We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome waitress, sub par food”
Review of Union Grill

Union Grill
Ranked #15 of 375 Restaurants in Ogden
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Wall Ave
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Union Grill has catered our company parties for a few years now and I always liked their food. We decided to go for an actual dinner on Friday night. When we walked in we weren't greeted and when we finally found someone to ask for a table they just said ok. After waiting for about 5 mins we asked someone how long until we are seated, they said 20 mins. We decided to wait and then a few mins later someone who wasn't in a uniform and looked about 16 said there is a table open do you want it? When we got seated the tables are cramped and pushed up against walls, not a pleasant experience thus far, We just kept telling ourselves they had good food. Our waitress was prompt and awesome, she was so full of energy and happy to help and answer any questions we had. We ordered the chips and queso, I had the meatloaf with french onion soup, and my husband had the steak and shrimp with a ranch salad. The chips and queso were bearable, nothing fancy and the queso hardened with ina few mins. It took 45 mins for our food to get to us. The meatloaf was dry and under seasoned and the gravy was too salty. The steak and shrimp my husband said was ok but the shrimp and mushrooms were rubbery. Although I loved the soup, I would say the soup was fanastic, it was made with real beef broth. Through the unprofessional front staff, the long wait in the kitchen, our waitress was always checking on us and so happy. We wont be eating there again, but the waitress defiantly made the experience more pleasant than if we had a normal waitress. She got a big tip.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Megan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 110 of 179 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

The menu is mostly yard bird (chicken) that would be fine if they used some imagination. It was week prepared, server was efficient, not super friendly (very common in Utah). People said this place was great but it was average, leaving any culinary imagination, something easily made at home.

Thank Mizzoutiger03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We decide to have lunch here a after doing the museums at the Union
Station and we were pleased with the restaurant. I had the chicken pita tacos which were spicy and filling, very tasty, I added the guacamole. My husband had a cheeseburger with bacon and fries. Pretty standard fare, but quite large so he couldn't finish it. The waiter was very attentive. The place was filled when we left and there was a line of a dozen people waiting for tables in the hallway

Thank carlheir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clairesse w, Manager at Union Grill, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

We are so glad that you and your husband enjoyed everything. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! We hope you will join us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Hadn't been here in several years. Decided to try again - glad we did.

The pasta salad brought before the meal was great! My wife had the chicken salad sandwich and it was really good. I had the tortellini with Alfredo sauce and it was also very good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank COSHBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clairesse w, Manager at Union Grill, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

We are so glad that you decided to visit us again. Hopefully you with dine with us again sooner than later. We appreciate your business. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We shared an entrée - Italian Sausage over pasta - with each of us having a side salad. We were from out of town and didn't want leftovers. The pasta was really good and we went away full. We didn't have room for dessert but some diners at another table ordered some and one of the desserts was enormous and looked delicious. We were there after the museum was closed so only went to the restaurant. The old trains outside was an added attraction. Our waitress was very nice and the service was good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FerndaleGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clairesse w, Manager at Union Grill, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

We feel honored that you decided to try us out during your visit to Ogden. We know there are a lot of choices and we are happy that we were one of them. We hope to have you join us next time you are in town. Thank you so much for taking the time to write nice review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Union Grill also viewed

 
Ogden, Wasatch Range
Ogden, Wasatch Range
 
Ogden, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Union Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing