We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Overlook”
Review of Park City Museum

Park City Museum
Ranked #5 of 95 things to do in Park City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover Park City's history at the Park City Museum on Historic Main Street. Prospectors discovered silver in 1868 in the area that soon after became Park City. Mine owners made fortunes, while thousands of miners simply made a living. After silver prices declined, Park City reinvented itself as a ski resort town. Interactive displays tell the Park City story in an engaging manner. Fun for the whole family! Open 7 days a week (Mon-Sat 10-7, Sun 12-6).
centralNJ
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Don't Overlook”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

After 4 trips to Park City we finally took some time to visit the PC Museum. This turned out to be a real find. Right on Main Street but significantly upgraded over the last few years. Museum covers 3 floors with the old PC jail in the basement. The exhibits are well done and make this museum a great stop for an hour or two when recovering from skiing.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank shess10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    111
    15
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
113 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Worth the time and money -- a quality experience.”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Very well done. Everyone in our family ages 11, 14, and adults, found it interesting and fun. The kids did a scavenger hunt that they really enjoyed. Allow at least an hour.

Helpful?
Thank TMWpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We stopped in because we had extra time before our dinner reservation and were pleasantly surprised by how interesting and well done this museum was. Our daughter enjoyed the hunt for clues around the museum (rewarded by a prize at the end) and we found the history of the Park City area very interesting.

Hint - make sure to ask for the map of clues when you start through the museum.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Beaucoupdetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunwoody, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“They put some money into this”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

If you are interested in the history of Park City, go to this museum. It has top-notch exhibits that walk you through Park City's history from the silver mining boom town to skiing to the home of the Sundance Film Festival. It was very interesting and worth the price of admission. It's a good different activity for our day off of the mountain.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank jacket88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“New Museum is the heart of Park City”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

This little gem does a great job of displaying the history of Park City. It is located on the site of the original jail and the cells in the basement including irons remain. Take an hour or two to visit this little gem. They have added an elevator for accesability.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank AndybLewes_DE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Park City Museum also viewed

 
Park City, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Park City Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing