We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous hotel & thoughtful service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Montage Deer Valley
Ranked #2 of 60 Hotels in Park City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous hotel & thoughtful service”
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Wow. What an absolutely beautiful hotel. From the grounds (and views!) to the restaurants and the guest rooms...everything is just stunning. Truly feels like a vacation for the spirit to stay here. Since we visited during the summer, we tended to leave the resort and head to Main Street during meal times. But if we were staying here for skiing in the winter, it would be amazing to have such fantastic food and entertainment within the building. (They have a bowling alley/darts/arcade area in their basement pub area; archery, croquet, badminton out by their outdoor pool; and an indoor pool in their spa area...seriously, you never have to leave.) BUT, should you decide to leave, they provide free car shuttle down to Main Street--and back. This hotel has truly thought of everything. It's a true pleasure to stay here. The only bad part was having to leave at the end of our stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NMC60622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    665
    96
    33
    17
    8
See reviews for
278
213
18
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This property is nestled in the mountains just up the hill from the town of Park City (at about 8,200 ft) and offers grand views of the valleys below. The interior seems to be intentionally planned to promote an elegantly quiet experience. The decor is subtle and sophisticated. Standard rooms are larger and more livable than in some other luxury hotels, with fireplaces, walk in closets, and heated marble floor tiling in the bathrooms. Service is outstanding; food special and delicious. Since the hotel is situated at such a high altitude, would recommend acclimating by spending a few days gradually "climbing your way up." Several in our party coming directly from the east coast experienced plenty of high altitude symptoms.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coupleofgolfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Sure it's pricey, but the best rarely comes cheaply and quite frankly you get more than your money's worth here. Simply put it's not to be missed. Spent four days here in July and was truly disappointed to leave- and it was a work trip. The attention to detail and enthusiasm (almost bizarrely so) was fantastic. The people here truly seem to enjoy their work.

Some highlights:
- Upon departure we were given baseball caps as the doorman noticed we were in a convertible.
- Chef making nachos upon request (it's not on the menu) that were delicious and quick
- I broke my girlfriends glasses on the pool deck and next thing we knew a staff member brought out a list of sunglasses vendors in Park city.
- Complimentary smores at the firepit every evening
- Bowling in the bar downstairs (and darts, and shuffleboard, and wii, and arcade games)
- Free private yoga lesson

Whatever you do, definitely order the blackened chicken crepe from the poolside menu. My only regret is that I only discovered it on the last day. Delicious.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vtsport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Absolutely lovely. The rooms are luxurious, the facilities to die for, and the staff was wonderful. You'll love the heated floors in the bathrooms. The views are breathtaking.

Only minor drawbacks. 1.) The property was just opened in December of 2010 and they still have a few kinks to workout. 2.) The thermostats in the rooms require a degree in engineering or a 12 year old to figure out. We either froze or burned up depending on what the AC was doing at the time. 3.) There is still construction going on at the property and we had to be moved because there was an excavator right outside our window; however, the staff was very sympathetic and moved us quickly.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeDavis56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontageDeerValley, Director of Sales at Montage Deer Valley, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
Greetings MikeDavis56....

Many thanks for the kind comments and we are thrilled you enjoyed our resort.

We also wanted to thank you for the constructive comments.... In regards to the thermostats, while the system allows a great degree of flexibility, we have been working with the provider to make the operation more "intuitive"... so hopefully your next stay this will be apparent.

In regards to the landscape work, while mother nature blessed us with an amazing snowfall this year, all that snow took its a toll on our landscape, so we apologize that that you had to see some of the work being done to bring the property’s grounds back up to standards.

Again, many thanks for the kind remarks and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best Wishes,

Christopher Hamaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
down south
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Lovely hotel in a beautiful location. The down valley view suite we had was very nicely appointed with 2 large rooms and 2 baths. The weather was spectacular while we were there. The food was very good and they are not shy about charging for it! We ordered eggs and toast for one, raisin brand for one and coffee for two one morning. It was 57$. I wish they provided coffee pots in the rooms. Summer here is lovely. I would highly recommend the Montage

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southernprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

After an exhaustive search of Park City properties for a quick two day trip, we decided on the Montage the night before arriving. The reservation specialist on the phone was very helpful and encouraged us to take advantage of the Memories Package which included a $50 breakfast credit and complimentary parking. She also asked if we were coming for a special occasion. Informing her that it was my birthday celebration, she made sure it was common knowledge amongst the outstanding staff. As the bellman showed us the amazing features of our room, other service personel arrived with a birthday cake, card, and sparkling lemonade.
Although we did not upgrade to a Vista View room, our room on the ground floor provided access to outdoor hottubs and pool just a few feet away. It was nice to swim morning laps in the outdoor heated pool with surrounding snowy hills. We were surpised to find several used towels lying around the pool, though. Perhaps the staff assumed that low occupancy meant no one had used the pool.
The breakfast staff (Nikki) at the Apex made special efforts to make my birthday memorable, and upon arriving at the spa for a massage the next day, Josh, Ryan and the staff had our lockers already prepared with a birthday card and rose inside. All areas of the spa were immaculate and unbelievable, rivaling others we have visited at Four Seasons and Stein Erikson.
Due to the off season, and presumably, construction, occupancy was low, meaning it felt as though the entire resort had been reserved just for us. On one day of our stay, we were torn between attending a kick boxing class or the s'mores activity since they were scheduled simultaneously. Deciding upon the spa class, we arrived to find out that the schedule had been changed since we checked it the day before, and the class was actually an hour earlier. Had we known, it would have been nice to do both the s'mores and kickboxing class, but Faye, the instructor, more than made up for the miscommunication by teaching us a private, personally catered, off-schedule kickboxing class when we arrived at the spa. It ended up being one of our favorite experiences of our stay.
We loved our two days at the Montage, and thought that feeling like we had an entire palace to ourselves was a nice trade-off for the construction taking place. We hope to be able to return when construction and landscaping are completed, and more eating options are available. (we did try to eat at the Vista Lounge at one point, but could not find anyone to help us).
The staff made our memorable stay even better by offering a late check out and making sure that I was enjoying my birthday. We loved it and the experience will always score as one of my most magical birthday celebrations.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjlpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutherville Timonium, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Stayed here for the second time. This time with my wife and 2 young kids. Our one bedroom "suite" had the wonderful view of the back of a muddy hill. Service was poor considering our group was really the only one staying there. Concierge couldn't coordinate our rides into town. Food was average at the APEX. The arcade didn't open until 3pm for the kids. They forgot turndown service until I called them and then it took 45 minutes. Coffee bar didn't open until 7am thats 9am east coast time! They were "renovating" 3/4 of the outside with men in hardhats, outdoor rigging all over the place. We were scared to walk around the perimeter of the building. Overall, would never stay here again. Stayed here in January when it first opened and it's just become worse. Not even close to Stein Eriksen in Deer Valley.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Boone14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontageDeerValley, Director of Sales at Montage Deer Valley, responded to this review, June 22, 2011
Boone14,

Please accept our sincere apologies for the circumstances that led to this review. It is our fervent goal to provide a positive and memorable experience for all of our guests, and clearly we have not accomplished this with you and your family. I have sent you a private message with my contact details and would appreciate the opportunity to converse with you further and know we will work diligently to make your experience with Montage Deer Valley moving forward a positive one.

Sincerely,

Christopher Hamaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Park City hotels
1.2 mi away
Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley
2.5 mi away
The St. Regis Deer Valley
The St. Regis Deer Valley
#13 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Chateaux Deer Valley
The Chateaux Deer Valley
#7 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Park City, Autograph Collection
5.2 mi away
Hyatt Centric Park City
Hyatt Centric Park City
#5 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
2.4 mi away
Marriott's MountainSide
Marriott's MountainSide
#10 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montage Deer Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montage Deer Valley

Property: Montage Deer Valley
Address: 9100 Marsac Ave, Park City, UT 84060-5201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Park City
#1 Business Hotel in Park City
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Park City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Park City
#2 Spa Hotel in Park City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Montage Deer Valley 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montage Deer Valley, is located in the year-round community of Park City, Utah, is one of North America’s finest mountain resort destinations. Reminiscent of the great mountain lodges of the West, this refined mountain craftsman resort is less than five minutes from Park City’s celebrated Main Street where leisurely strolls reveal an eclectic array of al fresco cafes, local art galleries, gourmet restaurants, and specialty boutiques. With time being the most treasured asset in today’s world, the resort is well positioned just a 40 minute drive from Salt Lake City International Airport (SLC). Resort guests will enjoy a coveted location atop Empire Pass, unrivaled ski-in / ski-out access to North America's No. #1 ski resort, and amazing year-round activities including hiking, biking, golf and fly-fishing. After a day of mountain adventure, guests can retreat to the 35,000 square foot alpine inspired spa offering 29 treatment rooms and an indoor mosaic pool. True to the Montage commitment to culinary expertise, dining rises to an art form at Montage Deer Valley. From the refined indoor settings of Apex and its mountain side terrace to the fun jovial atmosphere of Daly's Pub & Rec, with its very own bowling alley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Preferred Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Montage Deer Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montage Deer Valley Hotel Park City
Montage Deer Valley Park City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing