We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and room view, but small room”
Review of Grand Summit Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Summit Hotel
Ranked #20 of 60 Hotels in Park City
Murray, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 380 helpful votes
“Great location and room view, but small room”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I was surprised at the smallness of the room when I walked in. It was apparantly just a bedroom unit designed to join the larger living/kitchen area next door. The positives were a great view and a nice balcony. This is a beautiful area of the country. We looked at the breakfast menu onsite and decided to drive into Park City for breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSHotelManager, General Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
I am happy to read that overall you enjoyed your stay here at the Grand Summit Hotel. We agree with you; the location is fantastic with beautiful views, and it is always great to read that our guests are enjoying it. While the particular room you stayed in was small, hopefully you did get the opportunity to enjoy the beautiful large jetted tub, that takes up some of that room space.
In addition, please note that when you return to visit us again, our reservation agents are always happy to discuss different room options. The Grand Summit Hotel has quite a few different room configurations, and I believe we would be able to find the perfect fit for you.
Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again!

Mary Sorensen
Property Manager
Grand Summit Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    161
    93
    57
    25
See reviews for
197
95
14
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We were there for a wedding and when we arrived our room was not ready until 5 pm. When we got to the room it was very small. Checking the room we had no glasses for drinking, no wash rags, 1 hand towel. The next morning when we went to shower the shower door opened into the shower leaving little room to stand. We called maintence and the came up and the shower doer was inside the rubber seal and was hard to pull outward. That night when we went to bed the OLD TV wouldn't turn off. No way to seven unplug the TV. Waited for 1/2 for maintence to come up and fix it. The wireless internet connection was very poor, only two bars and hard make connection. The maids made up the room after 5pm and our last night she left our door open by using dead lock. We went back to room about 6:30 to discover this, we could have been robbed. The room was way over priced and then to charge for parking is highway robbery. Worst ever and I have stayed all over the world.

Room Tip: stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSHotelManager, General Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
While it is good to see that you liked the location and felt that the rooms were clean, it is disappointing to read that you found other areas lacking. We find guest feedback to be vital to our success and your detailed review was shared with all staff involved with urgency so that we might learn from your experience. In addition, please know that we have a strict policy surrounding keeping our guests and their belongings safe, and your comment about the dead bolt is not taken lightly whatsoever. This type of fault on an employee results in swift action, and therefore it is very important for us to hear and I appreciate you taking the time to share.
If you do decide to visit us again, please let me know so that I personally can ensure you have a fantastic vacation. Our goal is to have a guest leave feeling like they had an experience of a lifetime, and I hope we have the opportunity to provide this for you in the future.

Mary Sorensen
Property Manager
Grand Summit Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I was not impressed with the Canyons at all. The biggest issue? You can literally hear every word of a conversation in the room beside you. The rooms themselves have no glassware, no bottled water, no desk. There is no bar other than the tex mex place which I believe primarily services skiers in the winter months. We stayed at the Waldorf last time - beautiful rooms and a nice dining scene.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exeter95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Had a great room, clean , comfortable and modern. Great location at base of gondola up canyons mtn. Lots of activities in summer available right at this hotel or base of mountain. Staff was very considerate and helpful. Little pricey but worth it

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Exceeded our expectations-Family of 5 stayed in the 2 bedroom suite.
Very nice pool and spa. So much to do so little time...would love to come back! Staff friendly-Thank you Grand Summit for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aroadmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, UT
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at this hotel over the fourth of July and loved it so much, we went back this weekend. We have two kids - 6 and 9 - and they love it. On the weekends, there is a lot going on around the common patio area of the resort. You can listen to a concert and grab some ice cream, and the boys loved taking the Cabriolet gondola down to the parking lot and back. It's intended as a shuttle, but feels more like a ride. The scenery is beautiful.
I also cannot say enough about the service. Everyone is great from the valet to the man who came in and set up the sofa sleeper for us. Super friendly and patient with my kids. The rooms are great. I'd recommend a balcony room, though we didn't really end up spending a lot of time in the room. We like heading down to the pool - which is heated and great especially in the morning before it gets too crowded.
The only complaint I have is with the food. We've had 3 dining experiences at this resort. We ate dinner one night at The Farm and the food was terrible. We had a large table and ordered several different things, and by the end the only thing we could eat was the kids Mac and cheese. We ordered room service the next morning, which was very expensive. Half our order did not come and what did was also not very good. This time we ate at a sports bar called Drafts. Again - it took forever for our food to get there and most of it was not good.
We will definitely stay at this hotel again, but we will eat somewhere nearby before heading up to our room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kxvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2013

House keeping is terrible. Had to talk with them every day. Always fell on deaf ears. Everthing else was ok. This makes for bad experience. Management does not even respond. Sad leadership. I heard other complaints with same problems from several in our group.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeb T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Park City hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Centric Park City
Hyatt Centric Park City
#5 of 60 in Park City
678 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village
5.6 mi away
The Chateaux Deer Valley
The Chateaux Deer Valley
#7 of 60 in Park City
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Marriott's MountainSide
Marriott's MountainSide
#11 of 60 in Park City
580 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silverado Lodge
Silverado Lodge
#32 of 60 in Park City
222 reviews
2.6 mi away
Newpark Resort & Hotel
Newpark Resort & Hotel
#12 of 60 in Park City
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Summit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Summit Hotel

Property: Grand Summit Hotel
Address: 4000 Canyons Resort Dr, Park City, UT 84098-6546 (Formerly Canyons Grand Summit Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Park City
#8 Spa Hotel in Park City
#10 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Park City
#19 Family Hotel in Park City
#19 Business Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Summit Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Summit Hotel, a AAA Four-Diamond resort, sits majestically in the heart of Canyons Village. This property is a combination of beautiful design, exceptional ski-in / ski-out location, attentive service and livable luxury. It has the variety to suit the most diverse families and groups, with 350 lodging options including hotel rooms, studios, 1, 2 and 3 bedroom suites and expansive luxury penthouses. From the moment you arrive to the covered porte cochere of the Grand Summit, our staff is dedicated to making your stay here at Canyons Village an exceptional experience. Whether you need to relax in our warm and inviting grand lobby after a long travel day, or you are inclined to get out and enjoy the outdoors as quickly as you can get checked-in, our concierge and bell staff are at your service. Of course, there is no shortage of amenities, depending on your room choice--all rooms have color televisions (flat screen), terry-cloth robes (available on request), coffee makers, hair dryers, iron & board, down comforters, alarm clock and CD player/stereo. Many rooms have balconies, fireplaces, whirlpool tubs and full kitchens with service for eight people featuring GE Profile appliances and granite countertops. High-speed wireless internet access (WiFi) is complimentary throughout the hotel. Our outdoor heated pool is the place to relax. If your adventures exploring the outdoors wear you out, try a relaxing massage or indulge yourself with a luxurious spa treatment from the Park City Boutique & Spa. Dining options include The Farm, Red Tail Grill and First Tracks Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Summit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyons Grand Summit Hotel Park City
Canyons Grand Summit Resort
Summit Park City
Park City Summit
Grand Summit Hotel Park City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing