We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newer and better than expected”
Review of Park Regency Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Park Regency Hotel
Ranked #36 of 60 Hotels in Park City
Treasure Island, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Newer and better than expected”
Reviewed December 20, 2011

My family did not know what to expect before arriving at the Park Regency. Other reviews were marginal and the AAA 2-diamond rating was worrisome. The exterior entrance and older sign did not relieve our concerns before walking through the doors. That is were my concerns ended. The reception was very professional and personable and the lobby décor very warm and inviting. It got even better when we walked into our 2 bedroom condo that appeared brand new. Granite and stainless kitchen, all new furniture and well appointed bathrooms. The wood burning fireplace was wonderful after a day on the slopes. The indoor pool, hot tub and nice grilling area were also welcome amenities. During our 7 day stay every employee we encountered was so friendly and professional. I have to say their driver (I think his name was John – sorry I forgot) was amazing. He gave us such valuable information and helped us find the perfect restaurant for our Thanksgiving dinner. The complimentary shuttle to the slope and village was very nice but even when we had to drive around the mountain for Alto and the other resorts the roads and trip were easy. We had one unexpected experience with a bathing suit bleaching in the hot tub; when reported we were promised the General Manager would make it right. I shared the $65.00 value of the suit but commented that it was a couple of year old; regardless that afternoon the receptionist recognized me and gave me an envelope with $65.00 in cash – nice touch!

I not only recommend this condo hotel; I can not wait to return. Thanks Park Regency!

Room Tip: I don't think 1st floor has been renovated yet. Call ahead and ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GMBBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    69
    33
    16
    11
See reviews for
52
44
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bc,ut
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

This place has to be 25+ years old, but it has been recently remodeled with as much upgrading as original floor plan allows. 1 bedroom units are not large, but are comfy. It would have to be a family of 4, with smaller children to be comfortable in the one bed room suite. Kitchen zone and "living room" are all together. Staff has been very friendly and helpful, you just have to ask for assistance, but they know the area well. Looking forward to my 3rd visit this year.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lorienborzoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Only on check-in (reservation via Trading Places) did we learn "air conditioning" was air blown over cooling water. Yet with our fan on max cool and high, we had no air from vent. Maintenance person tried to call his supervisor at 5:00 p.m. to see if coils could be cleaned but no ans. by 10:30 p.m. Front desk person offered to change room but temp. the same. Front desk person suggested leaving door open! As senior citizens with wife on oxygen we did not follow his advice. What a disappointment!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank royce m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Park City hotels

Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
642 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2010

Trading Places International (TPI) had Bonus weeks on their last minute exchange page, which we could request 45 days ahead of a planned departure. We found two hotels in Park City, Utah. Looking at Trip Advisor, we discovered that our best bet would be the Park Regency, as it had free parking & positive reviews of the staff.

The Park Regency Resort Condos complex is situated just outside the main part of Park City. This hotel/resort is situated in a small retail/business park just off highway 248. There are two restaurants, a chiropractor office and a pilates gym at that location, but the parking lot is large, and hotel guests have free parking. The Park Regency must have been a business suite hotel in the past that was subsequently converted to condos that are now run by TPI as a timeshare. It consists of a single large building with the check-in desk located in the lobby adjoining the parking lot. The lobby has two computers with Internet access for use by guests free of charge, a coffee/tea/cocoa dispensing unit, also free, and seating around a large screen TV. They have luggage carts for guest use, which makes loading/unloading much easier. There is only one elevator that accesses the 3 floors. When we arrived, it was early evening, and there were two staff people on duty. There obviously weren't that many guests, as we ended up being offered 4 different rooms. The interesting thing about the process is that while they asked us which floor we would prefer, they never offered a choice of views. So, we first picked a 3rd floor room, which we took all our luggage up to, just to discover that the room was in need of significant maintenance and with views of the parking lot and business park below. Going back to the desk, we asked for a better view. They gave us a 2nd floor room, which turned out to be in better shape, but the view was of the street and the parking lot across the way. The next offer was for a 3rd floor room that wasn't cleaned yet, or a 2nd floor room with a view over a green park area. We finally were given two key cards for the latter, resort rules, and a hotel map showing the layout of the hotel building. The staff was pleasant and friendly throughout the check-in process, but it was just strange that they didn't offer a better description of the room choices in the first place.

The hotel was set up so that all room entry doors faced the center of the building, which was open to the sky. The walkways overlooked the glass-enclosed pool and jacuzzi area, and the neighboring BBQ area with 4 gas powered BBQs and 4 picnic tables. The pool hours were 8AM – 11PM, and the front desk and fitness room hours were 7AM – 11PM, The small fitness room contained a treadmill, stationary bike, stair climber, and a pulley weight machine along with two rows of free weights. The room also had an attached restroom and towels available for use. There were exit stairways in all 4 corners of the building, but only the one elevator. Toiletries and packages of tea/coffee/cocoa were in the room, and the front desk also refreshed them as often as needed. The Resort has a shuttle that operates M-F to all the ski areas, downtown, and a new shopping/outlet mall about 6 miles away at the I-80 interchange. In the shoulder seasons, fall and spring, when there are less guests, the shuttle schedule is very flexible, and the driver will take guests anywhere within a 10 mile radius.

Each pair of two 1-bedroom suites share a small corridor with a door that blocks the cold outside air. Upon entering our suite, we found ourselves in a small entryway with the kitchen/dining/living area to the right, the bedroom to the left, and the bathroom straight ahead.
The bedroom contained a soft queen-size bed, a wardrobe, 2 night stands with a drawer and cupboard area, a TV on top of the wardrobe, a phone, a lamp over each night stand, and a main ceiling light with a fan. The wardrobe was on its last legs and had 4 glass fronted drawers (one with a broken track) and 2 normal drawers on one side and a full length closet door on the other side with a hanger area on top and 2 shelves at the bottom. The door for the closet side did not close completely. There was a large window looking right out onto the walkway circling the pool area but had good blinds to give privacy. There were two raggedy terry cloth robes on the bed for our use, but no others were supplied for the supposed 2 other people that could sleep in the unit.
The bathroom had a single sink vanity with very little counter space, a toilet that had been installed at a slight angle, and a tub/shower combo. There was a cabinet over the toilet with glass doors that held tissue paper and extra toiletries, and there were towels for 4 people, although only two towel racks, one a small one only adequate for a hand towel.
There was a utility closet in the entry hall, which held an ironing board and iron, more blankets, a safe, 4 folding metal chairs and more space for hanging clothes.

The living room/dining/kitchen area makes it obvious that this was more of a hotel suite before it was turned into a timeshare. The main living space is quite small for the amount of stuff that has been crammed into it. The kitchen runs along the wall adjoining the bathroom, about 10 feet long, and has an old small sized refrigerator/freezer that runs constantly to maintain temperature, a mini-dishwasher, and a 4 burner stove with oven, inside of which were stored the pots and pans because there was nowhere else to store them. The total counter space was 2 feet deep and 3 feet long ending in a sink with garbage disposal. There were cabinets along the wall stocked with 6 sets of dishes/glasses, along with a blender, coffee maker, colander, mixing bowls, sieve, and two large casserole dishes with mismatched tops, one that didn't fit at all. There was so little storage room that the silverware was in a box on the counter, and the cooking utensils were stored in the cabinet above the dining table where the TV and DVD player sat. It was impossible to prepare anything more than spaghetti with pre-made sauce. Mini-kitchen would be a more appropriate name for the food prep/storage area.
The dining area consisted of a table that was pushed up against the wall with a wall cabinet containing the TV above it. In this position, only 2 people could sit at it for a meal. If the table was brought out away from the wall, then the coffee table in the “living room” area needed to be pushed up flush against the sleeper sofa and there would still be barely enough room to fit 4 people around it. Next to the dining area was a fireplace in the corner, which basically took up valuable space that could have been put to better use. In the “living room” area, seating possibilities were limited to the pullout sofa bed (slightly worn out and soft), 4 metal folding chairs, and the 3 chairs for the dining table. However, there was not nearly enough space in the room to put that many chairs out. In short, you had to “put away” the dining room before using the living room and vice versa to eat.
On the positive side, there was a sliding door that provided access to a small balcony that overlooked a park area with mountains in the distance. The balcony could fit 2 chairs and a small table for sitting/dining in pleasant weather, and there was enough light in the living area to read by when the sun went down.
All in all the condo was not one of the better places we've had the pleasure to stay in through our exchanges, but since we spent most of our time out enjoying the wonderful environment surrounding Park City, the layout was not as inconvenient as it would be for someone that wished to spend a good portion of their time relaxing at the resort. In short, the complex is in need of an update and additionally, this unit is truly just an over-sized studio apartment that accommodates no more than 2 adults comfortably and should be advertised as such. All that being said, the resort staff was wonderful throughout our stay and deserve praise for doing all they could to make our stay enjoyable.
Although activities at the resort itself are rather limited, there is plenty to do in and around the area of Park City. For the culture/shopping seeker, the town's main street is lined with art galleries, antique shops, tourist gift shops, restaurants, bars, clothing stores, candy stores, and a museum. There are interesting residential streets with old houses, a main park with skateboarding, picnic tables, sporting field, and benches to watch the world go by. Nearby, there are two main outlet shopping areas. On top of that, Salt Lake City is only 25 miles away with its own plethora of historical buildings, museums and architecture along with venues for college and professional sporting events, symphonies, plays, and of course, the world famous Mormon Tabernacle and Choir. For the more physically active types, there are hiking and mountain biking trails at all of the nearby ski resorts, along with skiing in the winter. Nearby in the National Forests, one can also go hiking, mountain biking, fishing, river rafting, and horseback riding. We ended up hiking at Deer Valley Ski Resort on the multiple hike/bike trails they have. We also went hiking on some of the National Forest trails. Fresh air and gorgeous views make outdoor activities in this area a great way to spend a vacation.
For eating in, there are 4 Supermarkets in Park City. The closest Costco is in Salt Lake City, just off the highway to Park City from the SLC airport. For eating out, there are plenty of restaurants offering many different types of cuisines from around the world, as well as just plain American traditional meals. During the “shoulder” seasons there are a lot of coupons for 10-15% off meals, and free companion meals, or desserts. During warmer weather, many restaurants offer outdoor dining areas.
All in all, we had a wonderful time in the area and would definitely return. We would probably try to book at a different resort, though.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Kip F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skokie, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2010

We are on the last night of our week stay at the Park Regency Hotel, 1710 Prospector Ave., Park City, UT 84060 as this is being written by the glow of the real wood fire in our unit's fireplace. The kitchen has all new stainless steel appliances, small but real granite countertop, and was nicely equipped with dishes and all the pots/pans we needed for any cooking we did. We time-share exchanged in for the week. The room was clean, and a maid came in mid-week to clean and change towels, which is good for a time-share week. The view of thew ski area from our suite's balcony is great.

They have a very contempory lobby with coffee available all day. The staff members we met all were very pleasant and helpful, sometimes even cheerfully gabby! The pool and hot tub area were older, but quite adequate. A half dozen brand new gas grills are available for guests in the open area on the first floor. Sure the place shows signs of age in a few places, but it is a very nice place to stay overall, and recommended.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Trottravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2010

Fun area to visit, with Sundance (outdoor plays) Salt Lake Zoo, caves to visit and hike to, alpine slide is relatively cheap, olympic training center was a fun few hours. Park Regency had everything we needed.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clefan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boca raton fl
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2010

Stayed at the Park Regency for one week for a ski trip at the end of Feb. I requested a top floor room months before arriving and then called a few days before to request again. Upon arrival, the front desk clerk said they had no top floor rooms which was clearly a lie because the hotel was not very occupied. So, every morning and night, we were awakened to the people in the room above us clomping around like a herd of cattle. In addition, when checking in, the girl took a phone call for about 5 minutes from her husband while we stood there after traveling for 15 hours...thanks. We rented a one bedroom unit. The bedroom was adequate enough. Extra blankets would have been nice. There were robes and a welcome kit. Linens were ok. I though the bed was comfortable. The bedroom is located in the front of the unit next to the hall so when late night party goers came home it was extremely loud-but only until they went in their room. So, the living room/kitchen combination had a wood burning fireplace. The kitchen was well stocked for any meal preparation. Part of the kitchen had been updated-the counters and cabinets. The appliances were very old. The couch and desk area was relatively new. It was a small area but ok for 2 people. When my brother showed to sleep on the pull out couch it was VERY crowded with no storage for his things. So, the bathroom was straight from 1970. Absolutely NO updating. Very small. There was mold in the tub area and the bathtub faucet was difficult to turn it was so old and moldy. I could not stand being in there and after cold day of skiing, a nice hot shower is needed. Needless to say, it was the worst part of the condo. Storage was pretty limited with only one closet. Maid service comes 1x/wk. She did not clean-just changed the towels and sheets. The bathroom needed to be cleaned and the carpets vacuumed and kitchen floor mopped which she did not do. The hot tub in the afternoon was too crowded to go in. I can’t imagine if the hotel was full what would be going on. The pool was warm and felt nice. Definite repairs were needed to the pool area with chipped tiles all over. The underground parking was really nice, although not well lit. We always got a spot. As for the location, I really liked it. I thought it would be inconvenient from Main St since it is not within walking distance but we ended up eating/partying in Prospector Square a lot. There are some very good restaurants you can walk to including Blind Dog (super sushi) and Cafe Trang (Vietnamese-so delish-not crazy expensive). The grocery store is about 1 mile away with the state liquor store (closed on Sundays!) in the same shopping center. To sum it up, we paid about $75 night for the rental. This was a fair enough price for what you got. It was way better than a standard hotel room and of course, you can’t stay at the Ritz Carlton for that. I would probably stay here again if the price was the same and would get a 2 bedroom unit if more than 2 people were traveling. Try to get a top floor room away from the one elevator!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellestravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Park City hotels
0.8 mi away
The Lodge at the Mountain Village by ASRL
3.3 mi away
Silverado Lodge
Silverado Lodge
#32 of 60 in Park City
222 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Park City
Hyatt Place Park City
#7 of 60 in Park City
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn & Pancake House
0.7 mi away
Silver King Hotel
Silver King Hotel
#30 of 60 in Park City
289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Prospector Accommodations
Prospector Accommodations
#55 of 60 in Park City
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Regency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Regency Hotel

Property: Park Regency Hotel
Address: 1710 Prospector Ave, Park City, UT 84060-7318
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 60 Hotels in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Regency Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Prospector Square, Park Regency is minutes away from all of Park City's summer and winter activities. Relax in cozy one- or two-bedroom suites and enjoy on-site amenities such as an indoor pool, whirlpool spa, and exercise equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Regency Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Park City
Park City Regency Hotel
Park Regency Hotel Park City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing