We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unremarkable”
Review of Union Grill

Union Grill
Ranked #11 of 366 Restaurants in Ogden
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Wall Ave
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
314 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“Unremarkable”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Good coffee shop style menus, adequate portions, pretty basic furniture and cutlery, and unremarkable. One could have been in one of hundreds of cafes in North America, as the wonderful potential of a classic railroad station is not developed nor capitalized upon. The table at which we were seated had a sticky surface and we had to ask for it to be cleaned. The food was fresh and adequate but in no way distinguished. The wait staff were pleasant, but far from well professionally trained or experienced. Parking is easy in a large adjacent lot. In all a fair place for a casual lunch, but not for any remarkable event and certainly not for any romantic or serious business occasion.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 22club58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clairesse w, Manager at Union Grill, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Glad to hear that you found our food to be fresh and adequate. We appreciate your business. Thank you so much for taking the time to write review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    60
    27
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Roy, Utah
2 reviews
“Amazing Atmosphere”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

What a fun place to eat. Located in the historic Union Station at the end of 25th Street in downtown Ogden, you will find a fun and fascinating step back into time. The food is truly remarkable and when you are finished, take a stroll through the museums located in the same facility. I highly recommend eating here!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jgriffman2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clairesse w, Manager at Union Grill, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
We are so glad to hear that you had so much fun on your visit. It is so nice to know that you enjoyed your meal as much as we enjoy serving it. We appreciate your business. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a nice review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The catering is exceptional”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We had Pete et.al. cater several events for us. The food is exceptional and the service top drawer. We could not have had a better caterer. He also helps the community in so many ways that we need to use his services all the time.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ElliotHulet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clairesse w, Manager at Union Grill, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words! We love to cater events with amazing guest like you! We hope to do it again soon! We appreciate your business, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Catering is AWESOME!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

If you are looking for a unique atmosphere with a variety of room sizes, shapes and styles, plenty of parking, easy to find . . . this is the place. And, the service and food is excellent! I work with a non-profit organization and Union Grill sets up and caters for us each month. They are timely and will be specific to your needs or as creative as you need them to be. Just call Clairesse! She'll handle you with kid gloves!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jaci0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clairesse w, Manager at Union Grill, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
We are so glad that you are happy with our services. We look forward to having you each month. Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a kind review. We appreciate your business and loyalty. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
Level Contributor
154 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Remarkable Lunch at Historic Union Station in Ogden Utah”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This morning we decided to join our friends for our first trip on Front Runner train from Orem, Utah to Ogden, Utah, a two hour trip each way. Our server Kristy was personable and attentive at the Union Grill inside the Historic Union Station, which was built over one hundred years ago and then rebuilt after the fire of 1923. The station was interesting with several museums but it was our lunch at Union Grill which was a pleasant surprise. Each of the four of us ordered something different, all very good. However, the homemade split pea soup was the best I have ever eaten in a restaurant. Our server told us that all their soups receive rave notices so I will ask my wife to try their French onion while I try a larger bowel of the split pea on our next visit. There may be a better restaurant lunch in Ogden but it would surprise to find one!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Boyd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clairesse w, Manager at Union Grill, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
We are so happy to hear that you made a trip out Ogden on the Front Runner. There are so many restaurant choices and we are so glad that you chose us. We have homemade soups made daily and hope you will come try them all! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a kind review. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Union Grill also viewed

 
Ogden, Wasatch Range
Ogden, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Union Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing