We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“crappy for the $” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Bear Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Black Bear Lodge
Ranked #28 of 60 Hotels in Park City
Certificate of Excellence
new york
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“crappy for the $”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

bad service so i would not stay here again for the money. staff didnt want to be bothered with anything and work very short hours. cant even get into the building after 10pm. way overpriced. would suggest a hotel for the money./ we got stuck here because of sundance and all the good places were sold out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrtravelsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
First I want to sincerely apologize for the issues you had during your stay. We want all of our guests to have a great experience at Black Bear Lodge, and I’m sorry our service did not meet your expectation. I’m very sorry our staff gave the impression that they did not want to be bothered with anything. That is certainly not how we have trained our staff, and not how they typically treat our guests as evidenced by our other positive reviews. While the Front Desk does operate between 7:00 a.m. and 10:00 p.m. daily, there are multiple entry points to the building after the desk is closed. I apologize that you were not able to easily find them, and appreciate the feedback. While we have not had other guests express this challenge, we will continue to work on our directions to guests so that they are aware of the many entry and exit points beyond the front desk at our property.
Thank you,
Jason Schnaitter
General Manager
ResortQuest by Wyndham Vacation Rentals
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    27
    1
    7
    2
See reviews for
45
13
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Black Bear this week and sad to be leaving. Everything from check-in to departure was spot on ! The garage made parking easy and swift in the snow and everything very clean and well signed.
Reception staff were notably welcoming and efficient and were expecting my check in and had info packs etc all ready.
The condo was a corner unit on second floor and was really high quality with wonderfulountain views, an immaculate hot tub, lots of internal space and top level fittings - down to appliances and all the equipment.
I found it spotlessly clean
Reading the other older reports on here, it looks like the new Wyndham Vacation Rentals Resort Quest team operate this resort so mich better now than previous team.
You vote with your feet and I'll be coming back !

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank synapticsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for the review and we are so glad you had a fantastic stay! We agree that the many amenities at Black Bear make a vacation an easy and enjoyable experience. I appreciate your kind words regarding both our Front Desk staff, and the condition you found your accommodations. Our Housekeeping and Maintenance teams work extremely hard to insure our guests have a great experience in our managed units at Black Bear. We appreciate the positive feedback and look forward to your next trip at Black Bear Lodge!
Thank you,
Jason Schnaitter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We just returned from a week stay at Black Bear lodge. The condo was spacious, convenient, and tastefully decorated. We are a family of 5 adults. There was more than enough room in a 2B/2B condo with a loft. There was a private hot tub outside on the balcony. The view was amazing! The kitchen was big enough, and stocked well enough for basic cooking.

The staff at the lodge was amazing. They catered to every whim. There is a complimentary car/shuttle to take us anywhere in the local area. We used it several times to food shop, and to various restaurants in the area, each night. The drivers were friendly, and were always offering advice on restaurant suggestions.

It is a short walk to the base of Silver Lake area of Deer Valley, and good restaurants.

I highly recommend the Black Bear. I would go back again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lintefalas59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for the review and we are very pleased that you had a great stay! I’m happy that you found the condo spacious, well decorated, and conveniently located. We agree that the views from decks at Black Bear are amazing! I also appreciate your kind words regarding our staff. They really do an amazing job, and I’m especially pleased you mentioned our shuttle service and our drivers. They are excellent, and I’m glad they improved your experience. We appreciate the positive feedback and look forward to your next trip at Black Bear Lodge!
Thank you,
Jason Schnaitter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, AL
Level Contributor
51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

My family of 4 traveled to Deer Valley, UT for Spring Break with good friends (family of 5) and shared 2 condos at Black Bear Lodge. We loved the mid mountain location, just across from Silver Lake Village and the lifts. The condos were spacious and well appointed with good quality furnishings and appliances. The children enjoyed the outdoor hot tub on the deck. The adults appreciated the friendly and helpful staff who were gracious and helpful with tips and advice during our visit. And Bruce, the driver, was fabulous and took us to and from our lunch and dinner outings in style! Would recommend to anyone who wants a fabulous experience in Deer Valley.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JWLMontgomery_AL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

The upper floor units with a private hot tub are very nice after a day of skiing. The furnishings were nice, but not luxurious. Good size units and a good value for the area with indoor parking and wi-fi. Black Bear Lodge was just a 2 minute walk from the ski check at Silver Lake Lodge.

Room Tip: Get a ubnit on the 3rd or 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank moco421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

The Black Bear Lodge at Silver Lake, Deer Valley is a lovely romantic lodge setting. It is very much wood built, with huge lounge/kitchen, balcony with jacuzzi tub (bit cold walking out there outdoors mid winter), button turn on huge fire in lounge, big comfy beds and well equipped bathrooms. Stayed in 2 room condo -- main bedroom had main bed and two bunks and jacuzzi bath, second bedroom had big double bed and own bathroom with shower - and access to the balcony and jacuzzi. It is a really charming romantic hotel but not posy posh -- just warm, luxurious, cosy and gorgeous - and great 'cookies' warm and fresh every morning in reception. No restaurant, short walk to ski slopes at Silver Lake. Connects well into the whole Deer Valley ski area which is large, very smart with valet service, lovely lodges and restaurants. Great restaurants eg Goldener Hirsch and Stein Erikson Lodge a very short walk from Black Bear.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CarolineCRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed at Black Bear Lodge over Presidents' weekend 2012, though we rented through a private owner. We knew ahead of time that cleaning/maid service was not included, but we were able to hire one on our own if we wanted. The unit was one of the lofts on the top (4th) floor, unit #430. It had 2 bedrooms plus a loft area with 2 more double beds. Our family of 5 was very comfortable, and the price was around half what we would have paid for 2 rooms at one of the ski in/out hotels on the mountain. The walk to the lifts was a couple of blocks, and at Deer Valley there is a complimentary overnight ski check at the base, so you don't need to carry gear.
The kitchen was very nice, fully stocked with cookware needed, and there was a dishwasher and W/D in the unit (and the detergent was already there). The living/dining area was comfortable and spacious. Keep in mind that unless you have a car, there is no market within walking distance. From what I saw, the staff at Black Bear was courteous and very capable, so I would imagine that renting through the management company at Black Bear should be a good bet (though maybe a little more expensive than going through private owners). Overall, we loved it, and would go back.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor if possible if you are sensitive to people walking around in their ski boots
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CJL61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Park City hotels
0.1 mi away
The Chateaux Deer Valley
The Chateaux Deer Valley
#4 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
1.2 mi away
Trail's End Lodge
Trail's End Lodge
#25 of 60 in Park City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Goldener Hirsch Inn
Goldener Hirsch Inn
#26 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley
1.2 mi away
Lodges at Deer Valley
Lodges at Deer Valley
#17 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
1.7 mi away
Marriott's Summit Watch
Marriott's Summit Watch
#7 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Lodge

Property: Black Bear Lodge
Address: 7447 Royal St, Park City, UT 84060-5110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Park City
#23 Family Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Bear Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its log exterior reminiscent of the grand old lodges of the American West, Black Bear Lodge is a favorite destination in Deer Valley Resort's Silver Lake Village. Located just across the street from the slopes, each unit features a fully equipped kitchen, living room with river rock gas fireplace, wireless internet access and private bathroom per bedroom. Many units also boast a private hot tub on the deck. Additional amenities include pool, common area hot tub, fitness room, business center, on-site front desk, daily housekeeping and local shuttle. Experience Wyndham Vacation Rental's outstanding customer service for yourself - from the time you make your reservation, to your arrival at the front desk, through your departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Black Bear Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Lodge Condos Hotel Park City
Black Bear Hotel Condos
Black Bear Lodge Park City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing