We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Mexican Everytime”
Review of El Matador

El Matador
Ranked #167 of 368 Restaurants in Ogden
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
West Valley City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Everytime”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Had moved from Ogden, but had to make a trip up from Salt Lake City and decided again to hit El Matador. Again and again I know what I'm getting when I feast there. A mound of tortilla chips with their signature salsa with the option of a heaping bowl of shedded cheese to melt in the hot salsa. An array of menu items to please any mix and match desire and gringo fare(such as hamburger and fries) for the little ones not so keen going south of the border. I had the "Mamacita" and the wife had the "El Matador" combos, 2 of our favs. It came hot and fast and, as usual, with so much I get to enjoy the rest tomarrow. Second best thing about El Matador......the price. You'll spend just as much on fast food. A MEXICAN MUST!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank princespoison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    16
    16
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eden, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Classic Ogden mexican”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Service has gotten worse over the years. The food is good but the menu needs an upgrade with a lighter, healthier feel. This is an Ogden original and the salsa and chips cannot be beat.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank A. H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Family Favorite”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This is a great place to eat. We eat there very often. Large portions and good food. They have a bar and you can order drinks.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Firemedic28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“American Mexican”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

The food is not too authentic but it is tasty and I love the huge breaded shrimp that come with several of the meals. Haven't tried their hamburgers, but friends say they are good.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Irene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey BC
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great mexican food”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We loved everything except the beef taco which was too greasy. The salsa was outstanding and they offered cheese to take away some of the heat. The portions were huge! Good value and reasonable prices.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraSurreyBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Matador also viewed

Ogden, Wasatch Range
Ogden, Wasatch Range
 
Ogden, Wasatch Range
Ogden, Wasatch Range
 

Been to El Matador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing