We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What it use to be.”
Review of Yamato Steakhouse and Sushi - CLOSED

Yamato Steakhouse and Sushi
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What it use to be.”
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Yamato is closed and has been for months. They said they were going to reopen, but gave no dates. Oishi, just off Main st. in PC is their sister restaurant. I was told they are not reopening because they dont get enough business. Its a shame, Yamato was my favorite sushi place in Park City.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cascade905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    1
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just OK.”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

I am honestly surprised at the other reviews. This wasn't a bad experience, but I wasn't overwhelmed either. The menu seemed about average. The sushi was pretty good. I suppose the value was good. Service average at best. Although, it was packed so I guess it's understandable that things were on the slow side.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
“seriously?”
Reviewed August 23, 2011

my girlfriends and i ate here on a girls' getaway weekend. we waited over an hour with high expectations. maybe we were too hungry, but this place failed to impress. i might not be a new yorker, but i grew up in LA where little tokyo is second to none.

don't bother.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic experience - food and service exceed all expectations.”
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We were in Park City for 6 days, and wanted to hit several highly rated restaurants. Our experiences were varied, with many falling disappointingly below their positive descriptions. Although Yamato is a newcomer to Park City, the recent reviews posted here were so consistently positive, we decided to give it a try even though the ambience is humble and our concierge had never heard of it (we have since corrected that ) It was a terrific dinner from start to finish. Our group of four tasted everything we ordered, and EVERY dish was unanimously declared a winner. (BBQ edamame, calamari, potstickers, honey vanilla chicken that tasted like "chicken and waffles" , beef sukiyaki, and several rolls off the sushi menu). James, our server, was amazingly informative about details of dishes, wines, etc., and was more than happy to make substitutions in rolls to accommodate allergies in our group members - often with suggestions that made the revised dish delivered to our table the best of its kind we had tasted anywhere ! Chef Tosh visited our table, was very friendly and enthusiastic about making his guests happy, and indicated he might put the modified version on the menu since we liked it so much (Look to see if the "Miami Marissa" roll is available - highly recommended) The prices of individual dishes were very reasonable, but because everything we tasted was so terrific, we kept ordering more dishes, so that even with the current fantastic half off sushi special, we ran up a sizeable tab of $50 per person. However, it is possible to have a great meal for considerably less, and for whatever amount of money you spend, you will be getting everything you really want to visit a restaurant for - great food and great service - not a "snooty/designer" place with hit or miss food and poor service. Before we left town, we cancelled some other big-name reservations, in order to dine at Yamato's twice !

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The best sushi in park city”
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We are a level locals and know every place in town. We're once upon a time new yorkers and know what we're doing. This is the best sushi place in town, hands down, and no debate. Order the rich, tempura fried rolls . Ask for Elena or James (who's obnoxious, but the best sushi waiter ever). Get the sneak attack, or tiger Lilly (neither of which are on the menu). The sneak attack is the best roll in park city, but can be hot as hell. It lives up to it's name. It is 100% vivid. I hope it helps...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank UtahBasedTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yamato Steakhouse and Sushi also viewed

Park City, Wasatch Range
Park City, Wasatch Range
 
Park City, Wasatch Range
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing