We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice grassy walking park with koi pond out back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus High Country Inn
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Ogden
Utah
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“nice grassy walking park with koi pond out back”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

This is an older but well maintained place. Clean. pillows great, mattress way too soft for my taste. Frig and micro in room, nice granite counter in bath area. surprisingly quiet for being on busy street and we had a room at the top of the stairs which sometimes is noisy. Out back there is a huge grassy area for kids to run with a walking trail and pond with lots of large koi and a water fall and a doggy area off to the side. Pool was too green for me to swim in. No breakfast as they have a adjoining Jeremiah's restaurant. We had dinner there which was good, esp the sweet potato fries, but didn't do breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank AGClayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    202
    111
    57
    32
See reviews for
250
193
48
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Western Norway, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
426 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Really only stopped in Ogden to break up a long journey and had booked BW High Country online well in advance and really just as a place to rest the night. What a surprise... huge clean room, fridge , wifi and very friendly staff . We had a very comfortable , if brief stay at this hotel and would easily recommend it , just sorry we couldnt have stayed a bit longer. Many thanks to the staff and management.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the pool otherwise the noise of yelling kids might annoy an otherwise peace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GunnHa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We found a room here while on a road trip. The front desk staff was super friendly. After we told the gal at the front desk where we were going, she immediately got on line and found us a better/safer road/faster route for us which we really appreciated. The room was large and clean. The hot-tub was a bit weird being enclosed in a glass room inside the fitness centre, I just kept thinking about the mould that most likely was around that room. They didn't offer a complimentary continental breakfast as so many BW's do, but we just got up grabbed some of the coffee they offered and hit the road. - oh and there was no wifi. I would have given it an excellent if it weren't for those facts, but we only needed it for one night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MegsSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland Park, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

This was by far the BEST Best Western I have ever stayed at! The rooms were spacious and clean! I wish my own room at my house was as cool as the room I stayed at here! And the lobby: INCREDIBLE! I don't know where I spent more time; my room or the lobby LOL! Don't listen to negative reviews!!!!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Summerbrieze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwhci, General Manager at Best Western Plus High Country Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind comments on behalf of our property. We appreciate your patronage, and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beaverton
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

If they served breakfast, this would have been 4 stars. The room was fine and clean, but nothing special. They did have a really nice koi pond and path out back that you could walk around. The pool was outside and we didn't use it. The hot tub was in the fitness area and it looked a little gross. This was around the same cost as other hotels we stayed at on our trip, but you got less for the money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tkabj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pharr, TX
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Overpriced, no breakfast, unsecured wi-fi?.. There are other choices in the area. It was close to the interstate... The room was clean... Restaurant was on site but we refused to give them any more business... Did have a micro-wave in the room.. On old TV. did have HBO...

Room Tip: Go elsewhere... To many other choices
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Williamburt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwhci, General Manager at Best Western Plus High Country Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

I do apologize that you did not feel you got a great value for your room price. We are in our busiest season of the year, so prices are certainly higher. However, as we do not have a free breakfast, we try to keep our rates reasonable compared to other similar properties. Our full service restaurant has won numerous awards for their breakfast. I am sorry to hear that you did not give them a try. Again I apologize for any inconvenience that you experienced. Feel free to contact me and we can further discuss your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indio, California
Level 6 Contributor
461 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

I stayed here for one night and was not disappointed. The rooms very very nice and the clerks were excellent. It also did not have the disinfectant smell that a lot of Best Westerns have had. Air conditioner was hard to adjust. Jeremiah's restaurant was good except the trout was advertised as local but it came from a fish farm that was far away so it was disappointing at that. Service was good and wine prices were cheap as were the food prices. Rooms were priced fair for the season. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Right off and on to the freeway with gas close by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogden hotels
1.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 21 in Ogden
302 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ogden UT
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ogden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#9 of 21 in Ogden
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus High Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus High Country Inn

Property: Best Western Plus High Country Inn
Address: 1335 W 12th Street, Ogden, UT 84404-5417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Ogden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ogden
#4 Business Hotel in Ogden
#5 Family Hotel in Ogden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus High Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus High Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western High Country Hotel Ogden
Best Western Ogden
Country Inn Ogden
Ogden Best Western
Ogden Country Inn
Best Western Plus High Country Inn Ogden, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing