We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montage Deer Valley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Montage Deer Valley
Ranked #3 of 60 Hotels in Park City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Lake Tahoe
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Almost Perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

From the moment I arrived, I knew I was in a first class resort hotel. The concierge, valet and bellman did just what you would expect from a top notch establishment. The phone replaced the ice machine and in-room coffee maker. Well drinks were fourteen-fifty at the bar and everyone including the housekeepers refers to you by name. They all tried their best to make you feel special. It was like being in New York only in a much prettier setting.
The only bump was the banquet service at the wedding dinner (a function for which my niece paid $60k just for flowers). Basic rules such as "serve from the left and clear from the right" were ignored. Worse, since butter knives were not provided, our server placed our soiled dinner knives back on the table instead of replacing them. That works in a bowling alley coffee shop, but not in a 5 star resort. I expected a fully trained staff for such an event but in retrospect, since everything else during our weekend stay was so well done, I really can't complain.
Everyone in our party enjoyed their stay and I would say that overall, it was well worth the greatly reduced autumn room rates. The Montage is a great place to "do the colors" in October.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrWayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    82
    24
    14
    7
See reviews for
247
189
16
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morgan, Utah
Level Contributor
103 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Our three year old loves the Montage at Deer Valley! Francis at Daly's bowling was so kind to our first time little bowler, he found him mini bowling shoes, set up the ramp and bumpers and showed us a fantastic time.my son would not stop talking about the bowling at montage. Thank you Francis for making such a meaningful family memory with us!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank mammameenah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Briarcliff Manor, New York, United States
Level Contributor
162 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This hotel is simply magnificent. Rooms are spacious and gorgeous. Service is very good but not outstanding. Spa is very nice. Gym pretty good. Hotel is a little isolated from Park City but they have good shuttle service to and from. Surrounding area is beautiful and scenic. Food pretty good at restaurants. Very expensive place generally. Concierges were great.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FredSiegel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

My son and I stayed at the Montage for a father son trip to celebrate his 10th birthday. On arrival the staff went out of their way to make it special from the hand painted happy birthday sign to the birthday cake. We went fly fishing, hiking, rode alpine coaster, bowled in the pub, shot archery on the lawn and went on a jeep safari to search for moose. Monty the dog mascot was also a highlight. We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reigate
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I was lucky enough to stay here on business earlier this year, and it felt like a treat from start to finish. First class service - random staff magically knew my name (how???) and despite the massive size of the hotel made every interaction feel really personal - including the receptionist commenting that she liked the way had styled my hair differently, having met her once st check-in 3 days earlier!!! Now that is 5 star service!

Room was stunning - huge and well equipped, with a roaring fire at the touch of a button (not needed in the 90 degree heat...but must be stunning in the winter.

Breath-taking views across the valley.

Incredible spa - just wish I could have spent more time there. Possibly the best treatments I have ever had in my life - a wonderful deep tissue massage and an everlasting pedicure from some of the most charming and interesting spa staff I have ever encountered.

Even the conference-facilities were a treat- big leather armchairs to curl up in in the conference room - if only all business trips were like this!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SW73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
125 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at the three top resorts in deer valley and this one edges out the competition with room size and the family program. Common areas are massive - but the Pub with bowling, billards, shuffle board and video games and the Montage Merits makes this the place to stay with kids. Great daily activities!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dawn g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamas, Utah
Level Contributor
123 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Came for my wife's birthday and had a suite that was truly amazing and wonderfully appointed. The view was spectacular. Sadly we will not come agin as the food in the Apex was dreadful. I will review this separately but the poor dining prevents me from giving the Montage 5 stars. It was even hard to get a cup of coffee. The coffee shop was close but even if it had been open there is nowhere nice to sit.
It is tragic that with such a wonderful physical plant they can not get a decent chef.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nzcharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontageDeerValley, Manager at Montage Deer Valley, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear nzcharles,

First and foremost, please except our sincere apologies for the dining experience that took place during your visit to Montage Deer Valley. Though I am very pleased you enjoyed your accommodations, we are concerned that we did not meet your expectations in one of our restaurants.

I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you directly. Please contact me at (435) 604-1321 when time allows.

Warmest regards,

David Mars
Resort Manager
Montage Deer Valley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Park City hotels
1.2 mi away
Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley
1.3 mi away
The Chateaux Deer Valley
The Chateaux Deer Valley
#4 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 stars 507 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Park City, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The St. Regis Deer Valley
The St. Regis Deer Valley
#9 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 stars 759 reviews
2.3 mi away
Marriott's Summit Watch
Marriott's Summit Watch
#8 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 stars 511 reviews
7.5 mi away
Newpark Resort & Hotel
Newpark Resort & Hotel
#10 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 stars 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montage Deer Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montage Deer Valley

Property: Montage Deer Valley
Address: 9100 Marsac Ave, Park City, UT 84060-5201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Park City
#1 Business Hotel in Park City
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Park City
#3 Spa Hotel in Park City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Park City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Montage Deer Valley 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montage Deer Valley, is located in the year-round community of Park City, Utah, is one of North America’s finest mountain resort destinations. Reminiscent of the great mountain lodges of the West, this refined mountain craftsman resort is less than five minutes from Park City’s celebrated Main Street where leisurely strolls reveal an eclectic array of al fresco cafes, local art galleries, gourmet restaurants, and specialty boutiques. With time being the most treasured asset in today’s world, the resort is well positioned just a 40 minute drive from Salt Lake City International Airport (SLC). Resort guests will enjoy a coveted location atop Empire Pass, unrivaled ski-in / ski-out access to North America's No. #1 ski resort, and amazing year-round activities including hiking, biking, golf and fly-fishing. After a day of mountain adventure, guests can retreat to the 35,000 square foot alpine inspired spa offering 29 treatment rooms and an indoor mosaic pool. True to the Montage commitment to culinary expertise, dining rises to an art form at Montage Deer Valley. From the refined indoor settings of Apex and its mountain side terrace to the fun jovial atmosphere of Daly's Pub & Rec, with its very own bowling alley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Montage Deer Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montage Deer Valley Hotel Park City
Montage Deer Valley Park City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing