We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip with friends”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Park City
Ranked #8 of 60 Hotels in Park City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This hotel has it all. Great service, ski in/ski out on the Canyons ski resort. The rooms are big with great mountain views. The ability to rent skis at the hotel was a great convenience. Shuttles to other mountains and downtown make a car unnecessary.

Room Tip: Four bedroom suite was roomy with a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barrykroot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,496)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,159 - 1,165 of 1,496 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013

Had a great stay at this hotel for a ski vacation at the Canyons and Park City Mountain resort. We stayed 7 nights and skied 3 days at each resort.

As a gold-status Hilton member we were upgraded on arrival to a one bedroom residence which was a wonderful room for us as a family. It had a large and fully equipped kitchen stocked with viking appliances and all the utensils you could need. We had a rental car and so were able to drive easily to nearby grocery stores to stock up on everything we needed. There is everything from a Wal-mart to a Whole Foods Market within a ten minute drive. The suite was well sized for a family of four (two small children slept on the sleeper couch, mom and dad in the master bedroom). Two bathrooms (one with bath and shower, one just with shower) made for quick dressing time in the mornings. Our room was at the front of the hotel with a few of the base of Canyons.

For ski accessibility the hotel is perfectly located for Canyons. There is a ski valet, they take your skis and boots on arrival. In the morning you go downstairs to the boot room to put your boots on, then a golf-cart takes you over to the Waldorf gondola where your skis are stored in a small yurt. They were always put outside waiting for us. You then take the very short gondola ride up the main Canyons base. It drops off right by the Orange Bubble Express. While the Red Pine Gondola is a bit of a trek, the Orange Bulb can get you to the same parts of the mountain without the bigger lift line, and is very comfortable with it's heated seats. At the end of the day you can take the gondola back or as we did ski down the short cat track to the hotel. While we were there the track was groomed and a nice easy ride down.

If you want to ski Park City or Deer Valley you need to take the daily shuttle which runs once every hour. It goes to Park City and then on to Deer Valley and same on the way back. Shuttle service was nice though I think a high-end place like this could justify the small cost increase of having a separate shuttle for each location. At end of day at Park City it took pretty much an hour to get back to the hotel after being picked up, then picking up people on Main Street, then going to Deer Valley, then coming back etc. They had a lot of big SUVs parked outside with Waldord Astoria plates that didn't seem to do much.

We used the pool and hot-tub a couple of days and both were excellent. The pool is very warm, and the hot tubs are really hot. Kids had a lot of fun and got to keep up with some swim practice too. They also do smores outside near the pool at the night which my daughter really loved.

Front desk, car valet and ski valet staff were always extremely helpful and pleasant. Housekeeping were hit and miss - some were excellent, some not very helpful at all. I called once to have the sleeper bed made and the housekeeping guy just handed me the sheets and tried to walk off.

Slopes restaurant is a bit of an oddity. Staff were nice and pleasant, and we enjoyed the food. But service standards were really sloppy. Ate their first day of arrival our table and mac and cheese stuck under one of the place mats. Yuck! Place feels like it has the right elements just need some leadership to pull it into shape.

Overall though a thoroughly excellent stay and a great base for nice skiing in the Park City area

Room Tip: The residences have full kitchen and washer/dryers making for an excellent family stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolinaToTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Loved our one bedroom condo with complete kitchen. Spa is very nice - repose chairs heated to 104 degrees are relaxing. Shuttle to Main St and ski areas works very well. Overall, a very nice place to stay near the Canyons ski area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool- better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cctravelercc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay. My wife and I went to Sundance. I skiied and she movied. The hotel was excellent. The rooms were beautiful. We got a one bedroom suite. The kitchen was unbelievable. Viking applicances, all clad pots, fully outfitted. We stayed in one night to relax. It was a pleasure cooking, although it looked like I was the first to do this. Whole Foods 1/2 mile away made groceries easy, and much cheaper than eating out. and we did in our jammies.

the lobby and hotel bar were terrific. Big open room with gian fireplace. Easy place to relax with coffee in the monring, or the paper in the afternoon. Bar was really nice and relaxed. service was terrific too. Everyone was really nice.

Hotel has a gondola across street that takes you up to the lift area of Canyons. Shuttles were not running to other resorts for skiing because of Sundance, so getting aorund without a car was a hassle. Not reall ythe hotels issue, I guess.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We thought that by staying at the Waldorf Astoria that we could expect the best. Our stay began with the hotel losing our bags that were shipped via FedEx. It then proceeded to breakfast taking 45 minutes and being served cold. It ended with the fire alarm going off in our room at 6:30am without as much as an apology from the hotel. Very disappointed with this stay.

Room Tip: Plenty of cheaper hotels with equally "okay" service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AlexZeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klh0320, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Park City, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know of your Experience at the Waldorf Astoria Park City. Please call me personally as I'd like to do all I can to rectify your experience, which was not to our usual standard. Please accept our sincere apology.

Kerry Hing
General Manager
435-647-5501

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We came to have lunch and decided to check-in.Went swimming, room service and hot tub. We went to the Spa the nest day. Worked out, mani-pedi, steam room. Went to lunch again, almost stayed again. I would love to come up again, soon.

Room Tip: check water temp in the bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r0bynh23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Friendly and attentive staff, great menu elegant atmosphere! Check out the ice bar!! Super Cool!! Literally
Easy access to Canyons ski mountain! Lovely après ski hangout. I would live here all winter if I could!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Park City hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Centric Park City
Hyatt Centric Park City
#7 of 60 in Park City
708 reviews
5.7 mi away
Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley
5.7 mi away
The Chateaux Deer Valley
The Chateaux Deer Valley
#10 of 60 in Park City
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Park City, Autograph Collection
5.5 mi away
Montage Deer Valley
Montage Deer Valley
#3 of 60 in Park City
869 reviews
5.4 mi away
The St. Regis Deer Valley
The St. Regis Deer Valley
#11 of 60 in Park City
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Park City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Park City

Address: 2100 Frostwood Drive, Park City, UT 84098-6522 (Formerly Dakota Mountain Lodge & Golden Door Spa)
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Park City
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Park City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Park City
#4 Spa Hotel in Park City
#5 Luxury Hotel in Park City
#8 Family Hotel in Park City
#12 Business Hotel in Park City
Price Range: $273 - $2,394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Astoria Park City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Astoria Park City welcomes guests to the largest ski and golf resort in the United States, Park City Resort. Nestled among the pristine Wasatch Mountains, Park City, Utah, is a mere 35 minutes from the Salt Lake City International Airport. The hotel's guest rooms are appointed with custom furnishings, suites with top-of-the-line kitchens and spectacular views of the ski slopes and picturesque Wasatch Mountains. Integral to the guest experience at Waldorf Astoria Park City is its 16,000-square-foot spa and on-property restaurant, Powder. The property was recognized in 2015 by Travel & Leisure for “The World’s Best Hotels”, 2014 as the top hotel in Utah on Condé Nast Traveler’s Gold List also by Condé Nast Traveler “#7 Resort in the West-2013”, and Readers' Choice Awards, “Top 40 Resorts in the West.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Park City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria Park City Hotel Park City
Waldorf Astoria Park City Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing