We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus High Country Inn
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Ogden
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The staff was very friendly and helpfull. The rooms were nice and quiet. We enjoyed the koi pond and the little park in the rear of the hotel. That was a nice buffer from the highway. The lighting was a little dim but the esthetics were nice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Marty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwhci, General Manager at Best Western Plus High Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

I love to hear when guests find their way out to our little park and koi pond in the back of the property. We try hard to let folks know about this area, but I still think many miss out on this little oasis. Glad to hear that our staff took good care of you during your stay. Hope to see you back on a future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (727)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

598 - 604 of 727 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2013

NO breakfast provided. Odor in room, Poor lighting in bathroom, heating/air conditioner noisy, OLD blow dryer. No elevators for upstairs access.. you have to carry luggage upstairs. Not my favorite. Because of no breakfast, the front desk kept "pushing" the local restaurant in the parking lot. Wonder if Best Western gets a kick back??

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwhci, General Manager at Best Western Plus High Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

We certainly made some mistakes during your stay. I am very sorry that the room you stayed in did not smell fresh and clean and that it had a noisy HVAC unit. I wish I had spoken with you personally so we could get the issues in your room fixed. As to your rhetorical question about the restaurant set up, the folks that own this property do own and operate the restaurant on site. The restaurant has been voted "Best Breakfast" so many times in this area, that we are very proud of it, and try to encourage guests to try it out. I am very sorry if you felt pushed too far by this. I hope that you would consider giving us a second chance to try and make things right should you ever travel through Ogden again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Excellent hotel an staff rooms are always refreshing and relaxing. One of my most favorite hotel destinations whenever I'm traveling out west. One of my must stay hotel destinations. Looking forward to my next visit. Shaun F.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Shaun F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwhci, General Manager at Best Western Plus High Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

We all love to have good friends in our life, but there is something special about having a best friend. You can always count on them. I can't tell you how happy I am to hear that our property is a friend that you feel you can count on whenever you come through Ogden. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We decided to layover an extra day, after a long day on the road. Rest up and all that. The room was clean and bright. The bathroom, although some what small, had a good size shower and toilet (unlike the last one we stayed at). We tried the pool, found it to cold and tried the hot tub and found it way to hot (no I am not Goldie locks). One call to the main desk and problem solved. Which is why I'm giving up the fifth dot.

That dot is for the staff. Best Western had better appreciate the professional manner which the staff, there, did their job. If you went to them with a problem ... they got on it.

Room Tip: A room in the *inner court area* will help with the train sounds. Although it wasn't that big of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwhci, General Manager at Best Western Plus High Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

At the end of a long day, I got a laugh from your Goldie Locks comment. Your remark is the kind that typically makes me the most happy. I would love it if we never made mistakes, or had issues at the property, but this is just not so. However, I love to hear when one of my staff members rescues a bad situation with excellent customer service. We very much appreciate your feedback and that fifth dot.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I liked this hotel, and the staff was friendly, however it did not offer a free breakfast. There are nicer hotels closer to city center, resturants, that offer a free breakfast for the same rate as this hotel. If your a snow bunny then would be okay. If you are a buisiness travel you will expect more.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Dwight S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwhci, General Manager at Best Western Plus High Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

I really appreciate your feedback about the breakfast and the rates. The owners of this property also own and operate "Jeremiah's" restaurant onsite. Owing to the fact that we do not offer a free breakfast, we try to keep our rates a bit lower than similar properties in our market here in Ogden. I apologize if this was not the case during your stay. We will make sure to do better at our homework.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I read the reviews and I was concerned that I would not be able to sleep because I am a very light sleeper. So when I called I did as I always do, I requested a very quiet room. I was very happy to sleep quite well through the night. The room was clean, quiet and the bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greatfultravelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwhci, General Manager at Best Western Plus High Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. Getting a peaceful nights rest is paramount to me when I travel. I can take or leave much of the "fluff", but a good bed and quiet location is wonderful. We are pleased that you found that at our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We had a lovely room, although could have been doing with fly swatters - too many flies in the room. Lovely koi pond at the rear and a lovely very very hot hot tub. Problem was the trains at night & during the night - they were sounding their horns.

Room Tip: One furthest away from the train lines :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwhci, General Manager at Best Western Plus High Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Congratulations on your retirement! We hope that you had a wonderfully relaxing trip to celebrate that momentous occasion. For some reason, this last part of the summer, we have had a lot of flies in the area. I apologize if they bothered you during your stay. We are working everyday to get rid of them as much as possible. I hope that these little pests would not keep you from coming back to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogden hotels
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 21 in Ogden
318 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ogden UT
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ogden
2.7 mi away
Bigelow Hotel and Residences, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
2.5 mi away
Courtyard Ogden
Courtyard Ogden
#6 of 21 in Ogden
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus High Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus High Country Inn

Address: 1335 W 12th St, Ogden, UT 84404-5417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Ogden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Ogden
#5 Family Hotel in Ogden
Price Range: $104 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus High Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus High Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western High Country Hotel Ogden
Best Western Ogden
Country Inn Ogden
Ogden Best Western
Ogden Country Inn
Best Western Plus High Country Inn Ogden, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing