We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grey Cliff”

Gray Cliff Lodge Restaurant
Ranked #47 of 366 Restaurants in Ogden
Cuisines: American, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
utah
Level Contributor
107 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Grey Cliff”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

The restaurant is really old and in need of a serious update . The food is OK . I did love the chicken livers . The my steak was nicely cooked . But high priced . If they changed up the menu and restaurant . It would be a great place to go .

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ChesterS67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    14
    8
    3
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Texas
Level Contributor
143 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A Fabulous place to eat in Ogden Canyon”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We have been going here for years for special occasions. We love the trout and the atmosphere of the restaurant. The homemade desserts are also awesome and the service is outstanding. Have never been for brunch but dinner has always been great.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doc10261881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
139 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Family Owned and Cooked for Many Years”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

I had driven past the facility many times over the past week, and wondered if the restaurant was open to the casual traveler or only their lodging guests. As it turns out, the name, "Grey Cliffs Lodge Restaurant" is a little misleading. They have no lodging facilities; it's only a restaurant, and a very good one at that. It's been family owned since 1969, but the history of the main building goes back much further. The current Manager/Chef/Owner, Steve is the second generation operator of the restaurant.

Because the restaurant is located on the narrow canyon road between Ogden and Snow Basin Resort it can be easy to miss. It's located on the left hand side of the road just past the Alaskan Lodge at the upper end of the canyon.

They have an extensive menu with a good selection of different meats and fresh seafood. I went for the fresh Halibut with wild rice and veggies. The meal was started off with a small fruit cup with a dash of ice cream. It was followed with a great cream of asparagus soup that I was very happy that I ordered rather than the salad. It was a generous sized portion of Halibut that I was happy to see and devoured. It was all washed down with a very nice American Riesling wine. The meal included a desert and I went for the Banana Cream Pie, telling myself it was the healthier choice. I just pretended the whipped cream didn't exist. This is a place you don't want to miss as you'll have a great dining experience. They also have a very nice ski museum as well which is located in the bar area. They have stuff going back to the 50's, and it'll bring back some great memories if you've been around that long.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JerryQuill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigham City, Utah
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“If you like to step back in time --”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

-- then you'll appreciate the ambience offered by Gray Cliff Lodge Restaurant, with its lace tablecloths, linen napkins, lovely old home atmosphere, and made-from-scratch food. However, if your preference is fast food and meals right out of the microwave, stick with the chain restaurants down in the vallley.

Our food was wonderful. My husband had the chicken and oysters, while I had fresh trout (farm-raised in either the Ogden or Logan Rivers, so yes, it's really fresh!). Give yourself enough time to enjoy all of the meal courses, including desert.

I certainly recommend Gray Cliff Lodge Restaurant for those special dinners or when you just want to feel like something other than a table number.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorienbaskets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Stuck in the past”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

The menu needs a fresh approach. While traditional, the food lacked flavor demanded by today's more sophisticated diner. Service was good, food was prompt but lackluster.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank claygourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gray Cliff Lodge Restaurant also viewed

 
Ogden, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Gray Cliff Lodge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing