract. In addition, there are directions on the front door at Black Bear to assist our guests that arrive after hours. Also, we do have a phone inside of the door next to the lock box that connects guests with a customer service representative to assist them if they are having trouble. You mentioned that you utilized this service. However our records indicate we did not have any calls from this line documented on the evening of your check-in. Regardless, we apologize for the inconvenience. You do mention in the beginning of your review that your disappointment led to you to leave the property early. I’m sorry that you felt this way. Typically when a guest makes this decision they notify us and sometimes request compensation back for the remaining time. We did not receive this request from you, but are happy to accommodate you for a return night at Black Bear at our expense.

Best Regards,

Jason Schnaitter
General Manager
jason.schnaitter@wynvr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Beautiful property within walking distance of Deer Valley Ski Resort. We had two families and rented two adjoining condos, the single entry door allowed us to leave the doors open yet still have two separate spaces.

Room Tip: The only problem we encountered was using the kitchen "non-stick" pans, they should be rep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

I have stayed here twice, and both times the experiecne wonderful. The location is close (a 3 minute walk) to the slopes.. At mid-mountain, it is easy to get to any slpe withing five minutes, or easy to come back for a afternoon rest. Our condo had a private hottub on the balcony, which really made the place great. The two bedrooms was perfect for a family. There was enough room for everoyne to have space, but not too much. The washer and dryer in the room was great also. I loved the large stone fireplace and even the decor was nice (not too cheesy). I would highly reccomend these condos as a resonably priced place to stay at silver lake. I would definatly return.

Room Tip: the higher floors are better becaue they have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank julia28970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Located in Silver Lake Village which is "Ground Zero" at Deer Valley, this property offers unprecedented size and comfort for the $. While lacking services of a large hotel, it does offer a charming lobby wirth shuttle service and fully equiped quarters which are spacious and well appointed.

Room Tip: the 2 bedroom units are incredibly spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Park City hotels
0.1 mi away
The Chateaux Deer Valley
The Chateaux Deer Valley
#4 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
1.2 mi away
Trail's End Lodge
Trail's End Lodge
#25 of 60 in Park City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Goldener Hirsch Inn
Goldener Hirsch Inn
#27 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley
1.2 mi away
Lodges at Deer Valley
Lodges at Deer Valley
#17 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
1.2 mi away
Montage Deer Valley
Montage Deer Valley
#3 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Lodge

Property: Black Bear Lodge
Address: 7447 Royal St, Park City, UT 84060-5110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Park City
#10 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Park City
#23 Family Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Bear Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its log exterior reminiscent of the grand old lodges of the American West, Black Bear Lodge is a favorite destination in Deer Valley Resort's Silver Lake Village. Located just across the street from the slopes, each unit features a fully equipped kitchen, living room with river rock gas fireplace, wireless internet access and private bathroom per bedroom. Many units also boast a private hot tub on the deck. Additional amenities include pool, common area hot tub, fitness room, business center, on-site front desk, daily housekeeping and local shuttle. Experience Wyndham Vacation Rental's outstanding customer service for yourself - from the time you make your reservation, to your arrival at the front desk, through your departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Black Bear Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Lodge Condos Hotel Park City
Black Bear Hotel Condos
Black Bear Lodge Park City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing