We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Liquor” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of High West Distillery & Saloon

High West Distillery & Saloon
Ranked #4 of 265 Restaurants in Park City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Come visit Utah's first distillery since the 1870's, and the only ski-in gastro-distillery in the world. Located in Old Town Park City, at the bottom of Quit N' Time ski run and next to the Town Lift. High West Distillery and Saloon is an intimate gathering place serving nouveau Western fare, a full selection of fine wine and spirits, and our own small-batch, mountain-crafted, award-winning whiskeys and vodkas.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Liquor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

I did not eat here, although the menu looked damn good. I was traveling through and I heard wonderful things about the Whiskey here. I bought a bottle for my co-workers, and they raved about the Whiskey. Ages 16 and 6 years and blended together, the whiskey is great and they have a pretty interesting selection here. Would definitely stop by for a bite sometime :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighWest, Manager at High West Distillery & Saloon, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Jeff...

Thanks for posting a review on Trip Advisor based on a bottle purchase. The whiskey you gifted was our Rendezvous Rye which is our flagship whiskey and one worth sipping. Thanks for thinking of us while traveling through and we look forward to you stopping by for a bite next time you're up here from Las Vegas.

Cheers...

Ted Russell
Boosway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    722
    389
    119
    39
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“20+ visits to High West, Not a 5 star rating this time round....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

Food, atmosphere, liquor and cocktails are still amazing. Went on a recent Thursday for lunch and they seemed severely understaffed; odd for such a popular restaurant. Our server did everything from taking orders to food/drink-running for what seemed the entire room, and even the friendly hostess was out bussing and running for the servers, while also greeting and seating people; just to maintain a standard restaurant pace. Serious props to the employees for keeping the place going by hard work and breaking a sweat, it appears that without them High West lunch hour would fall apart! It being Summer is no excuse for under-staffing...seems like upper management is dropping the ball. Without some improvement behind the scenes, High West is destined to head downhill :( On a lighter note, if you want to know anything about the liquor/food/wines, ask for the manager named Victor...he came to our table during dinner one time to check up on us, and was incredibly knowledgeable and welcoming. KEEP UP THE HARD WORK SERVERS AND HOSTS, YOU ARE THE ONES MAKING THE PLACE WORK!!!!! I would like to see the High West restaurant stick around, as I still would recommend it overall.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DanK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighWest, Manager at High West Distillery & Saloon, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Dan...

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent High West experience. We work diligently not to take any successes for granted and are always looking for ways to improve. I apologize for your lunch issues recently yet appreciate your observations. We'll take a harder look at the schedule to make sure we're properly covered across all dayparts and we appreciate the compliments for Victor. I'll be sure to pass along.

Thank you again Dan for your comments. While we're all on the same team here operationally, it's the folks on the front line in both the front of house and the kitchen, that pull it all together. We appreciate your ownership of High West from the guest perspective and look forward to visits 21+.

Sincerely...

Ted Russell
Boosway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food and beverage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

I had about a 30 minute wait but found a seat at the bar. I ordered a dram of the High West rye whiskey which was pricey but very good. I switched to a local beer that I cant remember the name of but it was also very good. I then ordered their burger which is 1/2 bison and 1/2 beef. I don't know what sauce was on it but it was about the best burger I've ever had.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighWest, Manager at High West Distillery & Saloon, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Alex...

Thanks for taking the time to post a review of your recent 5 star experience here at High West. We appreciate the compliments and are thrilled you enjoyed the burger - it's certainly one of our signature dishes. Also, we do have a few local beers and I'd assume the "Ghostrider" from Wastach Beers might have been your selection.

Again, we're glad you enjoyed yourself and that we provided you a place to relax while visiting Park City. We look forward to the next time.

Cheers...

Ted Russell
Boosway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draper, Utah
Level Contributor
494 reviews
320 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“"Good Booze and Victuals"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

The place is large, open, noisy, vibrant and fun. If this is your idea of a night out with good drinks and food this is your place. Many interesting drink offerings to start and most feature their brand of whiskies which are good. A good offering of small plates to start which are meant to share at the table and add to the fun. The main course menu is limited but with sufficient offerings to please all. And the food is very good. Desserts are good and large so they can be shared. You can have a whiskey sampling at the table with several "flights" offered. We capped off the night with an unadvertised flight of Pappy Van Winkle whiskeys that was a little expensive but worth it and fun for this highly prized and scarce product. Service if efficient and friendly and help to make it a good night out. There is also a bus stop across the street to get you back to your hotel safely after your whiskey adventure!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighWest, Manager at High West Distillery & Saloon, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Jack...

Thanks for your detailed 5 star review and the adding of the free PC bus recommendation! You covered all the bases on product and service which are appreciated and thanks as well for the Pappy reference. We've added those products on a limited basis and it's a fun flight for those curious about a revered whiskey brand.

Thanks for making the trek up and over the hill from Draper and we look forward to your next visit.

Cheers...

Ted Russell
Boosway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
111 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Go out of your way to get here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

We started by doing the whiskey tour with Ryan. This was a great free experience learning about the history of the brewery, how whiskey is made, how it is distilled and differences in types of spirits and finishing with a trip to the salon to try some of the products.
It was a bit of a plug for their own whiskey but that didn’t matter because of how good it was. You can purchase a sample at the end of the tour to find the one’s you like (we did this) and also for some of the other items they make at HWDS. Ryan made multiple suggestions based on what we liked, and I found a HW whiskey I love as well as a new Jameson Red Breast. Thanks Ryan!
After our whiskey tasting we needed to eat. Quickly! So we sat in the dinning room and Katie was our server. She was as friendly a person as you will ever meet. She had suggestions for dinner and apps, gave us the inside scoop on what drinks were like, and even allowed a person in our party to borrow a cell-phone charger! We ended up ordering the mac and cheese bites, the side sauce was awesome. We also ordered the Shishito peppers that were roasted and fried. Very yummy!
I had the beef/buffalo burger per Katie’s recommendation and also listened to her about putting some of our roasted peppers from the appetizer on the burger. Fantastic! Another in our group had the pulled pork sandwich which they really liked.
For dessert we did the whiskey infused doughnut (possibly the most amazing desert ever) and the S’more. We were worried the doughnut would not be that impressive but with every bit you could taste a bit of the whiskey which made it even more desirable. The Smore was liked by those who had enough room to eat it! Phil, one of the managers, also stopped by and we talked about how much we enjoyed the experience.
We will be making High West and absolute stop each time we are in SLC, not just Park city. We will find the time to make it up here (30 minutes or so) just so we can eat here!
Their menu is online so check it out before you go!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tcoolhand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighWest, Manager at High West Distillery & Saloon, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear tcoolhand...

Thank you for taking the time to post a detailed review of your recent 5 Star experience at High West! We appreciate the detail you provide and are pleased we exceeded your expectations across the board. Creating High West Missionaries is part of our customer service and branding initiatives and we'd like to think we are on our way to that objective with customers like you. Our brand manager has shared with our entire staff your compliments around the product but more importantly, the praise you have for Ryan, Katie and Phil. Our business depends on equal parts outstanding product and outstanding service and we're thrilled you experienced and shared that coupling.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip from Denver and please ask for me when you're here.

Cheers...

Ted Russell
Boosway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High West Distillery & Saloon also viewed

Park City, Wasatch Range
Park City, Wasatch Range
 
Park City, Wasatch Range
Park City, Wasatch Range
 
Park City, Wasatch Range
Park City, Wasatch Range
 

Been to High West Distillery & Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing