We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very nice lodge but...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort
Ranked #16 of 60 Hotels in Park City
Certificate of Excellence
Austin
Level Contributor
102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very nice lodge but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Building feels a bit like a dormitory. Rooms/condos are nice and comfortable. Location is great as you are close to the lifts and lots of places to dine. Only concern is the price, seemed pretty high compared to other ski resorts.

Room Tip: Get a room with a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin H, Manager at Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear valued Sundial guest,

Thank you for your review of the Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the comfort and condition of your room while you were here. Our guests' comfort is of utmost importance to us! Additionally, I see that you were very immpressed with the Farm with which I heartily agree. I am confident that due to your wonderful comments about it more travelers will take the time to stop and enjoy an incredible dining experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back at a future date.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    117
    39
    24
    18
See reviews for
155
108
12
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Sundial is definitely beautifully located, right next to the lift and anything else you might need. The rooms are ordinary, amenities basic. My room did not have a robe, which other rooms had, but it did have a fridge, microwave, coffee machine and toaster, which was really handy. The view of the mountain was the best.

Downside is the lack of service. The maids showed up late, if at all. One day I asked to have them skip cleaning and just bring towels. The gal said she would be right back, and that was the end of that. Never got my towels.

The halls are frequently filled with plastic bags full of sheets and towels, which just sit there until morning.

Elevators were the slowest ever. There are only two and the staff has to use them with the big carts, which slows things down even further.

Front desk was adequate. One fellow, whose name I am sorry I did not get, did make it his business to get my bags from storage as the LONE bellman was busy. Otherwise, it was mediocre. I never felt as if I were a valued guest. And, I'm easy.

I rented my ski gear from Aloha, and am always thrilled with their service and attitude.

Location makes up for all of this, but I do wish training were better for the staff at Sundial and the rest of The Canyons. It would not only be of service to the client, but also to the staff who would only grow if properly trained.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sistahsays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall S, General Manager at Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
We agree our guests deserve the best in customer service and were disappointed to hear about these service issues encountered. We'd love to rectify those issues if this guest contacts us. We do want guests to know we continually retrain our 24-hour staff to ensure we're providing the most reliable customer service in town and are always happy to rectify any issue at all during your stay, service included.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed here with my family this past weekend and enjoyed the convenience of having everything in one place. You could eat, ski and rent without leaving the resort. The rooms were average but had no complaints on the overall appearance or cleanliness of the hotel. We had our young children with us so we did not ski at the resort. We are from Texas and wanted our children to see and play in the snow. We did take our children to Gorgoza Park and loved the park so much we went two days in a row. I would recommend Sundial Lodge and Gorgoza Park to anyone looking for a great family experience in Utah!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank New_Adventure_Seeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin H, Manager at Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Sundial guest,

I am so glad that you discovered all of the fun there was to be had with children at the tubing park just down the road from Canyons Resort! It is always a pleasure to hear a guest comment on the convenience of the hotel's location here at Canyons. Thank you for your kind comments and recommendation. We look forward to having your family back another time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhasset, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We booked our stay through Hotels.com. This resort has TWO management companies. One run by Canyons Resorts and the other is All Seasons Resorts. I would highly recommend NOT USING All Seasons Resorts. They handle the condos that were not updated and do not provide amenties that Canyons Resorts offes.Robe for Hot tub (Apres Ski) not provided by All Seasons but Canyons gave to customers. Our room had no dresser to store clothing, we were there for 5 days and had to leave clothes on dining room table. All Seasons front desk was not helpful and provided no assistance to us. We complained to corporate and still have not received a response. Guess it starts at the top...
The resort itself is perfect for ski in and ski out. We were in a great location for the ski village and enjoyed what was there. It is unfortuante that the resort has two management companies and that Canyons runs the "upgraded" condos and All Seasons has the "outdated" rooms.

Room Tip: Do not use All Season resorts to book a room here. Use Canyons directly for better quality stay and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall S, General Manager at Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
All Seasons Resort Lodging is proud to offer both Standard and Premium condominium options to guests based on individual booking preferences and availability. If guests ever run into missing items in a room we are more than happy to seek an immediate replacement that meets their satisfaction, our 24-hour staff in the lobby simple need to be notified. If this guest contacts us about these issues we'd be more than happy to remedy their concerns for a potential future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seneca, South Carolina
Level Contributor
201 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

First time in Canyons, and first time in Sundial condos. Pretty darn satisfied! We would go back, that is for sure. Most of the rooms in Canyons resort are a short walk to the gondola or bubble lift, however, Sundial is the absolute closest. It is also the closest to the rental shop and lockers, and also to other retail and restaurants. We always stay in hotels or condos which offer ski in and ski out location. For location, this is one of the best we have visited, in Utah and many Colorado resorts. The room was also very nice, very LARGE, clean, modern, and with a great view as well as daily maid service. No complaints about the room or front desk service.
HOWEVER, be WARNED, about the ski rental shop!! If you are renting skis, boots poles, you will be disappointed unless you are a beginner skier, or have feet made of steel! The rental boots are the WORST we have ever used, and we have been renting boots at resorts for ten years. I realize that rentals will never fit or be as comfy as boots you own, however, the boots at Canyons are absolutely TERRIBLE! We paid for the upgraded "high performance" ski package, but the boots are the same as the regular "sport package". The employees in the boot fitting area know this and have no way to make it any better. When we complained of discomfort, their answer was the same to us as it was to others, the boots are "packed" which I take it to mean that all the padding inside the boots is packed down from overuse and/or poor quality, and they can do nothing about it because all their boots are the same. I recommend renting your gear from a ski rental shop in Park City. The Canyons rentals are much more expensive, and the only reason we paid the extra cost was for convenience.

Room Tip: If it's not high season, ask for an upgrade to a larger condo for no charge. We were upgraded f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SCTravelerandskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall S, General Manager at Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Glad to hear you enjoyed our fantastic location right next to the slopes! Although ski rentals are privately booked, our front desks are happy to get guests in touch with one of any number of ski rental shops at the base of the resort. If you don't like your current service, let us find a better one for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Awesome location, beautiful rooms, friendly and helpful staff. It was a great experience overall. Stayed with several people and the room was spacious and accomodating. Could easy walk to lifts - or any of the locations in the resort village. Had a sweet little balcony too. Def worth the cost.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xmcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall S, General Manager at Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We're glad to see your vacation went so well. If we can ever help you enjoy another here in beautiful Park City, let us know!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We spent 5 days in the Sundial, we rented couple of 1 bedroom units with a kitchen. Everything was clean and tidy, one of the rooms had a broken window blind that was not fixed. One of the rooms was a premium room, but the only real difference that we noticed between premium and regular was that the bed was bigger and leather seats.

We did have a minor problem with the rooms when we checked in - and the service team did a fantastic job in taking care of the problem. I would recommend for families. We did find the night life a little slow.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigAlAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian B, General Manager at Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
I'm glad to hear you had a great stay. We do make mistakes from time to time but if you let us know we will remedy them immediately. We look forward to having you back!


Brian Bell
General Manager
All Season Resort Lodging
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Park City hotels
2.7 mi away
Newpark Resort & Hotel
Newpark Resort & Hotel
#10 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 stars 583 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Lodge at the Mountain Village by ASRL
4.0 mi away
Marriott's Summit Watch
Marriott's Summit Watch
#7 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 stars 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Marriott's MountainSide
Marriott's MountainSide
#11 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 stars 493 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Park City
Hyatt Centric Park City
#8 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 stars 566 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Chateaux Deer Valley
The Chateaux Deer Valley
#4 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 stars 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort

Property: Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort
Address: 3720 Sundial Court, Park City, UT 84098
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Park City
#8 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Park City
#10 Romantic Hotel in Park City
#17 Family Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):

Located at the base of Canyons Resort and just steps away from the Red Pine Gondola, the Sundial is a perfect blend of classic mountain lodge architecture and metropolitan style and sophistication. Choose from our many hotel rooms, studios, 1- and 2-bedroom suites, and even 2-bedroom suites with additional sleeping loft and extra bath. All rooms feature relaxing oversized jetted tubs, and all suites come with full kitchens, warm fireplaces, sofa sleepers, and private balconies to take in the mountain air and sweeping views.

This property also offers unparalleled convenience, being positioned directly above and around the stores, restaurants and ski shop of the picturesque Canyons' Resort Village. Guests also enjoy the heated outdoor pool, rooftop hot tub and plunge pool, complimentary underground parking, and much, much more. Additionally, our complimentary winter shuttle service transports guests within the Canyons Village area and to Historic Main Street, where the most popular boutiques, galleries, restaurants, and nightlife can be found.

... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Vacatia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundial Lodge At The Canyons Hotel Park City
Sundial Hotel Park City
Sundial Hotel At The Canyons
Sundial Lodge At Canyons Resort Park City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing