We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Find”
Review of Purple Sage Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Purple Sage Motel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Panguitch
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Once in a while when I come across something unexpected - it deserves a say so. This unexpected find happens to be a family owned operating motel called Purple Sage.

PSM is in Panguitch, UT, a historical town. This is what the majority of us would described a sleepy, unassuming and not happening town. We were here for our Bryce Canyon hike and found this motel via internet.

There were at least 10 motels to choose from in this sleepy town. We chose this, for it's outside appearance, appeal and also recent reviews of this property.

Our room is clean and comfortable with plush bath, hand and wash towels. A luxury, if you asked me. Most of the motels we stayed in have towels that should have been retired but not here at Purple Sage. Towels are white and plush - like those you find in luxury hotels.

The proprietor, Grant, is a great man. He is not just kind but accommodating as well. Our motor vehicle was muddy and dusty from our long drive in from Plano, Texas.

We had one more hike we wanted to make and with the check out time of 11am that would be impossible. When asked if we have a later check out time, Grant, being accommodating as he is, obliged. To us, this is important.

The only thing I would asked Grant is perhaps has a small refrigerator in the room. But we came with an ice cooler so we were fine.



Nice room with comfortable bed
Nice television
Nice towels
Free Wi Fi

THUMBS UP.

Room Tip: Not applicable here - as this town sleeps at 9 o'clock in the evening. Church mouse quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 275 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights while on a trip in the area. They are clean good rooms at a good price. Beds are good and comfy. It's pretty close to Bryce Canyon. Nice people In the office. They knew the area well. We will definitely be coming back and staying right here!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Jordon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

A good night's stay for the price. Not a whole lot to choose from in this area but our room was clean and comfortable. And that's all we asked for. We only stayed one night here. Dinner in town was a little more questionable as there is not much there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne5477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

They've tried to improve this place...new paint, updated bathroom, furniture, tv, overhead light fixtures.

What was forgotten was the very squeaky upstairs floor in room 11, the ancient wall mounted a/c, the sagging window blinds, the doubtful if even still safe stairs going up (never seen old cracked wooden steps with nails pulling out) and extremely old and smooth carpet outside.

It's a dated place that is still dated. If this is rated #2 of 14 in Panguitch, don't go any lower...

I'd have not stayed here except for short notice trip planning. I'm spoiled I guess by Holiday Inn Express and BW Plus.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank cheapdental
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

I hesitated giving this an average rating. It is a very dated motel. It was very clean. We had a king size bed room. There was a small table, two chairs, another small table with a bench. The bedspread which appeared to be clean, had some rips in the underside. The staff (owner?) was very helpful. For a town the size of Panguitch (1,500 people) this appears to be the best.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank labguides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We stayed at the Purple Sage for 3 nights in the suite. It had a king bed in the main room and a separate bedroom with 2 queens beds. The place was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. A great place to come back to after hiking for 2 days in Bryce. It is 23 miles from the Bryce entrance, but we decided this town had more variety for restaurant's than staying in the Bryce area. The drive to the park was very scenic.
The owners were very friendly and helpful. The maid service was excellent and they did a great job cleaning each day. It is within walking distance to everything in town. We would recommend this motel for anyone visiting Bryce NP,

Room Tip: If you have a big family, get the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FRANCIS P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We choose this based on Trip Advisor reviews as we wanted to be near Bryce Natl park. Stayed May 27-28.Cost $88.50/night for 2 queen beds. It Is not a 4 star property by any stretch . It is very dated , with old carpeting and comforters, window coverings, the bathrooms have been somewhat updated, rooms are very small. Everything worked OK.Not much else in this town. I would stay elsewhere Kanab, which is very nice, or Springdale just outside Zion or Cedar City UTAH.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panguitch
5.3 mi away
Quality Inn Bryce Canyon
Quality Inn Bryce Canyon
#3 of 14 in Panguitch
567 reviews
0.6 mi away
Color Country Motel
Color Country Motel
#4 of 14 in Panguitch
136 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Panguitch
Days Inn Panguitch
#11 of 14 in Panguitch
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon City
5,209 reviews
18.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Bryce Canyon Grand Hotel
0.5 mi away
Bryce Way Motel
Bryce Way Motel
#7 of 14 in Panguitch
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purple Sage Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purple Sage Motel

Address: 132 East Center, Panguitch, UT 84759
Location: United States > Utah > Panguitch
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Panguitch
Price Range: $54 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Purple Sage Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purple Sage Hotel Panguitch
Purple Sage Motel Panguitch, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing