We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with very fine service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis Deer Valley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The St. Regis Deer Valley to your Saves list
The St. Regis Deer Valley
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 Deer Valley Drive East, Park City, UT 84060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3rd Night Free & Credit
Ranked #9 of 59 Hotels in Park City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Charlottesville VA USA
Level Contributor
124 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great hotel with very fine service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

I was here as part of a business meeting which took place mostly on property. While some of the quirks such as personal cars and airport van service can only take you only to the funicular at the bottom of the hill, it actually works very well. Hotel staff get the bags from the drop off to your room very efficiently. Food, service, beverage, breakout snacks were all top notch. The rooms were very modern and comfortable. And while it wasn't cheap, we thought it was a very good value. We will be back.

While it generally executed flawlessly, the there two quirks that I was surprised to see. The in room Internet only seemed to like one device at a time even when I had a code. So connecting the iPad with code i was given when i first logged on the laptop disconnected the laptop. Many hotels tell you that your Internet service covers 3 devices. I also found it disconcerting that while the staff wore uniforms and name tags, the managers did not. Some them were in suits with open collars and no apparent ID. Maybe I'm paranoid in this post-9/11 world we live in, but when the bartenders would step out to fetch something, the presumed managers would go behind the bar and start doing things unseen.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank JTworldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
135 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Check in was just a little insulting.
Becasue I took a cab from the airport I was dropperd at the bottom of the Funicular. Limos and town cars are allowed to go to the hotel entrance, but not cabs.
There was no one to help with the bags. When you get to the hotel on the funicular you are on the third floor, check in is on the first. No one there either to help with the bags. But, I was charged a $10 porter fee at check in!
I asked the front desk if they were aware there were no porters to be found. Yes, was the response, but we charge you anyway.
Are you kidding me? Not how I like to start a stay at an over priced hotel.

This is supposed to be a super hotel, at least the price would lead you to believe that. I spent three nights there and it is OK, not what I consider a super hotel, but nice.
It is on the small side; one restaurant, one bar, a very small gym, a lobby/sitting area that is on the small side for a three hundred room hotel. The lobby and common areas must be mobbed during ski season.
The staff tries very hard, but for a St Regis they fall a little short. They are 80% there for a hotel of this reputation.
My car to the airport, I had reserved a day earlier, was no where to be found and the desk did not have a record of the request. They did arrange a car but come on, at a St Regis, they can't get a car ordered?!?!
The rooms are ok, nothing special. TVchannel selection was just ok.
Prices for room service and the restauranty were sky high.
Wine, drinks, crazy expensive. $19 for a glass of a wine I know is $17 a bottle, retail.

Honestly, a JW Marriot or a nice boutique would have been as good as this but a lot less money.

Room Tip: The fourth floor has rooms with a nice, big shared patio overlooking the mountain. 431 was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjmacdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisDeerValley, General Manager at The St. Regis Deer Valley, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear sjmacdee,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. I hope you understand we had no intention of making you feel insulted by our arrival process. Our upper hotel entrance is located inside of the Deer Crest community and with that comes very limited access to vehicles not being driven by home owners or hotel staff. Therefore we created a second hotel entrance outside the community to better accommodate our guests.

Allow me to apologize for a staff member not being present to assist you with your luggage and any other aspects of your stay that did not meet your expectations. It is certainly not the norm for the standard I have set for this property.

We certainly hope you will return and allow us to deliver a true St. Regis experience.

Sincerely,
Stan Kaminski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Firstly, the service is very accommodating and attentive. They really made us feel welcome and valued. However, some of the staff seem very green and often didn't know the answers to our questions. Location is close to town but wedged in a small valley with underwhelming views of a parking lot on one side and some hills on the other. If you don't mind being further from town, Montage has nicer views and is tucked away in a more picturesque mountainside. On the upside, our suite was spacious and beautifully appointed with 2 fireplaces and a full kitchen. The main restaurant JG makes high quality food but the menu is woefully limited (in summer anyway). The outside terrace is pretty and the 6:30 champagne sabre ceremony is a nice way to welcome the night.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in even numbers face the entrance but it's pretty quiet given the waterfall that mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reallypickylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

My husband and I traveled to Park City - our first summer visit - and had a great time! The hotel is beautiful and the food at J&G Grill was excellent. We dined downtown at Silver and Talisker on Main, and also at the Montage - J&G blew them away. Service at the restaurant was quite good, service around the hotel was ok (more like a 3 out of 5 stars for butler and check-in). What would have made this a 5 star experience would have been an upgrade (we are gold SPG members), I know the hotel was quite empty - I never quite understand why hotels don't go the extra mile with that.

Would highly recommend a mountain local biking lesson, day trip to Sundance, and a guided early morning hike (concierge can arrange it all)!

We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ricey33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Stayed at the St. Regis from July 11-13, 2012 for our wedding anniversary. Room 527. The grounds, facilities, pool, and restaurant are incredible, and all of this is set in a secluded area in Deer Valley. Staff was extraordinarily professional and helpful. Our suite simply excellent. Overall, the best summer hotel in Park City.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Just returned from a 5 night stay at this hotel. Booked a Grand Deluxe level room and requested a balcony. Upon check-in were told that all the balcony rooms were taken. We received a room with a juliette balcony. The room was nice, but the view seemed pretty ordinary. It was a 5th floor with a view of the mountain. Not sure it was worth the premium above a standard room.

Overall we had a very nice stay, but it wasn't 5-Star service. What makes a hotel really special is flawless execution. This is where the St. Regis Deer Valley fell short.

No coffee maker in the room. The book of services in the room indicated coffee/tea was available in the lobby until 10:00 every morning. Went down several mornings at 9:30 or 9:45 only to find the coffee/tea gone. Or if not gone, the sterno flame underneath had gone out and the coffee luke warm. One morning all the cups were gone. After the 3rd time called to address our concern. Was told room service would bring tea to our room. One hour later and it never arrived so we left without it.

At check-in we were asked what newspaper we wanted to receive. We requested the WSJ. Every day received a different newspaper and some days didn't receive one. Why bother asking if you can't deliver?

Turn down service at night was spotty. Some nights they assumed one person was in the room and only one side of the bed prepped. Other nights, both sides prepped. I know, these are small things.... but we began to expect mediocre service mid-way through the trip.

Had lunch at J&G one day. Food was ok, but dessert was very good. $75 for lunch for two (no alcohol) seemed a little high, even for a resort.

Overall we had a very nice stay, just some details that need to be worked out. We really appreciated having the car service available to drive us to Main Street. Loved being able to ride the funicular down to the base and take the chair lift mountain biking.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johncindyaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The St. Regis Deer Valley, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear johncidyaz,

Firstly, thank you for commenting on your recent stay at St. Regis Deer Valley. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your overall stay. However, I am disappointed to hear we fell short, on many accounts, of the bespoke and uncompromising service we have set as a standard for our staff.

Allow me to apologize for the coffee, turn down, room type, newspaper, and any other aspect of the hotel that did not exceed your expectation. Let me simply say that all of us here at St. Regis Deer Valley are able to provide a much better and more bespoke experience for our guests than what you have had the misfortune of experiencing.

Sincerely,
Stan Kaminski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Amazing hotel! Loved everything about it, including the transportation into Park City. Basil vodka lemonades by the pool were awesome as well. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jade9700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Park City hotels
2.4 mi away
Montage Deer Valley
Montage Deer Valley
#4 of 59 in Park City
4.5 of 5 stars 640 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Chateaux Deer Valley
The Chateaux Deer Valley
#5 of 59 in Park City
4.5 of 5 stars 444 reviews
1.3 mi away
Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Washington School House Hotel
2.5 mi away
Hotel Park City
Hotel Park City
#2 of 59 in Park City
4.5 of 5 stars 673 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hyatt Centric Park City
Hyatt Centric Park City
#15 of 59 in Park City
4.5 of 5 stars 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Deer Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Deer Valley

Address: 2300 Deer Valley Drive East, Park City, UT 84060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Park City
#4 Spa Hotel in Park City
#7 Luxury Hotel in Park City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Park City
#13 Family Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Deer Valley 5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the slopes of Deer Valley, The St. Regis Deer Valley combines understated elegance with mountain ambiance. As the only resort in North America with a funicular and true slope side ski access, The St. Regis Deer Valley experience is incomparable. With its award-winning Jean-Georges' restaurant J&G Grill, a 14,000 square-foot spa, split-level infinity pool, ski valet service, and year-round family traditions and recreational activities, unique and memorable experiences are waiting at every turn. this hotel and resort is the perfect location for skiing and vacations. We also offer amazing event space for conferences, weddings, and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Starwood, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The St. Regis Deer Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Deer Valley Hotel Park City
The St. Regis Deer Valley Park City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing