We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who is not to Love Cafe Rio????”
Review of Cafe Rio

Cafe Rio
Ranked #7 of 217 Restaurants in Orem
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Provo, Utah
Level Contributor
217 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Who is not to Love Cafe Rio????”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

While I would not exactly classify Cafe Rio as Mexican food, I would classify it as DELICIOUS! The every day specials are hard to pass up and the pulled pork salad is to die for. There isn't a thing on the menu that isn't delicious. Such tasty beans - yum. The service is fast - set up like a ride at Disneyland - and the servers are efficient, fast, and so nice. Love Cafe Rio!!!!!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank twoonthego70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    34
    13
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orem, Utah
Level Contributor
145 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Food's good, but...”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

I think everyone likes Cafe Rio food, and we are not exceptions, but the place and the system are far too hectic. A customer shouldn't have to feel pressured and intimidated by the process of getting his food ordered and prepared. It is difficult, at best, to communicate with the food handlers and preparers on the other side of a very high plexiglas counter with all the noise and urgenc pace of the place and the sometimes labored English of the folks taking and preparing the orders. Sometimes the orders are mixed up, and one time I had to wait 15 minutes or more for more chicken to be grilled for my order. --And no apologies are given when screwups occur. I contacted the place's complaint number afterwards but got no response.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our favorite date night”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We love Cafe Rio! Our favorite thing to do is get takeout and eat it with a movie at home. They do a good job accommodating my gluten free needs.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank stef_ray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
89 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“One of our favorite restaurants! 5 stars!”
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We absolutely love Cafe Rio. My husband always gets the award-winning Pork Barbocoa salad and I love the fideos (Friday only special in Orem), grilled chicken salad, and coconut shrimp tacos. We always go to Orem so I can get Stevia-sweetened sugarfree Strawberry Lemonade--my favorite! Yummy, fresh, and delicious. Watch out for the famous green tomatillo dressing--you'll be addicted soon. :)

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SpencerClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of the Best Managed and Highest Quality Cafe Rio Restaurants Around!”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

In direct contrast to the poorly managed Cafe Rio in Cedar City, this location in Orem, Utah is top notch! The managers are energetic and friendly every time we have gone in the place. They act like they actually love serving you fresh, great-tasting Mexican food, in huge portions, with a smile and great conversation. They keep the place clean and the employees happy, which translates into a great dining experience all the way around. Sure, you can pick up some Taco Bell, or some other junk Mexican food, but when you are ready to take your taste buds to the next level, drop in on the magical Mexican food performances going on at the Orem, Utah Cafe Rio! From the artisans who orchestrate the grilling of the fresh tortillas on the large, hot carousel until they are golden brown, to the way the manager himself performed like an exquisite knife juggler slicing up the fire-grilled steak for my favorite quesadilla, they demonstrate they are committed to high quality and customer satisfaction at this location. I go out of my way to eat here whenever I am in town... And you can grab a good price on a lathe at the Harbor Freight next door!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rio also viewed

Draper, Wasatch Range
South Jordan, Wasatch Range
 
Salt Lake City, UT
Orem, Wasatch Range
 
Orem, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Cafe Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing