We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Make sure to get a tour!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of High West Distillery & Saloon

High West Distillery & Saloon
Ranked #4 of 265 Restaurants in Park City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Come visit Utah's first distillery since the 1870's, and the only ski-in gastro-distillery in the world. Located in Old Town Park City, at the bottom of Quit N' Time ski run and next to the Town Lift. High West Distillery and Saloon is an intimate gathering place serving nouveau Western fare, a full selection of fine wine and spirits, and our own small-batch, mountain-crafted, award-winning whiskeys and vodkas.
Conway, Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
142 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Make sure to get a tour!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

We had a dinner here, and really enjoyed the place, more of a house on top of a distillery than anything. I'll make sure to come back again, the tour really is great and very interesting. Do it before dinner so you can taste some of what you've learned.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Terence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighWest, Manager at High West Distillery & Saloon, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Terrence...

Thanks for joining us on our whiskey distillery tour and staying for dinner. We love educating folks on whiskey, it's history, our place and how we make it. Thanks also for suggesting it to others!

We'll have a table ready for you on your next visit from Arkansas!

Cheers...

Ted Russell
Boosway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    728
    392
    120
    39
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

We skiid into town and had lunch here on recommendation. We were a bit concerned after reading all the service complaints but we had a fantastic lunch,,,, great wings and sandwiches and you have to have an old fashion,,, awesome! The service was fine,,,, I don't agree with the complaints. We would definitely go back.

Helpful?
Thank flrose18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighWest, Manager at High West Distillery & Saloon, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear flrose2013...

Thanks for skiing in! It's a unique and fun way to experience High West and we're glad you took advantage of that access. We're pleased you and your group enjoyed yourselves and had a "fantastic" lunch including the Old Fashioned, sandwiches and service. While we strive to deliver a highly satisfied service experience to every guest, we know we don't always hit the mark. Thank you for experiencing High West for yourselves and sharing your service observations - we'll keep grinding away on our end to deliver 5 stars across the board.

Again, thanks for your feedback and review and look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Park City from Pennsylvania.

Sincerely...

Ted Russell
Boosway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleming Island, Florida
2 reviews
“Don't miss this unique restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

We took the advice of many and arrived at 5:30 on a Sunday night and were assigned a 7:30 table. We killed the 2 hours at the No Name Saloon, so this turned out to be a super Double Feature of two great experiences. High West was unique;the food was wonderful; the lemonade and Fool's Gold beverages were yummy; our waitress was knowledgeable and very helpful. Loved the decor and party atmosphere. The only con I could mention was the lack of ability to make reservations. It would certainly make it easier on the customer, but I've never been in the restaurant business. I trust they know what they're doing. There were no empty tables yet our group of 7 enjoyed a long time at the table sampling the many types of whiskey and having a great time. Maybe that's the point. High West was a high point in our trip!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Luv2xplor730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighWest, Manager at High West Distillery & Saloon, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Luv2xplor730...

Thanks for your review and we're glad you had the opportunity to experience the No Name as well as it's an iconic Park City watering hole and a local favorite. We appreciate your compliments on the food, cocktails and service and mentioning the "r" word (reservations). We used to take reservations but discovered we were frustrating many more guests. While being a walk in only restaurant can be an inconvenience, we are able to better accommodate more guests each day and appreciate your patience. We're pleased we lived up to your expectations and were the highlight of your trip!

We look forward to your next visit from Florida and thanks again for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor.

Cheers...

Ted Russell
Boosway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
108 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Staff were overly impressed with themselves - failed to take care of us!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Stopped by for drinks and to sample the High West whiskey. Staff were not helpful and actually bumped us around in their rush to move around the bar and restaurant. The whiskey was good but we left the restaurant feeling stressed out.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bart0814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighWest, Manager at High West Distillery & Saloon, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Bart...

This winter season has been stressful at times and we clearly didn't do our job to create a warm and welcoming experience for you and your group. A customer recently commented that service was "harried" and "pretentious" which can happen when we get busy. The secret is to slow down a notch to be able to speed up as well as provide a welcoming and unpretentious service experience. I apologize we were unable to do so in your circumstance. We appreciate the feedback as we're always looking for opportunities to improve and will incorporate your comments in our weekly service conversations.

Thank you for your review and we invite you to visit us for a more relaxed High West experience on your next visit to Park CIty.

Sincerely...

Ted Russell
Boosway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal and Great Booze”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

A friend and I went here hoping to have dinner but we were informed that the restaurant was full for the night and no slots were open as the entire night was already booked. We went into the bar area and were surprised by the huge crowd packed into the place. We did get two spots at the bar within about 15 minutes and ordered the dried meat/potatoes and fondue appetizer for both of us. Between two large guys we couldn't finish the appetizers. I tasted several of their whiskeys and had a great time. The staff was a bit harried and overworked as they were trying to take care of several customers at once but despite this they were excellent. We went on a Thursday night expecting it to be a bit sedate but it was anything but. I think a dinner reservation would be key to having a quieter experience. However, if you want a boisterous evening jammed into a hopping bar, go to the bar.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighWest, Manager at High West Distillery & Saloon, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Bill...

Thanks for your persistence and patience around navigating your way to the bar and settling in. The winter has been fun yet full of folks every night and we're glad we were able to accommodate you and your friend. The Charcuterie and Fondue are a dynamic combo and will satisfy most appetites.

Thanks for your review and please come visit us again the next time you're in town from Jackson: summer's are a bit more casual - live music every Wednesday night! We'll have a whiskey waiting for you!

Cheers...

Ted Russell
Boosway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High West Distillery & Saloon also viewed

Park City, Wasatch Range
Park City, Wasatch Range
 
Park City, Wasatch Range
Park City, Wasatch Range
 
Park City, Wasatch Range
Park City, Wasatch Range
 

Been to High West Distillery & Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing