We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfortunate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village
Ranked #16 of 60 Hotels in Park City
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Unfortunate”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We stayed at Sundial Lodge at the Canyons for 5 nights in January because we were attending Sundance Film Festival. We had stayed there previously and really like the location. This time was not as nice as the last. We were given a ground floor room even though we really didn't want one. The front desk clerk was rude when we asked to change and said it just wasn't going to happen. When we returned from being out the first day all the windows and doors were unlocked.
When my husband went skiing one morning while I went ahead to Sundance, he then tried to get a taxi to go meet me in Park City and was told "That's really hard to do: this is Sundance". (they wouldn't call a taxi). When I asked at the desk about tea bags instead of just coffee in the room I was told "this isn't a hotel". When we checked out, I left a $400. sweater hanging on the back of the bathroom door by mistake. I called later that day and was told "the housekeeper did not find anything". I persisted for 2 weeks in trying to get it back, and the security staff tried very hard to help, but basically it was stolen.
We will not stay there again.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor level
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank linthesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin H, Manager at Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village, responded to this review, April 14, 2012
I am very disappointed to hear that you felt your stay was so dissatisfying particularly since you have had an enjoyable time here at the Sundial in the past. As you can imagine, so many of our guests have specific room location requests and when it gets to be a time as busy as the Film Festival it can be a great challenge to move rooms around to accommodate every request. I am sorry that you felt you were not treated respectfully in your request for a room in a different location. One of the best ways we can learn to improve in areas where we have fallen short is to receive feedback such as yours and I appreciate your taking the time to provide this review as this can be a very valuable piece of training material for us moving forward. I remember specifically your missing sweater and as you mentioned, our Safety Team took your concerns very seriously and did, indeed, determine that the sweater had not been removed by a housekeeper. I am very sorry the sweater was never located. I invite you to give us another chance and come back and have the enjoyable and positive experience you had in your previous stay. Feel free to contact me directly if you would allow us the chance to rise to the challenge and win you back.

Warmly,
Kristin

Property Manager, Sundial Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    139
    46
    27
    20
See reviews for
191
131
14
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Have stayed here multiple times and still love the location and the skiing. Room was fine; standard condo quality. Like a lot of the resort it seemed that the lodge was always understaffed. The folks were very nice and helpful but it seemed that they all were just trying to keep up. 1 front desk attendant who sometimes doubled as the ski locker valet, 1 bellhop. You get the picture. Maybe due to the economy plus we were later in the season (early march). Would still return though as the location is great. One final word; if you dont rent a car be prepared to take a shuttle into town as the eating options are limited (and pricey) at the resort.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarheeltraveldude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

If you're independent, resourceful, and looking for a walk to lift location the Canyons Resort, Sundial Lodge may fit your profile. Less than one block to the gondola, the Sundial rooms have stove, microwave, dishwasher for those looking to eat in. Speedy Fernandez (a food delivery option,) is an option from local restaurants as well. The condo style rooms also have an over under washer dryer in the units. They include small flat panel TV with Blue Ray DVD and a small iPod stereo in room. A gas fireplace couch, multiple tables, dining room table complete the room layout. Bathrooms are equipped with a in room jacuzzi tub and reasonable sized bathroom. The staff here is friendly, helpful, hard working and see that you have all that you need. This is a place working hard at building a brand.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmienay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Great stay at the Sundial! The staff was very friendly and the property was charming with all the amenities a family could need. Our one bedroom suite was a good size for the four of us, and it was fully equipped. (Washer dryer; detergent provided, dishwasher; dishwashing detergent provided, coffee maker; coffee and condiments provided, iron and blow dryer...even paper towels were stocked.) The majority of lodges do not include the small extras...have to go buy them at a market and waste vacation time shopping for set ups. The Sundial has a warm rustic feel. If you are looking for a Ritz Carlton type of setting, then this is not your place. The charm of the Sundial is perfect for a mountain setting. We would highly suggest adding the breakfast vouchers with your stay, the food was wonderful; especially the extensive options in the fresh made omelet line! The property location is perfect...only takes a few minutes to walk to the gondola. Although I read complaints about minimal food establishments, we found there were plenty of choices that could service the guests even during a very busy holiday weekend. Loved our stay! Would stay again!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasFamily708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 7, 2012

We had a king bed hotel style room. Had spa bath in it, not much of a view but didn't matter as we were skiing all day. Walking distance in boots to gondola and restaurants. Limited food , but the Farm and the red tail grill are great.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jazzscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Large 2br, 3ba with a loft at the Canyons. Full kitchen and large balcony overlooking ski beach. Short walk to pool and hit tub. Also very close to Red Pine Gondola and the slopes. Also very close to the farm, alpine house and red tail grill. Overall very nice slopeside amenities at the Canyons.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

We went up to the Canyons on January 21 through the 24th to enjoy some skiing and the Sundance Film Festival. Booked the unit through Resort Quest in Park City. The day we came in Saturday was the Largest Snowstorm of the season. We get to the Sundial only to find out that we needed to get the key about 5 miles further up the road at the Quest office in Park City itself. So after another half hour up and back in the snow we got into our condo. Sundial C316. The condo was very nice. 2 Bedroom 2 Bath. Had some issues with the gas Fireplace. Its timer control seems to have a problem. But everything else in the unit worked ok less the icemaker. We were on the 3rd floor and the unit was quiet and clean. Other big drawback was the loss of cold water on the morning of our checkout. I got my shower in early enough. But my GF missed out. The Sundial is almost a Ski-Up from the lifts at the Canyons.
We enjoyed a couple of the Resturants. "The Farm" and "Alpine House". All very close and walkable. Great ski vacation. Not too crowded considering it was Sundance Season. Prices were very high all around Park City as this is the high holidays for the region. Kids enjoyed and so did we.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bltserv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Park City hotels
5.5 mi away
The Chateaux Deer Valley
The Chateaux Deer Valley
#6 of 60 in Park City
583 reviews
2.7 mi away
Newpark Resort & Hotel
Newpark Resort & Hotel
#12 of 60 in Park City
696 reviews
3.5 mi away
Marriott's MountainSide
Marriott's MountainSide
#11 of 60 in Park City
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Centric Park City
Hyatt Centric Park City
#5 of 60 in Park City
678 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silverado Lodge
Silverado Lodge
#32 of 60 in Park City
222 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Park City
Hyatt Place Park City
#7 of 60 in Park City
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village

Property: Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village
Address: 3720 Sundial Court, Park City, UT 84098
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Park City
#9 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Park City
#10 Romantic Hotel in Park City
#17 Family Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the base of Canyons Resort and just steps away from the Red Pine Gondola, the Sundial is a perfect blend of classic mountain lodge architecture and metropolitan style and sophistication. Choose from our many hotel rooms, studios, 1- and 2-bedroom suites, and even 2-bedroom suites with additional sleeping loft and extra bath. All rooms feature relaxing oversized jetted tubs, and all suites come with full kitchens, warm fireplaces, sofa sleepers, and private balconies to take in the mountain air and sweeping views. This property also offers unparalleled convenience, being positioned directly above and around the stores, restaurants and ski shop of the picturesque Canyons' Resort Village. Guests also enjoy the heated outdoor pool, rooftop hot tub and plunge pool, complimentary underground parking, and much, much more. Additionally, our complimentary winter shuttle service transports guests within the Canyons Village area and to Historic Main Street, where the most popular boutiques, galleries, restaurants, and nightlife can be found. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundial Lodge At The Canyons Hotel Park City
Sundial Hotel Park City
Sundial Hotel At The Canyons
Sundial Lodge At Canyons Village Park City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing