We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient and friendly accommodations.”
Review of Silver King Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Silver King Hotel
Ranked #31 of 60 Hotels in Park City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The Silver King is within walking distance of the Payday Lift at Park City Mountain resort. The city shuttle bus stops are right outside the main entrance. They also have a courtesy van that can take you throughout Park City proper, which is wonderful. I found all of the front desk representatives to be very nice and helpful, as well as the courtesy van driver. The only thing keeping this from a five star rating is that my room seemed a bit worn out - paint peeling in the bathroom, and cabinetry in need of being refinished. The furnishings however seemed new. I'd stay here again, and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda B, General Manager at Silver King Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Thank you for your feedback! I greatly appreciate it. I'm very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and my staff was friendly and helpful. If you want to ensure you get an updated unit book a premium versus a standard unit. We look forward to seeing you again soon and thank you for recommending us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 291 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Our room is a little run down, but the location can't be beat! The shuttle bus stops right outside the door. Clean pool. What else can one ask for!! Super convenient for running back and forth for dropping stuff off. One bedroom suite had two full baths, perfect for a family of five.

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank tzhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda B, General Manager at Silver King Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Thank you for your feedback! I'm happy to hear you enjoyed staying with us! If you want to ensure you have an updated unit book a premium and not a standard. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Brian at the front desk is the only reason I'm giving silver king 5 stars!
I much appreciate everything u did! I look forward to traveling here again in the up coming month ahead. If weren't for Brian my vacation would start off on the wrong foot which would dictate the rest of our vacation. Can't thank Brian enough! I own a small business in NY In the jewelry watch industry and if there is ever a time I could return the favor I would b more then happy to do so.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank ssaatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda B, General Manager at Silver King Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Thank you for your review about Brian! He has been rewarded for his excellent guest service. Thank you for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

The Silver King shouldn't be called a hotel, it should be described as a time machine. As soon as you walk through the front doors, it's like you're magically transported to the 80's. It's like a museum of artifacts from the late 20th century. - complete with grey woodgrain paneling, track lighting, and what looks like the actual couch from the show The Prince of Bel Air. In fact, the microwave in our room might have been the very first model ever invented.

All joking aside, the hotel is ideally situated near the ski resort in Park City. If you aren't familiar with the area, keep in mind that many hotels that you'll find on travel websites will often times suggest hotels down in Kimball Junction or Heber City (which are both about 20 minutes away). The Silver King is situated a bit too far from Main Street to walk, but an economical cab ride will get you there in no time (just don't pay more than $12, they may try to charge you more). The hotel is very outdated, but you're paying more for the location than the hip decor. We went during Sundance, so we severely overpaid for our room (hence my heightened feeling of cynicism).

Pros:
Location
Indoor/outdoor pool, so you can take a dip year round.
Secure, covered free parking

Cons:
Horrible pillows
Awesomely 80's decor
Pricey for what you get

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLC-Sammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda B, General Manager at Silver King Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

This review is inappropriate and incorrect for the most part. When you first walk into the hotel all the decor has been updated including nice leather couches, chairs and a beautiful fireplace that is only a few years old. There is a theme of the Park City heritage and culture with the silver mining that boomed here back in the 1860s. Hence the name, "Silver King Hotel". We have lots of cool artifacts and pictures from that time. It actually is pretty cool and interesting to most. In general, guests love it.
The units are all privately owned and we have Premium or Standard units. The Premium units are all updated and beautiful. The Standard units have at least minimum standards or we will not allow them to participate in our rental program. Yes, some are out dated but they are not horrible by any means.
During the Sundance Film Festival the prices are higher due to the towns demand and we are right in line with our competitors.
I'm sorry you did not have a wonderful experience staying with us. If you want to ensure you stay in a nice updated unit be sure to book a Premium unit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This is an updated review, based on steps taken by management after our many complaints.

Booked the hotel based on location (5 minute walk to the lifts at Park City Mt.) and pretty good reviews. The problem is that this hotel is made up of individually owned units of varying sizes and levels of upkeep. Reading some of the reviews shows that some of the units are nice and well-maintained, but we unfortunately got a lemon. We paid hundreds of dollars per night (over Christmas they can price gouge you all over Park City) for a room that was so poorly maintained it is almost comical (oven door came off in my hand, shower stall door fell off the track when you tried to close it, coffee pot handle came apart, and so on). Except it really wasn't.

Biggest two issues: first we paid a LOT of money to have our own hot tub in our room. When we arrived it was working properly but soon broke before we even got to use it. After several calls the maintenance person showed up, opened the panel in front of the unit, tried several things to get it to work. He got the light to turn on that was it. He mentioned that they have had problems with it, but obviously didn't spend any money to actually fix it. Totally unacceptable to charge extra for an amenity that is not working. We complained every day and it finally got fixed two days before we left.

Second big issue, the thermostat in the living room doesn't work. Instead of being able to set the temperature, you have to choose between having it on where it heats the room to about 85 degrees so you are sweating sitting there or freezing if you turn it off. Again, maintenance admits there is a problem, but couldn’t seem to fix it. On the day we left, they were still trying to get parts to fix it. Never worked the whole time we were there.

Other issues that maybe in themselves could be overlooked, but on top of the other issues, really ruined our stay here. The oven door handle came off in my hand when I tried to open the door, obviously broken and poorly glued back on. The kitchen is poorly stocked. No containers to warm up anything in the microwave, nothing with covers. There are two bathrooms, in the first one the drain doesn't drain so after a few minutes you are standing in water. In the second bathroom, the right side of the sliding door doesn't move. If you try to force it, it comes off the track. Blinds in the master bedroom don't work, you have to stand on a chair and manually turn each panel (there are 30). Kids were very excited to see a foos ball table in the room, but there is no ball anywhere and the front desk doesn't have extra. I could go on and on, but you get the picture. Troublesome little things that are just an inconvenience if there are one or two, but when there are this many, it just makes you furious.

There are some good things about the room and hotel. The size of the room was very nice (we got a two-bedroom, two bath unit). Bathrooms had good hot water and pressure. The indoor-outdoor pool is nice, the kids really enjoyed swimming under the door to the outside where your body is nice and warm and the air is cool on your face. There is a small game room with a pool table and a few arcade games. There is a small workout room, one of the few machines had an “out of service” sign on it.

They offer a free shuttle service into town where they will drop you off and pick you up; drivers were very friendly and helpful. Room price includes underground parking so you don’t have to clean snow and ice off the windshield, but there are limited spaces (we didn’t move our car much so wasn’t an issue for us although I could see it being a problem if you came in late at night).

The level of cleaning done prior to us arriving was minimal at best. They have been good about putting all our dishes in the dishwasher while we are out and restocking the room, but no vacuuming, dusting or other basic cleaning functions done the whole week. One pet peeve of mine is there is a sign saying if you don’t want us to replace your towels each day, hang them up on the rack (a good environmental practice that I always abide by). However, no matter where I put the towels to show I would be using them again, they gave me new ones.

At first I was impressed by the level of responsiveness and friendliness by the staff, until I realized after 3 days here, nothing has been repaired even after calling downstairs and going in person to try and get things fixed.

Update Post Visit: The manager did eventually hear about all the issues we were having (somehow her staff did not relay this to her in a timely manner). By Day 4, the unit had been cleaned, oven door handle glued back on, new coffee pot provided, door handle ring glued back on, new replacement foos ball bought, bathroom drains and doors fixed. Appreciated all of that. Hot tub was fixed by Day 5. Still broken: blinds in bedroom, thermostat in living room. Kitchen still needs to be better stocked such as containers to heat up food in the microwave. To her credit, the manager did refund part of the cost of our room and left a nice gift basket with a note of apology.

Bottom line: Renters beware. Might want to ask which room you will be assigned and if there have been maintenance problems.

Room Tip: Avoid units with hot tubs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlmaER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda B, General Manager at Silver King Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

To all of you taking note of this review, this is a very rare situation and please take it with a grain of salt. Yes there were a lot of things that went wrong with this unit but most of the issues were not reported the first couple of days so we could not take care of them if we didn't know about them. A couple of the issues were reported right away (the thermostat and the hot tub). The issue was, we could not fix them because we had to order the parts. They had heat but it wouldn't turn off automatically and you had to do it manually. This was not well communicated to the guest and I have already addressed all of the communication issues with the employees involved. The other issues in the unit were taken care of when they were reported. I did feel extremely bad for the guests and I wanted to make it right. I gave them 50%, about $1,400 off their entire week long stay, along with other things. Once our team was aware of the issues they were having, we all did the best we could too make them happy. I'm very sorry they didn't enjoy their stay and had so many issues, but if you look at all the other reviews, this is very, very rare that this would happen and if it did, we would take care of you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Booked off Expedia.com and got a fabulous discount for 5 nights in a studio room (queen bed and a pull out sofa bed) for our family of 3 ( includes child aged 7). Arrived late due to storm and was quickly checked in (prepaid but credit card imprint taken in case of damage etc). Our room was 317 just one floor up from reception (and along from the pool area). Acceptable size with adequate furnishings. Clean and functional with bureau of drawers and wardrobe for storage. There was an open fireplace (we didn't use), washing machine and dryer (no laundry powder although washing detergent was supplied for the dishwasher), coffee machine and filters and full kitchen amenities.
Very cosy, warm and comfortable. Excellent quality bedding. Bathroom featured a spa bath and overhead shower.

The location alone makes this property highly rated IMHO. The exit off our floor leads directly to PCMR parking and after about 100m walk (slight incline) you are at the ski resort. We rented our gear from Aloha (early bird and on line savings) and they have 2 stores within the resort and benefitted from being able to leave skies and poles with them overnight (plus free lockers to store shoes etc throughout the day). This makes for a very easy and stress-free experience.

Each evening we returned to Silver King Hotel for time in the pool area. Large hot tub, sauna and heated swimming pool that is uniquely indoor/outdoor. Leave the glass enclosed indoor pool area by swimming under a curtain barrier and you find yourself in a deep outdoor pool surrounded by snow! Very cool feature that our daughter really enjoyed.

There is a 7-Eleven just a block away were you can purchase supplies and the Park City transport authority buses stop outside the hotel entrance (and Big Fresh supermarket is just a 7 minute ride away. We took the Pink line bus to Walmart (20 minutes) for a big grocery shop.

The rooms/apartments at Silver King are owned by individuals who rent them out so each is different. We had no complaints at all about our room. House keeping will change towels, make beds, empty trash etc daily. I did think the air conditioning (heating) was exceptionally loud and would often turn it off at night (and it did warm the room quickly each morning when turned it back on).
Recommend to others

Room Tip: If you prefer privacy from your kids make sure to get a 2 room apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AWoodbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda B, General Manager at Silver King Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a wonderful detailed review. I really appreciate all of the feedback. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you come back and visit us again soon! Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We took the family on an inexpensive mid-season holiday to Park City and stayed at the Silver King Resort. We stayed in a 2 bedroom condo that was amazing! Very spacious, amazing view and just a short drive to downtown. Check it out next time you need a place to take a holiday!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda B, General Manager at Silver King Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

I'm so thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed staying with us! Thank you for taking the time to write your 5 star review! We hope you come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Park City hotels
0.1 mi away
The Lodge at the Mountain Village by ASRL
0.6 mi away
Marriott's Summit Watch
Marriott's Summit Watch
#9 of 60 in Park City
630 reviews
1.1 mi away
Treasure Mountain Inn Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village
0.2 mi away
Marriott's MountainSide
Marriott's MountainSide
#11 of 60 in Park City
596 reviews
1.0 mi away
Park City Peaks Hotel
Park City Peaks Hotel
#24 of 60 in Park City
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver King Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver King Hotel

Address: 1485 Empire Ave, Park City, UT 84060-5112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 60 Hotels in Park City
Price Range: $92 - $533 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver King Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just steps from the PayDay lift at the base of Park City Mountain Resort, you'll find sophisticated mountain luxury wrapped in local mining nostalgia, with hundreds of historic mining artifacts and photos thoughtfully placed throughout the hotel's halls and common areas. Each and every studio and 1-to-4 bedroom condominium at the Silver King has a full-sized kitchen, and honest-to-goodness real wood-burning fireplaces. Guests also enjoy our indoor/outdoor pool, concierge services, complimentary ski lockers, heated underground parking, and close proximity to the restaurants, boutiques, galleries, and nightlife of Park City's Historic Main Street. Additionally, the Park City Municipal Golf Course is just steps away, and transforms into a cross country skier's dream in winter, winding through rolling low hills and snow-tipped old growth trees. Whether you're considering a cozy weekend getaway for two, or a rejuvenating extended stay for the whole family, the Silver King Hotel is a magical and timeless place where you're sure to make memories that last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Silver King Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver King Park City
Hotel Silver King
Silver King Hotel Park City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing