We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The Reviewer Who Said This Was Average Is An Idiot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Joe's Cafe

Joe's Cafe
Ranked #7 of 215 Restaurants in Orem
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Provo, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Reviewer Who Said This Was Average Is An Idiot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

ok folks: this is SOUTHERN style breakfast. That means it will be heavy, fried food, none of this healthy light-breakfast stuff that you serve out west.

I mean, seriously, you order biscuits and gravy and expect it to not be heavy? It's biscuits and sausage in gravy! It's one of the heaviest things you can eat for breakfast! You want light, go buy yourself some fruit.

I liked this pace, it was good. Joe makes sure you have an excellent time, and he'll give you samples of food you didn't order just to let you know what it was like. The pork chop & eggs were very nicely sliced, with a unique gravy to it, that frankly, was a bit lighter than most gravies I'm used to. And let me stress, it was unique in a good way.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CTF2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    11
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
310 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Excellent Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

Took my son to this place from breakfast. Even though it was only a few blocks from his work he didn't know of it. It is a small restaurant and easy to overlook. I had a Denver omelet and my son had the biscuits and gravy with a couple eggs. Both were tasty. The omelet was large with a generous helping of hash-browns. My son wished the biscuit was larger for all the gravy. Not much seating so it does get crowded and with Joe doing all the cooking it can take a bit for the food to show up. Worth the wait though. Obviously a family affair and Joe knew a lot of his customers by name. A large group would have trouble fitting in.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wyosoldier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“#3 in Orem for a reason”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

Best breakfast I have had. Joe is there and cooking. Ordered a three egg vegetarian omelet, fresh vegetables. Next time I will split with a friend. I like how Joe does not use salt and pepper, let's the customer decide what it needs. I am from the South and noticed Joe has grits. I ordered and before doctoring, tasted it. Glad I did. He had them already set up. Joe uses thick bacon which in itself a meal. My son had the pancake, egg, and bacon meal.

Helpful?
Thank koko0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Love it! Try the grits.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

My husband and I woke up one morning in the mood for a good diner breakfast. We found this place online, and are glad we went.

I had eggs, bacon, hash browns and sausage. It was well cooked and seasoned, with the right amount of greasiness. My husband got the biscuits and gravy and loved it. We tried the grits, and they are spectacular! I make hot cereal a lot at home, but I have been craving Joe's ever since I went. It's perfectly sweet and savory...mmmmmmm.

The cook has mastered his recipes. I cannot wait to go back :)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank StayHappy1232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas
Level Contributor
247 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

The bacon is locally sourced I think and is spectacular!!!! The grits are sweet,and very good but I am a salt grit southerner. The quality of the cooking and attention to watching the food to be sure it was cooked perfectly madeall the difference. We are from New orleans and know good food this place is terriffic. DO NOT MISS BEAKFAST HERE, its high quality food. The owner is a "charcter" and gives a great show. You will not be dissapointed.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pkmcallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Cafe also viewed

Orem, Wasatch Range
Orem, Wasatch Range
 
Orem, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Joe's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing