We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Summer adventure was excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canyons Village at Park City

Canyons Village at Park City
Ranked #8 of 88 things to do in Park City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This area, formerly known as Park West, is the closest to Park City and the former site of the Olympic Games.
Hyrum, UT
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Summer adventure was excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We booked the adventure package which included the zip line, gondola and several other activities. The staff was very friendly and fun. Zip line was awesome and the hiking trails are beautiful.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank tlbeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    495
    280
    106
    29
    24
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. George
Level Contributor
9 reviews
“Love this place but.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Except for the incessant construction. It got so dusty I felt like a sinus infection was coming on. They need to have a dust abatement program on days without rain it is awful.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringgold, Georgia
Level Contributor
306 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
“top notch new ski area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

While it is still under development, this is an interesting area for a side trip. New resorts and the likely addition of a Vail managed ski operation(s) are making the Canyons a new 'hot spot' at the edge of Park City. Several new resorts by major players have already opened with more to come. The new facilities are in keeping with the area but the wildness of the Canyons is being invaded by new construction. Many more new shops and commercial venues are sure to follow.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SPN21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Gorgeous, good for beginners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

The resort itself is flawless. I am a total beginner with skiing, but I felt I could handle these slopes. It seemed like they had something for all levels. I came during Sundance, so it was a little crowded, but not overbearing.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank lilylovesb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Summer hiking not as scenic as Park City/Empire/Deer Valley, snooty staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

The summer hiking here was just not as scenic as other areas in Park City. There are some nice areas near Red Pine Lodge but we found the hiking around Park City, Empire, and Deer Valley to be more scenic. They are also more accessible. We were dropped off at the base of the resort by the free Park City bus system, but had to hike up to the village (the 20 minutes felt a lot longer in the summer heat with no shade) given the total lack of shuttle service (after our arrival we finally saw a bus). We asked directions to the working gondola (most of the lifts were closed for the summer) at the Grand Summit Hotel where we had planned to have dinner later that day, but the staff at the hotel were quite snooty and unhelpful. Given that this is a tourist destination, we found this quite odd. We made other plans for dinner at place where we would be treated with hospitality. We rode the gondola up to Red Pine Lodge ($15 each). While on the mountain we were studying our map and a Canyons staffer asked if she could help. After we told her what we were looking for she suggested a hike. Unfortunately, only part of the hike was really scenic (part of it was more desert like than forest) and her assesment of the trail length and time required were grossly underestimated.
In summary, there isn't enough here for me to waste my time returning.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canyons Village at Park City also viewed

 
Park City, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Canyons Village at Park City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing