We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food...lousy service”

Two Bit Street Cafe
Ranked #110 of 368 Restaurants in Ogden
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Aptos, California
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
274 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good food...lousy service”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Waited over one hour for our meal to be served. One members
of our party never served. other side orders forgotten. waitress rarely checked on our status and then blamed the cook as we were leaving.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank soifdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    19
    11
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kalispell, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Good food - interesting decor - needs a thorough cleaning.”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

What a cool old place. Just like stepping into a diner of the 1930s or 40s. Unfortunately, it also feels like the 30s or 40s was the last time the place had a good cleaning. Maybe they can't clean the paint and light fixtures for fear they might break and couldn't be replaced, hence losing the ambiance they create. I had an uneasy feeling until my food arrived, wondering what condition the kitchen might be in. No worries. the chef obviously know what she is doing and despite the unkempt appearance and old, stained menus, the food was fresh, unique and mostly well prepared. The menu features some rarely seen items like Scotch Eggs, Muffaletta, and a ploughmans lunch. Some of the country potatoes were underdone, and the toast was haphazardly brushed with butter, but otherwise a great meal. The ladies who run the place are a hoot! Kinda crusty and sassy but still attentive and efficient service. I know they're going for a certain feel with the furnishings and decor, but they need to find a way to maintain that "feel" and still clean the place. If they don't, the efforts and talent of a good chef may be underappreciated and business will suffer. In their defense, I saw no evidence that my food or service ware was in anyway unsanitary.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cascadefirechief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomaston, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Weak. Really weak”
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Hit this place in Feb with some ski buddies. Without ANY exaggeration I have never seen so little steak on a Philly cheese steak sandwich. It was so weak we all just laughed out loud when my son opened it up for a look. I had a shrimp and pasta dish. Shrimp was pretty scary, limp like it had been around for a couple days so I didn't chance it. Should have known we were in trouble when there was only people at one other table during prime dinner hour. "One and done" with this restaurant.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RedSoxRule27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“can't agree with everything”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

ok, i'm not local here but went here based on some of the reviews i found. let's start with the good!
good value, comfortable, cool historic inside and the some of the food was pretty good and it looked like some of the other dishes i saw pass on to other tables looked good as well. I had the garlic hamburger, son had the chicken fingers and my wife had the cuban (why, i don't know because if you're not in miami, you're chancing it), the hamburger was tasty, smaller than i would have thought and a bit more done than med. chicken fingers were excellent and the hand cut blue cheese chips were really good....cuban was a chance mistake. looked good but taste wasn't there. our waitress was as sweet as could be but more on that later.

seriously, we ordered a hamburger, sandwich and chicken fingers and there were 3 other tables that had already eaten and we had to wait 40 min....a common issue brought up by other reviewers. we went early like 515p. and i've worked in restaurants so couldn't understand what took so long.
the waitress was really sweet but wasn't experienced and didn't get any, i mean any help from anyone! she forgot drinks and was flustered and working as hard as she could but wasn't cutting it. sure i saw the owner do a magic trick at a table (which they waited 30 min for their drinks) but if he had any sensitivity to his staff he'd have been helping the wait staff getting drinks.

this place has so much potential with the right management. nothing was clicking that night.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frank c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“Always order the soup!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Penny cooks with so much love ...and flare, and expertise, and boldness, and tradition, and respect. All that. But always, first-and-foremost, with love. And, if that wasn't enough, James will treat you to a full table-side magic show, every time you come in! Truly charming place, with the warmth of home.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GoslinJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Two Bit Street Cafe also viewed

Ogden, Wasatch Range
Ogden, Wasatch Range
 
Ogden, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Two Bit Street Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing