We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Peruvian cuisine”

La Carreta Peruvian Restaurant
Ranked #49 of 218 Restaurants in Orem
Cuisines: Spanish
Restaurant details
Provo, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
306 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great Peruvian cuisine”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My husband has traveled expensively and gets a yearning for authentic South American food from time to time. La Carreta is our go-to place for that kind of food. It's never busy so I hope they stay in business. They've been there quite a few years. The chicken and milanesas are our favorites, served with good fries and an OK salad. It's different but the food is delicious. We keep going back when we get that hankering for SA food!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaye N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    15
    5
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orem, Utah
Level Contributor
60 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“weird but good”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

It's so cheap, but you may have to order a few things. Avoid the weird flattened steaks. They are stringy

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank robbieXpierce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not the best”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The steaks are very thinly sliced and mine was very tough. They served everything with fries. The taste really was not that great. I won't eat here again.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Level Contributor
328 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Best Peruvian in Utah Valley”
Reviewed May 26, 2012

If you like Peruvian--real Peruvian, then you'll love this restaurant. There food is authentic, and always good. It is a family business, and everyone in the family is friendly and helpful.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank salupm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“gag with a dirty spoon”
Reviewed May 1, 2009

gag with a dirty spoon

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Carreta Peruvian Restaurant also viewed

Orem, Wasatch Range
Orem, Wasatch Range
 
Orem, Wasatch Range
Orem, Wasatch Range
 
Orem, Wasatch Range
 

Been to La Carreta Peruvian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing