We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great scenery...”
Review of Oaks

Oaks
Ranked #30 of 366 Restaurants in Ogden
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Kensington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great scenery...”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

The scenery is fantastic. My partner and I decided to take a scenic drive and be "touristy" for the day, as we are from CT and are in the area only for a short while. We ended up in Ogden Canyon and found The Oaks. The server was friendly, and we were greeted right at the door. We ended up sitting in a little booth looking out the front window at the canyon rock. The food is decent- not bad, not fabulous, but decent. The pricing was reasonable. It's what you'd expect from an out-of-the-way type of eatery, but seeing as we weren't looking for a fine dining experience, it measured up perfectly.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ASelner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    30
    12
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eden, Utah
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“GREAT BREAKFAST/BRUNCH!!!”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

All their food is very good. Their brunch/breakfast is WONDERFUL! Burgers are really good. Service is great. This is pretty much a dive in winter (I love a good dive), but in the summer it is delightful to sit outside. Really can't be beat! Give them a try! Oh, and they use a really good coffee, so be sure and get some coffee with your brunch or breakfast!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rower412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesquite, Nevada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“The Broken Oaks”
Reviewed December 31, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We have been going to the Oaks for many many years and it has lost a lot of its better qualities. The outside setting in the summer is still a very nice experience. The breakfast food is not as good as it has been in the past. Examples are the bacon is no longer thick and does not have the nice smoked flavor it did and the potatoes are just run of the mill. Toast was good but only got one slice. The last three times we have been there the service has been poor at best, this is a big change because in the past the service was always excellent. I just don't see the value for the money and poor service is unacceptable for me.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Nevada_Travelers_R-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri, USA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice outside dining”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Breakfast was very nice. The weather was prefect and we enjoyed being outside for breakfast. Everyone was very friendly.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
141 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Beautiful views and.....”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

The oaks provides beautiful views. It's nestled in the heart of Ogden Canyon.

I prefer their breakfast over other meals, but they are all good. I recommend you get there early on the weekends or you may have to wait a little bit to get seated. Also if you get there early, you are more likely to get a window seat if you sit inside. If the weather is good and it's the right time of year, sit outside. The river flows right past many of the tables and you may even see a bear across the river. There was one in the area just last year.

One more tip. If you can, ask for Trent. He is a friendly and detail oriented server.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wine_loving_Chef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oaks also viewed

 

Been to Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing