We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little shop”
Review of The Rock Stop

The Rock Stop
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great little shop”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

A fun place full of cool stuff..including Mickey. She alone was worth the stop. We drove away with several great geodes, espresso and a lot of good conversation. You should make a stop when driving buy. Tell her that photographer guy sent you!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank rmwpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    6
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Actual Espresso”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed right down the street from The Rock Stop, and our attempts to find a cup of actual espresso or a latte with foamed milk and without gaudy heaps of cinnamon were repeatedly and blatantly unsuccessful until we found this place. The coffee was delicious, and the atmosphere friendly and comfortable; lounging in a courtyard surrounded by various minerals and colored glass is surprisingly nice. There are indeed many rock shops in the area (four just within Orderville that we found), and the selection of the rocks themselves may not even be the best, but this establishment overall certainly is.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Serga C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Connecticut
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“We Got Rocks”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Rock Stop was pretty much right down the street from where we were staying near Zion. The guy who owns it was very knowledgeable about rocks and minerals. He had a huge selection of geodes, polished, fossilized and jewelry along with petrified wood and some figurines. It was an interesting place and we bought some geodes. A friend made me a necklace from one we bought there. It's cool to stop to see the rocks.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lynniepooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“#1 Roadside Attraction in Utah”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Do not miss this stop on you way between Zion and Bryce National Parks. This is a one-of-a-kind first order roadside attraction. Used to house dinosaur models. Get your soft serve ice cream and expresso here. Put a stick pin in the map and join passersby from all over the world!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank decophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, New Jersey
Level Contributor
68 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great place to stop...for rocks and more”
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Rock shops are everywhere in Utah - but shops with friendly owners like Don Davis and good old fashioned customer service are a bit harder to come by. We were driving through the area travelling from Bryce to Zion. I knew there were construction delays on the Zion Mt. Carmel Highway, so I figured we better make a rest stop while we could. I saw that the Rock Stop not only sold the usual selection of rocks and fossils, but also had snacks, ice cream, and (maybe most importantly) restrooms. We ended up spending an hour in the store talking with Mr. Davis (the Virginia earthquake had just happened and he was kind enough to look up info on the 'net for us).

If you're travelling through the area between Bryce and Zion, be sure to stop in and say 'hi' to the Rock Stop's owners!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeandGayle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Rock Stop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing