We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Incredibly convenient location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Summit Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Summit Hotel
Ranked #20 of 59 Hotels in Park City
Certificate of Excellence
La Jolla, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Incredibly convenient location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

We wanted a ski in/ski out hotel with all the usual amenties etc. The Grand Summit was just that. The steps literally led to a chair lift just a few feet away. The hotel itself was nice, with a few restaurant options and all the usual amenities. The staff and service were fantastic. Additional restaurants, shops, ski rentals, etc. were also located nearby. The only negative had to do with the shuttle service. We did not rent a car from the airport as we heard the shuttle would take us and only us to the hotel, and then during our stay back and forth to downtown Park City. It did but with MANY stops and all trips took way too long. Next time we'd rent a car and just pay the high parking fee.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager1, General Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share such positive comments from your recent stay at the Grand Summit Hotel. I was pleased to hear that you found our resort convenient to Utah' largest ski and snowboard mountain, as well as our "staff and service....fantastic". Regarding our Park City shuttle service, we will be adding additional vans next season to handle the additional traffic that our recently expanded mountain will attract. We look forward to welcoming you back next year, to see all of the new addtions taking place at Canyon Resort.
Sincerely,

Hal Leonard
Vice President of Lodging
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    150
    84
    52
    21
See reviews for
180
86
13
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2011

We had great time weather meals skiing service....just name it!
Close to slopes historic park city great restaurants shopping
Whole food store next door at red stone mall
We'll be back for more....
Mjj&jmj

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjj389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager1, General Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2011
Thank you very much for your outstanding review of The Grand Summit Resort. So glad to hear that you had such a "great time" enjoying the weather (we can't take much credit for that!), meals, skiing and service. We are all looking forward to having you back and please feel free to contact me personally, if there is anything that I can do to make your next visit even more enjoyable.
All the Best,
Hal Leonard
Vice President of Lodging
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silsbee, TX
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2011

We had a great time at The Canyons and staying and Grand Summit. Steps from the runs. We took the bubble lift instead of the gondola in the am with very little lines. We stayed in a one bedroom suite. Very nice kitchen and everything you need to cook and not have to eat out. The resort needs a better eye to detail. The cleaning staff took our washcloths but did not leave any. There are no kitchen towels. Extra soap was not left. Small things that could make the resort great. We will come back.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jason_fuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager1, General Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your outstanding comments on your visit to The Grand Summit Resort. Glad to hear that your future skiing will be enjoyed here at Canyons and not in our sister state.......sorry Colorado! I have shared your comments with our Housekeeping Department regarding the replacement items during your stay and was glad to hear that this lapse will not prevent you from returning to Canyons.
If I may assist you with accommodations on your next trip, please feel free to contact me personally.
Sincerely,
Hal Leonard
Vice President of Lodging
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2011

Okay, so I have to admit it. Our favorite place is now the Canyons! Move over Park City Resort! We have traveled to many ski areas (Colorado, NE, Canada, Europe) and as far as North America goes, The Canyons rates the best!
We stayed at the Grand Summit. I loved the proximity to the gondola and new orange heated chair lift! It is so convenient to come in and out as needed and get back to the room swiftly after a long hard day skiing. The rooms we had (next to one another) were spacious enough for 2 in each room. The bathroom was large and very clean. House keeping was timely and efficient. The reservationist had put our itinerary in the room which was a day by day view of what had been booked as far as activities and restaurant bookings which I highly advise doing in advance. The good restaurants book up quickly. We went on a package which included breakfast. This was worth it. It included the lift tickets and full breakfast which was awesome. All kinds of things for a varied palette and the omelet bar was awesome. All servers were exceptionally helpful and polite. The beds were a little soft and pillows a little full but they brought us some alternate pillows very promptly. The restaurants were great. Red Tail is in the hotel and has very good food. The short rib nachos as an app is a must. The new restaurant called Farm is excellent. In fact, all the restaurants on the mountain have the best mountain food we have ever had. Ski food doesn't have the best reputation. The Canyons changes all of that. Brinton at reception, Jordan at Red Tail as well as Angela at Red Tail were awesome. Always went above and beyond with the guests. We also bought the Canyons club membership for our family for our stay. This was $400 for 4 days for our family of four. It included lots of things. The best was the massage, 2 free Fast Tracks and 1 at only $25 (get on the mountain for an hour before it opens with a pro guide. Very worthwhile!), and a Fast Pass so that we could jump at the front of the line at the Gondoloa or Orange chair at the base. This was worth its wait in gold when we focused on the mountains on the right side of the resort. Not as important when you move up the mountain and migrating towards the left side of the Canyons. The one thing that I can say that sets this resort apart from others we have stayed at is the friendliness of everyone and how helpful they were everywhere and with everything. Whatever they are doing is working out well...

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisdiannefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager1, General Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2011
Wow! Thank you for taking the time to let us know that Canyons in now your favorite place. Your comments on our proximity to both lifts, especially our newest edition, The Orange Bubble heated chair lift are much appreciated. I was also pleased to hear that our restaurants, both on and off the mountain exceeded your expectations in regards to exceptional food and service. Best of all the fact that you recognized our staff members was "the friendliness of everyone and how helpful they were".
We greatly appreciate your comments and look forward to your next visit to Canyons. If I can assist you with future reservations, please don't hesitate to contact me personally.

Sincerely,
Hal Leonard
Vice President of Lodging
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
217 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2011

I've been coming here for the last three years for a medical conference, and each year I'm told that "changes are happening." No. They're not. The Canyons, or I guess just "Canyons" now aspires to luxury resort status. So, here's where they really are. When my wife and I arrived late, there was no bell service, the parking valet had called in sick, and there was no one on site to bring a couple of extra pillows to augment the two pathetic sacks of feathers that were literally double wrapped in a case twice the appropriate size. We waited almost an hour before my wife ran to the car for something else (fortunately we knew where it was parked, since we parked it ourselves). We ordered room service the next day, and left the tray to be picked up outside the door when we hit the slopes. When we returned 6 hours later, it was still there, despite the fact that numerous housekeepers had walked right by it - in fact there was a cleaner's cart two rooms up. Someone from another room had actually stacked their dishes on to ours. The room itself was fine - clean and unremarkable, although I was continually struck by how poor the construction is - the tile looked like it was installed by someone who had just finished a twelve pack. And when one of the electrical fixtures didn't fit right, they didn't trim it, they just screwed it crooked in to the wall. To be fair, there are some advantages to staying here. The ski in/ski out location is convenient, and moving the gondola makes some sense (although it seems to break down a lot now). Nevertheless, the Talisker group has a long way to go before this property is going to be anywhere close to a luxury resort. In any event, I'm hoping that the University of Utah will find a better venue for their conference- one that is dedicated to delivering a basic level of quality and service that the Canyons - sorry - 'Canyons' can't, or maybe just wont.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Morpheus1041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager1, General Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding the lack of service that you recevied during your visit to Canyons. I can assure you that we take these comment seriously and I have shared them with our Bell/Valet and Housekeeping Departments. I also appreciated your positive comments on our ski in/ski out location.
The University of Utah is one of our favorite groups and they continually select Canyons as their venue of choice for their meetings in Park City. The majority of the feedback that we receive from them and their attendees has been positive, however in this case, it appears that we have fallen short.
If you would like to contact me personally to share more specifics as to your room and dates of stay, I would greatly appreciate it. I would like to have the opportunity of making this up to you in some way.
Thank you again for taking the time to comment.
Sincerely,

Hal Leonard
Vice President of Lodging
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, dc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2011

Spent 7 days at the Canyons over Christmas with wife, 11&9 year old boys, and 6 year old girl. I fell on the positive side of the reviews

I think most reviews were fairly accurate. Yes the moutain is groomed a fair amount, it's a really nice ski lodge not the Four Seasons and the beds are not as good as home...but all in all it was great fun.

Food was suprisingly excellent throughout the resort but particularly in the Grand Summit, price was medium or slightly low for resort pricing.

Service was simply outstanding at the hotel and throughout the resort. Reviews opposite this have got to be off. It was Christmas, their busiest time and they were helpful with every request including packages arriving, lift ticket purchasing.

Rates were expensive mid $600s for 1 bedroom but it had a huge loft with an enormous amount of space.

We bought lift tickets on litopia.com which were great bargain. I believe the Costco in SLC has good discounts if you didn't buy ahead.

The last days were basically a blizzard and about the best powder skiing I've had in my life.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank conradh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager1, General Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2011
Thank you so much for sharing your comments regarding your family's recent stay at Canyons. I was pleased to read that your food experience was excellent throughout the resort and that the pricing was a great value. We can't take credit for "the best powder skiing..in your life", however greatly appreciate you mentioning that the service at the Grand Summit and throughout the resort was outstanding.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Canyons!

Sincerely,
Hal Leonard
Vice President of Lodging
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pa.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

We paid dearly for this hotel ($800 / night), and had several complaints. We arrived late at night, and no one helped us struggle our luggage inside, as was customary during the day. One of the men at the front desk, upon being asked a basic question about something to do in town, replied with aloof disinterest, "I don't know; you could google it." We made it clear when making the reservation that we needed a pull out bed; upon arrival this bed was unmade. So, late at night after eight hours of travel and a time change, we had to call for linens, wait 30 minutes until they arrived, and then upon seeing only ONE thin blanket, request more covers that did not get to the room until 20 minutes later! The toilet seat broke after one use, the shower stall leaked abundant water onto the floor each time we used it during our stay, garbage from previous occupants was found in one of the kitchen cabinets, and one of the electric fireplaces did not work! The one that was functioning made the air so dry that our lips chapped and eye drops were needed frequently! In addition, the jets in the whirlpool did not work for the duration of our stay! My husband complained at every disappointment, and, to the hotel's credit, we were given a note of apology, a bottle of wine, and one free meal (excluding drinks). However, for the outrageous price, there should not have been any problems at all. We will not stay here again, in this pretentious, impersonal hotel that specializes only in resting on their laurels.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank irislvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager1, General Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to express your dissatisfaction with the lack of service that you received from our Bell/Valet, Front Desk and Housekeeping departments. I can assure you that this is not the level of quality that the majority of our guests have experienced this past season, however there is no excuse for our shortcomings.
I was happy to hear that our staff did react to your concerns and have acknowledged these issues with an an apology note, bottle of wine and dinner. I would like to offer additonal compensation to you and your family, so please don't hesitate to contact me personally to discuss.
Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,
Hal Leonard
Vice President of Lodging
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Park City hotels
0.1 mi away
Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Centric Park City
Hyatt Centric Park City
#9 of 59 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
2.6 mi away
Newpark Resort & Hotel
Newpark Resort & Hotel
#12 of 59 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Chateaux Deer Valley
The Chateaux Deer Valley
#4 of 59 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
4.1 mi away
Marriott's Summit Watch
Marriott's Summit Watch
#5 of 59 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silverado Lodge
Silverado Lodge
#32 of 59 in Park City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Summit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Summit Hotel

Property: Grand Summit Hotel
Address: 4000 Canyons Resort Dr, Park City, UT 84098-6546 (Formerly Canyons Grand Summit Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Park City
#8 Spa Hotel in Park City
#9 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Park City
#19 Business Hotel in Park City
#19 Family Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Summit Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Summit Hotel, a AAA Four-Diamond resort, sits majestically in the heart of Canyons Village. This property is a combination of beautiful design, exceptional ski-in / ski-out location, attentive service and livable luxury. It has the variety to suit the most diverse families and groups, with 350 lodging options including hotel rooms, studios, 1, 2 and 3 bedroom suites and expansive luxury penthouses. From the moment you arrive to the covered porte cochere of the Grand Summit, our staff is dedicated to making your stay here at Canyons Village an exceptional experience. Whether you need to relax in our warm and inviting grand lobby after a long travel day, or you are inclined to get out and enjoy the outdoors as quickly as you can get checked-in, our concierge and bell staff are at your service. Of course, there is no shortage of amenities, depending on your room choice--all rooms have color televisions (flat screen), terry-cloth robes (available on request), coffee makers, hair dryers, iron & board, down comforters, alarm clock and CD player/stereo. Many rooms have balconies, fireplaces, whirlpool tubs and full kitchens with service for eight people featuring GE Profile appliances and granite countertops. High-speed wireless internet access (WiFi) is complimentary throughout the hotel. Our outdoor heated pool is the place to relax. If your adventures exploring the outdoors wear you out, try a relaxing massage or indulge yourself with a luxurious spa treatment from the Park City Boutique & Spa. Dining options include The Farm, Red Tail Grill and First Tracks Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Summit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyons Grand Summit Hotel Park City
Canyons Grand Summit Resort
Summit Park City
Park City Summit
Grand Summit Hotel Park City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing