We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A trip back to a time of great ice cream and wondeful service.”

Farr Better Ice Cream
Ranked #1 of 9 Dessert in Ogden
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Fast Food
Restaurant details
Ogden, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A trip back to a time of great ice cream and wondeful service.”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

When you walk in, you feel like you have time traveled to a better time when life was more relaxing and the most important item was to have fresh ice cream and be among friends. I love the tile on the walls, the old fashioned equipment and coolers and the openness of the staff. The hot fudge is out of this world and you know it was not bought at Costco. The ice cream is smooth and sweet and yummy and worth the wait of any line on any day. I usually go there and get a sundae and sit outside and watch people and cars go by. One of these days, I would love to take a tour!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peter k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    42
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spanish Fork, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Awesome ice cream with an atmosphere of stepping back in time.”
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

The quality of ice cream is excellent. The atmosphere is incredible. I feel like I stepped back in time 3 generations ago. This is must if you are visiting Ogden. It's a local favorite as well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mkdkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rexburg, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Same great Ice Cream for over 50 years”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Don't know how old I was the first time I had ice cream here, I just remember it was good. It still is at least 50 years later. Brought all my kids here and will bring my grand kids here when I get a chance. Had one of their new flavors and it was great. My wife found an ice crystal in hers. Nice and clean and they were playing very old music. Love this place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Goshawk12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great lil ice cream parlor!”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This place is just great! The original ice cream shop! Service was wonderful and the banana split was fantastic!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vhicks2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farr West, Utah, United States
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Old fashioned charm”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

A great place to stop for some ice cream, malts, candy cookies or fudge. The store itself is unfortunately quite small and can easily get over crowded. Make sure you take a number as soon as you get there- there is no line.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AwfullyBigAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farr Better Ice Cream also viewed

Ogden, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Farr Better Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing