We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review of hotel and conference facilities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canyons Grand Summit Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Canyons Grand Summit Hotel
Ranked #17 of 60 Hotels in Park City
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Review of hotel and conference facilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I was there off-season for a conference. It is a beautiful property, but is not configured to host large conferences. The meeting rooms are spacious enough, but the problem occurred when we had a pre-dinner reception. The dining room was already packed with set tables, so the only place to host a cocktail hour was in a hallway outside the dining hall. It was cramped and the flow was poor. The service was ok. They were training new hires for the upcoming season, so I'll leave it at that. Overall, the experience was fine; just don't host a big event there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    145
    79
    50
    21
See reviews for
170
85
13
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed here for a conference last week. Every hotel/service person I had contact with was very pleasant and helpful. I had a 2-story room which was fabulous. The view was nice. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. I ordered room service a couple of times for breakfast and it came on time and was just what I ordered. My room had a small kitchen so I could make my own meals if I chose to do so. The room was very quiet and the living area had a gas fireplace which I made sure I used in the morning and in the evening! Even the couch in the living room was cosy comfy for lounging. I could see having the fire going, the drapes open, lounging on the couch and watching it snow. I would stay here again. It is fairly close to Park City downtown (just up the road 5 minutes). You still need a car. I think there is a shuttle but that might have been just for the conference, not sure. I would get a car anyway, since it's fun to drive around.

Room Tip: I had a 5th floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carmelwish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IDailey, Manager at Canyons Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you so much for this incredible review of the Grand Summit. I am so pleased that all the hotel employees and service staff were "very pleasant and helpful" and that you enjoyed your "fabulous" room. Reading your review made me wish I was sitting in one of our rooms watching the snow fall and enjoying relaxing on a "comfy" couch with the fire place on! Sounds amazing!

I am so very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and "would stay here again." It would be great to have you come visit during our winter season to see our resort in full swing and enjoy all of our winter offerings. Once again, thank you for choosing our hotel and resort and we hope to see you back again soon!
Best regards,

Ian Dailey
Director of Front Office Operations
Canyons Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I visited the Canyons for business but look forward to returning for pleasure. The hotel is beautiful..the staff is friendly and professional...the restaurant has a great menu, and Park City is so very charming.

Room Tip: The corner rooms have a lovely fireplace. The room is not large, but the fireplace adds a lot of cha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmensmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IDailey, Manager at Canyons Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you so much for this great review of the Grand Summit at Canyons Resort! I am so pleased you found our hote to be "beautiful" and our dedicated employees to be "friendly and professional." We couldn't agree more that "Park City is so very charming" and we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to your future visit here at Canyons and are all very excited to see you again soon.
Best regards,

Ian Dailey
Director of Front Office Operations
Canyons Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Hotel was great and the staff was friendly. Transportation to downtown is accessible by way of free shuttle on Main Street which makes it nice. We were there in fall which is considered off season but wow what amazing views we had we can't wait to go back in winter!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrsdenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IDailey, Manager at Canyons Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
What a great review of the Grand Summit! I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the "hotel was great and the staff was friendly." I couldn't agree more that fall is an amazing time to be in Park City and with simple transportation options it makes it very easy to get around town and enjoy the colors.

I look forward to your return visit this winter season to Canyons to enjoy the resort with its full offerings. Canyons is truly an amazing place during the winter and I am confident you will find every bit as dazzling as you did this fall.
Best regards,

Ian Dailey
Director of Front Office Operations
Canyons Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Salt Lake, Utah
Level Contributor
328 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The Grand Summit Resort Hotel is a nice hotel with well-appointed rooms, comfortable beds, and nice views. The staff is friendly and helpful, even offering a late checkout, and rooms are very comfortable, although a sitting chair would have been more comfortable than the single desk chair provided. The amenities are nice and our room had a nice large jetted tub. The location is fantastic and our room looked out over the slopes, which are a colorful mosaic in fall.

I do have just a few comments (complaints). The room had no glasses so we had to drink our water from the coffee cups. There is no way to order a drink to enjoy on the lovely porch. Utah liquor laws don't allow a drink to be taken from the bar to the room, so if you want to enjoy an evening drink on the romantic porch, bring your own. The fireplace didn't work (evidently it was too early in the fall to have it lit, but it was very cool and would have been quite nice).

These annoyances weren't enough to keep me away in the future. Stay here with confidence.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diinslc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IDailey, Manager at Canyons Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for review of the Grand Summit Hotel. I am so pleased that you found our staff to be "friendly and helpful" and that they were able to offer you a late check out per your request. We take great pride in our talented and dedicated employees and I am very happy they met your expectations. It was also great to hear that your room was "comfortable" and that you enjoyed our spectacular fall colors while you were here.

I truly appreciate your feedback regarding some of the items in your room and I assure you that your concerns will be addressed. We always strive to meet our guests' requests and there should be no reason we could not meet yours. This type of feedback only helps us improve our business and I will be sharing it with our departmental managers.

I do hope you find your way back to Canyons soon, perhaps during the winter season to enjoy the Resort and our full scope of offerings. Thank you again for this review and we look forward to your return visit!
Best regards,

Ian Dailey
Director of Front Office Operations
Canyons Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
157 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

Staying here at present, room doesn't have a desk, but other facilities like the bathroom or sometimes the kitchens in rooms outweigh this required.comfortable beds, attentive staff, nice gym and spa treatment available...how many pillows!, no need for the 10, found my bed under there somewhere...great location for skiing the canyons resort in winter, no snow at present mind you. Evening wise is quiet, so shuttles to main street are good here. Internet, I agree is slow, telephone network is also patchy.Still, a lovely ski setting, very classy, staying here in the winter would be $$$,as opposed $ now..been here a few times generally for business and would return.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank MrWiz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IDailey, Manager at Canyons Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for this candid review of the Grand Summit! I am very happy to hear that you are finding your room enjoyable with a "comfortable" bed, "nice gym and spa" and that our "attentive staff" has been able to meet your needs.

I must apologize that you experienced difficulties with our wifi service and telephones. If you are still on property, please reach out to me and I would be happy to provide any assistance I can to improve this experience for you. We do offer different settings of Internet access to help increase the bandwidth and I would be happy to assist in this matter.

I truly hope you choose to return to Canyons Resort and the Grand Summit Hotel this winter to enjoy our "lovely ski setting" and get some great powder turns in with all of us here in Park City. If you would like to discuss your stay further, please do not hesitate to reach out to me at your convenience.
Best regards,

Ian Dailey
Director of Front Office Operations
Canyons Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, OR.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed for 9 nights in a fantastic, two-story (time-share) suite with separate Master bedroom/bath, full kitchen, living room, loft with full queen & second bathroom, 3 flat screen TVs, DVD player and even a token balcony that overlooked the pool and had a great view of the ski slopes behind the resort. The room was clean and decorated tastefully. The couches, chairs, bed all very comfortable. The kitchen was stocked well enough with pots/pans/utencils to do some simple cooking. It didnt include coffee filters and there wasn't a wide variety of dishes. The large fridge, microwave and halogen stove all worked well. The staff were exceptional! The concierge and valet staff were very friendly and offered great advice about local dining spots and places to shop. Housekeeping staff were thorough and professional. Being there in August, we took advantage of using the ski slopes for some mountain biking. The Lift staff were also friendly (couple of them were Oregon transplants!) Was it expensive? Yeah, a bit. The restaurants on-site were all top-class and quite spendy! Thus, we spent most of our $$$ in town at the local spots (separate reviews). The city of Park City was quite high-browed, but we expected that. Most of the shopping, restaurant and hotel staff were quite pleasant, friendly, helpful and down-to-earth. Would we go back? I would. But, if you're from the "lowlands", give yourself a day or two to acclimate! The 7500 ft elevation change from home was a bit of a shocker!

Room Tip: If you can get a line on a time-share, do it. Having breakfast in the room and a fridge for perisha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SalemBikeGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IDailey, Manager at Canyons Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you so much for this incredible review of the Grand Summit Hotel! I don't know what more to say than "WOW" and I am so happy to hear that you had such a wonderful time at our Resort. Summer in Park City is a wonderful time and the mountain biking here is great!

Most importantly I am so pleased to hear that you found our staff to be "exceptional" - from valet to housekeeping to our lift operators! We take great pride in our talented team of employees and it is great to hear that they contributed to your amazing experience.

Once again, thank you so much for this great review and we are all so excited that you enjoyed your trip to Park City. I truly hope you come visit us during the winter season to enjoy the Resort and all of its offerings, and at the very least, that you come back and see us again next summer for another great adventure. I appreciate the feedback you have provided us and we all look forward to your next visit!
Best regards,

Ian Dailey
Director of Front Office Operations
Canyons Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Park City hotels
0.4 mi away
Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort
2.5 mi away
Newpark Resort & Hotel
Newpark Resort & Hotel
#11 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 stars 583 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Centric Park City
Hyatt Centric Park City
#8 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 stars 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Marriott's Summit Watch
Marriott's Summit Watch
#7 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 stars 511 reviews
3.4 mi away
Marriott's MountainSide
Marriott's MountainSide
#10 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 stars 497 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Chateaux Deer Valley
The Chateaux Deer Valley
#4 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 stars 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyons Grand Summit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyons Grand Summit Hotel

Property: Canyons Grand Summit Hotel
Address: 4000 Canyons Resort Dr, Park City, UT 84098-6546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Park City
#8 Spa Hotel in Park City
#8 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Park City
#9 Luxury Hotel in Park City
#19 Family Hotel in Park City
#19 Business Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Canyons Grand Summit Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Summit Hotel, a AAA Four-Diamond resort, sits majestically in the heart of the Resort Village. This property is a combination of beautiful design, exceptional ski-in / ski-out location, attentive service and livable luxury. It has the variety to suit the most diverse families and groups, with 350 lodging options including hotel rooms, studios, 1, 2 and 3 bedroom suites and expansive luxury penthouses. From the moment you arrive to the covered porte cochere of the Grand Summit, our staff is dedicated to making your stay here at Canyons an exceptional experience. Whether you need to relax in our warm and inviting grand lobby after a long travel day, or you are inclined to get out and enjoy the outdoors as quickly as you can get checked-in, our concierge and bell staff are at your service. Of course, there is no shortage of amenities, depending on your room choice--all rooms have color televisions (flat screen), terry-cloth robes (available on request), coffee makers, hair dryers, iron & board, down comforters, alarm clock and CD player/stereo. Many rooms have balconies, fireplaces, whirlpool tubs and full kitchens with service for eight people featuring GE Profile appliances and granite countertops. High-speed wireless internet access (WiFi) is complimentary throughout the hotel. Our outdoor heated pool is the place to relax. If your adventures exploring the outdoors wear you out, try a relaxing massage or indulge yourself with a luxurious spa treatment from the Canyons Resort Spa and Health Club. Dining options include The Farm, Red Tail Grill and First Tracks Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Canyons Grand Summit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyons Grand Summit Hotel Park City, Utah
Canyons Grand Summit Resort
Summit Park City
Park City Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing