We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village
Ranked #16 of 60 Hotels in Park City
Certificate of Excellence
Murrieta, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

I stayed at the Canyons Resort (Sundial Lodge) in late July 2013. Our whole experience was great! The rooms are awesome as well as the views and the overall location of the place. We had a great time and we'd stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: While staying at the Sundial Lodge, we were there with a large group staying in various rooms... All...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisSr24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian B, General Manager at Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank your for your wonderful review and excellent photos. You summed up our company goals perfectly. Great rooms, great views, great location. And we do it all for our great guests! I hope you chose Sundial Lodge again in the future. We would love to have you back.


Brian Bell
General Manager
All Seasons Resort Lodging
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    119
    39
    25
    17
See reviews for
160
110
12
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lynchburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

My room was booked for me, but it was great. I was extremely happy with accommodation. The only complaint I have is we had an "owner room" and the front desk for those rooms was only available during a limited time span during the day which was inconvenient if you needed anything outside of those hours.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian B, General Manager at Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. We have recently expanded our front desk hours. We also have a 24 hour after hours service with staff that can be on site within 15 minutes if they cannot help you over the phone. I apologize if this was not communicated to you when you checked in. I am glad to hear you were happy with your accommodations and we look forward to seeing you again.


Brian Bell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The room was extremely comfortable with the airconditioning, the king bed cushy, soft sheets and pillows, and the best surprise was having the smallest kitchenette that provided us with every amenity to have warm or cold food....dishware, silverware, kitchen towels, microwave, toaster, coffee maker, and refrigerator. HOWEVER,,,,the refrig didn't have a freezer, and we bought ice cream.

Elisabeth at front desk was amazing. SHe made our dinner reservations, then helped us with our dinner order when we late

Room Tip: We had room C-307A. A King bed large room. Loved it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArlaJFunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile


Sundial lodge
Park city , Utah

Got a deal from groupon but when I called to make my booking i was told that d date that I wanted is fully booked for d standard accomodation but for an additional fee i can have an upgraded unit, for which i did. We checked in to B501B which is a one bedroom unit with a pull out sofa couch where d kids slept.
D unit looks new with modern furnishing . Full kitchen with microwave, stove , fridge , coffemaker n dishwasher , Granite countertop. Full kitchen utensils provided . We made breakfast in d unit n eat out for lunch n dinner . Big Flat screen tv in d room n in d living space . Electric fireplace . Bathroom spacious with a jacuzzi tub which we used on r last night stay. Location is very central in canyon resort. walking distance to all d restaurants, stores n activities. Near redpine gondola n a few more steps is d waldorf gondola. D only negative - rm package comes with wine n expected to see it in d room on arrival but I had to remind d front desk several times about it n eventually had to pick it up from d desk on check out . Overall , will definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OrlandoRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian B, General Manager at Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your descriptive review. Our upgraded units have all the best to offer and the location can't be beat for quick access to mountain activities. We do normally keep wine at the front desk in order to allow guests to make their wine choice at check in. I apologize we didn't communicate this better when you arrived. Please keep an eye out for more Groupon specials at other All Season Resort properties as well as Travel Zoo specials we will be having here at Sundial. We look forward to seeing you again!

Brian Bell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Great hotel, nice room. It was much cheaper than the grand summit but just as comfortable. The bed was so comfortable. The jacuzzi tub was great but loud. The pool was small but the kids loved it. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathyinsolvang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall S, General Manager at Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We're really pleased to hear you were able to take advantage of our great rates. We take pride in our comfortable rooms and the great value we offer them at. We too are looking forward to your return trip with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and 2 younger kids stayed here the end of June 2013 and it was a terrible experience. The staff is horrible, lazy and plays the dumb card anytime you ask for something. We went to the pool the first night and there were no towels, there were a dozen people waiting over an hour for them. We also tried to sit at the fire pit, which was broke. We were told when booking the reservation that there was an arcade room for the kids, there is not! We were told that our reservation included 4 gondola passes to the mtn bike park at the top of the mtn, it did not! We were told there was a roof top pool on the same floor as our room, there is but I would let my dog swim in that water, it was so dirty! The rooms have zero sound protection, we could hear everything our neighbors were doing! The second night it got so loud next door that we had to call security at 11 p.m., my 8 year old could've done a better job than they did. We were there 3 days, 2 nights and were never given new towels or had house keeping tidy up things. I have stayed in cheap motels in small towns that were more accommodating than this place. The staff claims that there was a buy out recently and the new owners were at fault. I don't know what the reason was, I don't care! I will never stay here again nor would I ever refer this place to any friends or family. It's kind of sad because the rooms were decent and the views were great but nothing can make up for poor customer service. And as a side note the resteraunts nearby were horrible, service was as good as the hotel and was extremely over priced. I don't usually write reviews, especially if its negative but this place ruined a good family vacation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank justaddsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall S, General Manager at Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We're also unhappy with how your vacation turned out and are disappointed we weren't able to correct these issues for you the moment we checked in. We aim to give the absolute best in customer service, a part of which we feel is promptly addressing any issue or concern of yours at all. We'd love an opportunity to rectify the concerns and encourage you to contact us at your earliest convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

I enjoyed my stay. It's not in the same class as St. Regis or the Waldorf-Astoria, so I'm not sure what people are expecting. If you want more, pay for it. Overall, this was a very great place. We had a two-bedroom suite.

Clean rooms, comfortable sleeping conditions, convenient location, attentive staff, underground covered parking, nice kitchen. My only issues with our kitchen were the little storage space for non-perishable groceries (the cupboards were near capacity with pots/pans/kitchen utensils/ etc). The other issue was that more than two people can't be in the kitchen or it gets crowded.

The bedrooms were great, with very comfortable pillows and beds. The couch even folded out for an additional third bed. One bad set up was with the TV, which was recessed into the wall with cupboard doors blocking the side view. You pretty much had to be at the table for a straight on view of the TV screen. The view was blocked if you were on the couch, except for one end. But we weren't there to watch TV, so not a big deal, but might be more of a pain if you were there in the winter with shorter daylight hours and wanted to watch a movie on the couch.

I had a great experience with the overall service and found it to be excellent. No problems at all. Our housekeeping was fantastic. I asked them for two towels and within a couple of minutes there was a knock at the door. Surprised me. Check in and out was easy.

We had a great time taking the gondola up to Red Pine. There were several mountain bikers that were fun to watch. We hiked up to the lake, to take my 4-year-old niece on a paddle boat and were glad we followed the staff's recommendation to bring water.

The view from our room was excellent, especially in the morning with the soft light shining on the mountains above. The location is about four miles or so to Main Street, which is fine. But there are several dining and activity options at The Canyons. I even saw a State Liquor Store not far away. The pool isn't huge and is full of families with kids. If you're single and looking to hook up or find a scene, this didn't look like the place.

Overall great spot.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shake801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall S, General Manager at Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We're incredibly happy to hear how wonderful your stay was. We look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Park City hotels
2.7 mi away
Newpark Resort & Hotel
Newpark Resort & Hotel
#12 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Park City
Hyatt Centric Park City
#8 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Lodge at the Mountain Village by ASRL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Chateaux Deer Valley
The Chateaux Deer Valley
#4 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silverado Lodge
Silverado Lodge
#32 of 60 in Park City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
4.0 mi away
Marriott's Summit Watch
Marriott's Summit Watch
#7 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village

Property: Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village
Address: 3720 Sundial Court, Park City, UT 84098
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Park City
#8 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Park City
#10 Romantic Hotel in Park City
#17 Family Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the base of Canyons Resort and just steps away from the Red Pine Gondola, the Sundial is a perfect blend of classic mountain lodge architecture and metropolitan style and sophistication. Choose from our many hotel rooms, studios, 1- and 2-bedroom suites, and even 2-bedroom suites with additional sleeping loft and extra bath. All rooms feature relaxing oversized jetted tubs, and all suites come with full kitchens, warm fireplaces, sofa sleepers, and private balconies to take in the mountain air and sweeping views.

This property also offers unparalleled convenience, being positioned directly above and around the stores, restaurants and ski shop of the picturesque Canyons' Resort Village. Guests also enjoy the heated outdoor pool, rooftop hot tub and plunge pool, complimentary underground parking, and much, much more. Additionally, our complimentary winter shuttle service transports guests within the Canyons Village area and to Historic Main Street, where the most popular boutiques, galleries, restaurants, and nightlife can be found.

... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick and Travelocity so you can book your Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundial Lodge At The Canyons Hotel Park City
Sundial Hotel Park City
Sundial Hotel At The Canyons
Sundial Lodge At Canyons Village Park City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing