We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for the price!”
Review of Purple Sage Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Purple Sage Motel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Panguitch
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent value for the price!”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

This is an older motel that has been updated and in very good condition -- very clean and the bed was very comfortable. The owners were extremely nice and told us some of the history of the town of Panguitch, which we found very interesting. We will definitely stay here again on future trips to Montana.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    124
    62
    9
    2
See reviews for
50
127
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Washinton utah
Level Contributor
48 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We were coming into town 4 business & made it a lil weekend getaway 2 :) The motel was very clean, friendly & quiet. There r table & chairs outside the rooms 2 make relaxing 2. It is right off the "main" street where everything is located.
The owner was very nice & made me feel that I would b safe :)
Awesome place 2 stay while in Panguitch

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zac An Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, WA
Level Contributor
97 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed in the family room which had three beds in two rooms. The main room was your standard motel room (bed, small table/chairs, tv & bath). The second room had two beds, tv, table/chairs but no bath. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. The AC worked. It was a bit noisy in the room. The highway is close by and the windows are older aluminum frame single pane so you hear the trucks going by. But, as evening turned to night traffic died and things quieted down. The bathroom was clean and water pressure was good and hot. Wifi signal in room #6 was terrible. Working in 3G now as iPhone won't hold motels wifi connection. There is a free neighboring signal that is stronger than the motel's so I used it for the laptop last night. Price ($125) seemed a bit much for what we got. There are no other amenities other than the room. No pool, no breakfast, no nothing. Panguitch is "near" Bryce but $125 for this room is too much. If ever in town overnight again we will probably try a different place.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill_from_Washington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed in the family suite...it was clean,smelled good(No smoking means no smoking:),& had ample towels for our family of 8. The bathroom was updated...no mold or icky shower/toilet. Only 30 minute drive to Bryce Canyon...we really enjoyed our stay here and think it was a great value!
Highly recommend...my girls' only complaint is the TV in the 2nd bedroom is a bit of a dinosaur so the image is a bit fuzzy but overall..great room, great price! The owners were very personable and pleasant and extremely helpful on the phone~

Room Tip: I can only comment on our room...room # 6-family suite is highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
102 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Stayed here one night after web research. I was a little worried at the exterior (it needs sprucing up), but the room was really nice--clean, well-arranged, beds were very comfortable, lots of hot water and good pressure in the shower, nice toiletries, great cable channels, nice hosts. You can't beat the price. A little bit of a drive to Bryce Canyon, but listen, folks, it's not worth paying what Ruby's Inn charges for their lodging. Panguitch seems to have fallen a bit on hard times--one convenience store/gas station, a large one, was out of milk. And we got surly service from a teenager at the pizza place in town (pizza was good, however).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Moniquepeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

I drove into town looking for places to stay for one night and decided to stay here based on previous reviews on tripadvisor. I liked it so much that the next night, instead of continuing on my journey a little bit further down the road toward Zion NP, I decided to stay another night at the Purple Sage. The nights I stayed were Thur/Fri Oct 27th and 28th, 2011 and looking back on it, what stands out to me was the cleanliness of the room and their beds. The bathroom was spotless and they have great mattresses which are more comfortable then mine own back home. I was impressed and will stay here again the next time as it was a great base for venturing out to Bryce Canyon NP as well as other activities in the area. The owner was very helpful when I asked about doing laundry. They didn't have facilities onsite but he gave me directions to a laundry mat located nearby. I also had my mountain bike with me and it was really dirty from riding earlier that day but the local car wash was out of order so the motel owner let me pull up to the side of his house and use his water hose to rinse off my bike. When I asked about places to eat breakfast, he pointed out all the local places and even had their menus for me to view (all were good places to eat, btw). Great customer service and I appreciate it very much. One last thing....I liked the 32 inch flat screen TV in the room as it enabled me to watch the World Series both nights.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank r28a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
149 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We stayed 2 nights whilst we explored Bryce Canyon. Panguitch is a one horse sort of town and I think this motel does itself a disservice in the photo on their website. OK it is bit of an old school motel, but the welcome was very friendly and helpful and the room was exceptionally clean. Free wi-fi was excellent. Just a 20 minute drive to Bryce.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank janeandallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panguitch
5.3 mi away
Quality Inn Bryce Canyon
Quality Inn Bryce Canyon
#3 of 14 in Panguitch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
18.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,642 reviews
18.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Bryce Canyon Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Color Country Motel
Color Country Motel
#4 of 14 in Panguitch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
23.6 mi away
Bryce Pioneer Village
23.5 mi away
Red Ledges Inn
Red Ledges Inn
#3 of 5 in Tropic
3.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purple Sage Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purple Sage Motel

Property: Purple Sage Motel
Address: 132 East Center, Panguitch, UT 84759
Location: United States > Utah > Panguitch
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Panguitch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Purple Sage Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purple Sage Hotel Panguitch
Purple Sage Motel Panguitch, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing