We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to camp and hike”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Red Canyon

Red Canyon
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Panguitch
Certificate of Excellence
Valrico, Florida
Level Contributor
309 reviews
194 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Nice place to camp and hike”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

You will find it just prior to the entrance to Bryce Canyon. It is a very picturesque place given the rock formations and the red color of the soil. There is a nice campground as well as numerous self guided hiking trails. A couple miles prior but also part of this area is the Losee and Casto Canyons which offer substantial hiking trails that vary in length from 1 to 13.5 miles. You will also find a horseback riding via a vendor at the Losee Canyon Trailhead. Access to the Red Canyon campground is paved with nice facilities but heading out to Losee or Casto will require travel via gravel road that will be impassable should it rain.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank edge8400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    354
    116
    12
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“No Crowds!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

The best thing about Red Canyon in June is that you don't have to compete with the dozens of busloads of tourists and hundreds of hikers you run into in Bryce and Zion. Same red rocks, same hoodoos, just no people, especially on the Arches Trail. Oh - and it's free! Note that the trail can be a little slippery due to the loose gravel.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Grandpa117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Must See - Take the time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

We questioned if we should have stayed in the town outside of Bryce Canyon but the area looked to be owned by one family and not top notch reviews. We stayed in Panguitch which we are glad we did because we came across this area on the way back into Bryce. We stopped at the visitor center and got a trail guide. Took the long trail which was so very neat you will love it. Note the ground area is very loose rock so good shoes it recommended. I used my trekking poles which is not a must but helped me not misstep. The trail ended down the road and you walk back via the road. Did not take long to walk be we stopped and explored some so we did in 1.5 hours. Very cool adventure and great hoodoos.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SS_Forever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plant City, Florida
Level Contributor
183 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“A beautiful spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

We were on our way to Bryce Canyon and came across Red Canyon. It is a short distance from the town of Panguitch. Very petty red rock against bright blue skis. There are two arches that you drive through also, with lots of places to pull over and take pictures. So pretty!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
217 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“A very beautiful stop!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

We will definitely spend more time here next time. We were pushed for time, so we only stopped briefly and took a few pictures. It is a really breathtaking area. I would highly recommend stopping!

Helpful?
Thank ScenicWeddings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Canyon also viewed

 

Been to Red Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing