We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" WOW "”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus High Country Inn
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Ogden
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“" WOW "”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

On our back from Arizona and Nevada, and had heard good reviews of this Best Western specifically, so we set our GPS and drove straight there on our road trip, WOW was the factor. The girl at the front desk was so awesome with us, it was early and she did everything she could to accomodate our needs to get us a room, of course a dog allergy. The room was just great, everything about it. It was a room inside and up the stairs, had no windows, but still had a beautiful view of the upper lobby area and it was so quiet and really quaint. We are in our 30's and will be passing good reviews of this place and definetly be back in the spring for more than a night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Robbi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwhci, General Manager at Best Western Plus High Country Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Anytime the headline message is "Wow" that always makes my staff and I feel great. We really appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback and we are happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. We would be happy to host you, whenever your return trip brings you through Ogden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    202
    111
    57
    32
See reviews for
250
193
48
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quincy, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2013

What is the name of the beds u have, they are fantastic. Thanks for the service and I will more than likely pick this hotel again if I'm ever in the area. Just spent one night there but it was very cozy and relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwhci, General Manager at Best Western Plus High Country Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for your response and question regarding the mattresses that we have at this property. They are a commercial quality mattress that is made by Serta. If you contact me directly at bwhci@aol.com I can pass your information on to my Serta representative and he can help you get one shipped directly to your door if you are interested. Thank you again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emery, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The Best Western in Ogden was outstanding. Service and staff were a pleasure to do bus. with. The restaurant next door was great. I highly recommend this motel. And will stay again on our next trip through this area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwhci, General Manager at Best Western Plus High Country Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
We are truly pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am also personally grateful for the feedback. I know that it takes time to write a review and it always nice to find someone who really enjoyed their stay with us. We hope to be able to have you return as our guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

when we arrived at the hotel, we had just come from about a 700 to 750 miles trip from Phoenix Arizona. we were tired and ready to get down into our room, and we found the staff to be very helpful and knowledgeable and friendly. when we got to the front room we found that it was spacious and had everything that you could possibly need as a traveler. It was very clean, the bed was very comfortable and everything in it was immaculate and obviously well taken care of. the hotel staff recommended jeremiah's restaurant for us to nurlsh ourselves after our long trip, and it was a great recommendation, the food was great and hit the spot! now a days it's hard to find people standing their service to their customers and the quality and standards of service we found here. thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Osokop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwhci, General Manager at Best Western Plus High Country Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
I cannot tell you how much I appreciate your feedback about the front desk staff here at the property. We have a wonderful group of people on the staff and they have been working very hard to exceed the expectations of our guests when it comes to service. I will be sure to share your feedback with them and know they will be pleased and grateful to hear it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Best Western High Country Inn is the place to stay in Ogden. Hotel is clean, efficient and has a wonderful restaurant across the parking lot. The staff is knowlegeable, efficient and professional. Located at the base of the beautiful Watsach Mountains this BW Hotel provides access to all types of recreation and is centrally located for any kind of business in the valley. You can't go wrong.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwhci, General Manager at Best Western Plus High Country Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
I really appreciate your glowing endorsement of our property. We have been here in business since 1979 and it excellent customers like you that keep us going and make a great place to be. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

There is a railway that runs right behind the property where trains run all night long blowing their horns. I didn't see this in the reviews and it was a pretty major issue since I was hoping for a good night sleep on a long road trip. Our room was on the backside facing the train so there was no ignoring it. :-( First room, the door was jammed and we had to wait only about an hour for a new one. We swam in the pool but it was really cold, even though the air temp was almost 90. My five-year-old was freezing. 2nd room was on ground level, which was a bonus since we had a lot of stuff to bring in, and was non-smoking but smelled like it had been recently converted. The sofa bed appeared to have old sheets on it. We were too tired at that point to call for new ones so made due with the sheets on the main bed. No breakfast (which was my misunderstanding on the web site, and I thought "plus" meant breakfast.) There is a restaurant on site that is really good but busy on a weekend morning. Other than slight stale smell, and old sofa bed sheets, the room was clean. Staff was very nice and as helpful as they could be. The koi pond and paths behind were really nice.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Moosechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwhci, General Manager at Best Western Plus High Country Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
I am really very sorry to hear that the train near our property disrupted your sleep. I recently went to a family reunion at a camp site that was very a near a train and it made the night seem very long. Some nights the train does not pass at all, some nights it comes by several times. Some of our guests enjoy the train noise, but many, like yourself, find it a nuisance. We do provide ear plugs at the front desk for anyone who has a difficult time sleeping with the noise. If you happen to be a light sleeper, I suggest staying on the front side of the property if you ever stop by in the future. I will have my maintenance staff check the pool temperature and I also apologize if a previous guest had smoked in the room that you stayed in and we did not catch this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas Texas
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The Best Western in Ogden provided a welcome respite after a twelve hour drive. Not only was it a gracious welcome in a more than gracious lobby but our room on the south side overlooked the most amazing and well kept garden we have ever experienced at the typical right off the interstate and along a major railway spur, upscale motor inn. The plot of lawn was enormous and a dozen dogs could romp with no interference. our dog was fascinated by all the Koi in the ponds and we were afraid she might go for an early dinner. There were decks and benches bridges and beautiful flowers in abundance, and it was a very welcome oasis on a long road trip. The rooms were not exceptional but certainly good quality. A huge and delicious breakfast was available on site in a stand alone restaurant.

Room Tip: go for the garden side and though there was a train not far off, it was not objectionable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bart16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwhci, General Manager at Best Western Plus High Country Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
I thank you very much for your wonderful review of the property and for selling the garden area for us. I am always very pleased to hear when someone goes out there and discovers what a beautiful area it is. I always enjoy finding out that we exceeded a guests expectation for our type of property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogden hotels
1.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 21 in Ogden
302 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ogden UT
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ogden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#9 of 21 in Ogden
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus High Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus High Country Inn

Property: Best Western Plus High Country Inn
Address: 1335 W 12th Street, Ogden, UT 84404-5417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Ogden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ogden
#4 Business Hotel in Ogden
#5 Family Hotel in Ogden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus High Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus High Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western High Country Hotel Ogden
Best Western Ogden
Country Inn Ogden
Ogden Best Western
Ogden Country Inn
Best Western Plus High Country Inn Ogden, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing