We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Right next to the lifts of Park City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver King Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Silver King Hotel
Ranked #30 of 60 Hotels in Park City
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Right next to the lifts of Park City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

This is a great hotel to spend a week skiing at the Park City resorts. We just spent a great ski holiday staying here and would highly recommend Silver King for the following features:
- Good size kitchen area in the room
- Laundry facilities in the rooms (fantastic if you are mid way through your holiday!)
- A fireplace where you can get a fire log from the supermarket
- Large rooms
- Great pool area with a funky indoor / outdoor pool kept at 94 deg F
- Free shuttle to take you around Park City

Some of the bad features however are:
- Rooms and hotel decor as a whole still seems a bit dated even after a facelift
- Front desk staff can be a bit hit and miss - some were good, some not so good.
- Kitchen may lack a few useful items like tongs, a good sharp knife (we bought our own after one night of cutting misery).
- Bathrooms are a bit dark with heavy shower curtains
- Internet very expensive - head into town instead.

Most of these bad features can be easily overlooked.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weswj95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    71
    42
    24
    12
See reviews for
106
88
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2009

Stayed for five nights at the Silver King in early Feb 2009. As everyone states, the location is great. A short walk to the slopes. Right down the street from the main resort area so it is on all the bus lines (and there's a great free bus system) with very easy access to Main Street. And covered secure parking under the hotel.

But we were very disappointed in our room, #319. Splurged on a hot tub one bedroom suite but the room furnishings were substandard. It is a nice big space but this unit is in desperate need of updating. The first sight inside the room is the range in the kitchen. This appliance (along with the microwave) was at least 25 years old. The kitchen utensils, cookware, plates, cups, etc. were sparse, old, and not particularly clean. The bedding and much of the decor were dated and definitely not would you would expect in luxury accommodations.

We spoke with the evening manager immediately after check in and described the issues with the room. He shrugged and stated that all units are individually owned and he "doesn't have all the units memorized." No offer to change our room (or look at the room). We should have insisted. Spoke with the desk at check out and wrote a detailed feedback to the management company, but no one involved appears interested in customer satisfaction. Very disappointing.

There's many lodging options in Park City - don't take a chance on Silver King.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTraveler42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2009

We stayed in Park City at the Silver King over New Year's Eve. It is located across the parking lot from the slopes and shops which was great. They offer free shuttle service to downtown and other ski resorts like Deer Valley (although not all the staff is aware of this or too knowledgable about what the resort offers on their own website). We shared a room with friends, we had a pull out couch in the living room, 1 bedroom, kitchen, 2 bathrooms and a hot tub with its own room and great view (the best part of the room). It was very comfortable for 4.

Our stay was great and I would definitely recommend the hotel based on it's location and accomadations. The only thing I think they could improve on is the staff. While everyone was super nice and tried to be helpful they were not knowledgable about what services they were supposed to provide. We had to argue that we were supposed to receive robes and coffee refills and had to show them the brochure FROM THE ROOM itself that said we were supposed to get free shuttle service to Deer Valley. Once made aware of these factors they were more than willing to accomadate us. I think that management could do a better job of training thier staff, but overall we did have a wonderful stay here.

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
Thank travellover1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2009

My wife and two boys, ages 11 and 14 recently stayed at the Silver King, Feb. 5-10th. We arrived in Utah at 1030am and used All Resorts for transportation to the hotel which took about 30 minutes by van. Pretty convenient for a ski destination. This was our first time skiing in Utah. If you go to parkcityinfo.com website, you can find a deal for free skiing if you bring your boarding pass, ID, and some form from the website ( although I think they had them at the ticket booths). We were skiing by 1pm.
The hotel staff was always friendly, although there are not many of them at any one time. I think most of the rooms were condominium style. We were in a two bedroom condo with spa ( hot tub in room) . There were two bathrooms, each with its own shower. The master bath also had a jacuzzi tub which we did not use as we had the awesome hot tub. One of my boys slept in the 2nd bedroom and the other slept on the pullout futon sofabed. The futon mattress had some funky stains on it but it was covered by a clean bottom sheet. The kitchen had enough amenities which we mostly used for breakfast and snacks. There is a free shuttle, that we used frequently, that takes you almost anywhere, within reason, that you would want to go. We went out to dinner and to the store. You just call them when you are done and they come pick you up. We never had to wait long, but it was a slow week when we were there. I tipped the driver at the end of our stay.
Skiing was excellent at Park City, but we liked Deer Valley better as we thought that the layout was better.
The only two negatives that we found with the hotel was the following: If it snows, then a large, loud, tractor plows the parking lot between 3 and 7am. The tractor bucket scrapes along the ground and then backs up continuously with loud beeping. This goes on for almost 1 hour and makes sleeping difficult. We had 3 nights of snow so sleeping was tough for everybody. The hotel is right next to the parking lot. We were on the 2nd floor, which is even with the parking lot. If staying again, I would ask for a room on the 3rd or 4th floor and as far from the parking lot as possible. Also, the heating system, which worked well, was also loud as it rumbled thru wooden coverings. We would turn down the heat at night so that it onlly went on sporadically at most. These were the reasons that I would not give it 5 stars. Great location, otherwise, not far from park city base lifts. One more thing. If you don't have a hot tub in the room, the pool and hot tub in the hotel is excellent as my kids went there almost daily. Also, there is free wifi in the room that was decent, not great.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neuromax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2009

We had a great weekend with our young kids in Park City. They loved the pool, especially the outdoor side which allowed them to jump in the snow then back into the pool. The skiing is just across the parking lot which made it so convenient for short breaks from the mountain. Our two bedroom unit was so much larger than expected and I loved the wood burning fireplace. The staff was very polite and accommodating. We'll be back next year!

  • Liked — The pool for the kids and location by the mountain resort
  • Disliked — Sharper knives in the kitchen.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Mommyoftwo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2009

Traveling with wife and 3 kids (11, 9, 6) to ski. The hotel room is big, along with a good kitchen. Market is 1/2 mile from hotel.

The hotel also has a small but very charming swimming pool (half is indoor, half is outdoor) and a jacuzzi. After skiing, perfect place for the entire family.

You just have to cross a small parking lot in order to reach the Park City Mountain Resort and start skiing.

  • Liked — The size of the room, its location, its swimming pool
  • Disliked — I liked everything
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sweiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2009

My family of four (2 kids ages 9 and 6) stayed at the Silver King over the christmas holidays up until new years. We had a great time! You cannot beat the location! And the amenities, although simple, were perfect for us! After a long day of skiing right in your own backyard, we loved the pool. Our unit was a 2 bedroom -- the full kitchen was great for hearty breakfasts or for making a simple dinner after a long day. The suite was HUGE and it was great having the kids have their own bathroom! This sure made it easy to get ready in the morning. After a good breakfast, we simply walked across a parking lot to get to the main lift and activities. Lockers on site were handy although we didnt make use of them because we used the ski valet at the mountain. The staff was quite friendly and helpful. My only criticisim would be the front desk -- because it is such a small place, they seem understaffed and don't always pick up the front desk phone. But it is simple enough just to walk to the desk. We loved being so close to the hill but far enough away that it was quiet at night. Our room was located at the end of the hall so it was even more quiet!! We had a great time.

  • Liked — Proximity to ski hills!!
  • Disliked — Surrounded by parking lots so at night the snowplows were quite noisy when cleaning.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TO-ski-mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Park City hotels
0.1 mi away
The Lodge at the Mountain Village by ASRL
3.3 mi away
Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort
5.0 mi away
Newpark Resort & Hotel
Newpark Resort & Hotel
#12 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 stars 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Park City Marriott
Park City Marriott
#19 of 60 in Park City
4.0 of 5 stars 689 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marriott's MountainSide
Marriott's MountainSide
#8 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 stars 472 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Chateaux Deer Valley
The Chateaux Deer Valley
#4 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 stars 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver King Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver King Hotel

Property: Silver King Hotel
Address: 1485 Empire Ave, Park City, UT 84060-5112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 60 Hotels in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver King Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):

Located just steps from the PayDay lift at the base of Park City Mountain Resort, you'll find sophisticated mountain luxury wrapped in local mining nostalgia, with hundreds of historic mining artifacts and photos thoughtfully placed throughout the hotel's halls and common areas.

Each and every studio and 1-to-4 bedroom condominium at the Silver King has a full-sized kitchen, and honest-to-goodness real wood-burning fireplaces. Guests also enjoy our indoor/outdoor pool, concierge services, complimentary ski lockers, heated underground parking, and close proximity to the restaurants, boutiques, galleries, and nightlife of Park City's Historic Main Street. Additionally, the Park City Municipal Golf Course is just steps away, and transforms into a cross country skier's dream in winter, winding through rolling low hills and snow-tipped old growth trees.

Whether you're considering a cozy weekend getaway for two, or a rejuvenating extended stay for the whole family, the Silver King Hotel is a magical and timeless place where you're sure to make memories that last a lifetime.

... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Silver King Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver King Park City
Hotel Silver King
Silver King Hotel Park City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing