We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family activities” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ogden Nature Center

Ogden Nature Center
Ranked #8 of 43 things to do in Ogden
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 127-acre wildlife sanctuary offers hands-on field classes for children, teachers and adults and a rehabilitation facility for hundreds of injured and orphaned wild birds.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great family activities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

Super fun activities for the family. Awsome earth day celebration. Also have had a wonderful time at the Halloween/harvest celebration in October. Kids camps all summer long.

Helpful?
Thank MindfulMtnMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    15
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Nice bit of nature in the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

This is a nice place to walk and just get outside, especially when it's too cold/wet to get up in the foothills. They tend to have a lot of activities going on too - both for kids and adults.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sarah_S57090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy, Utah
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Kid Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

This place is most educational for kids, it affords them to see nature at its best.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Another of Ogden's "secrets"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

From the bird re-hab, trails, wildlife and birding; the Nature center is worth supporting. Great summer concert venue.

Helpful?
2 Thank Manx1377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

We visited the Ogden Nature Center as a family with young children (ages 4 and 7) and would recommend it. From the parking lot, you walk a short trail to the visitor's center. On both sides of the trail are a collection of interesting birdhouses. When you arrive at the visitor's center, it is worthwhile to spend a few minutes looking around, especially with kids. There are a few small live animals in cages as well as a few story books and activities. The best bathrooms are here, so use them if you need to.

From the visitor's center, you can walk around and see their small collection of birds in cages outside. Then you can take the unpaved trail to the treehouse, about a half mile away. I did take a stroller on this trail once, but it wasn't easy. However, it is all flat and an easy walk for most. There are a couple of small attractions along the way, such as a lookout tower where you can climb the stairs and look around. When you get to the end of the trail, there are a pair of treehouses where kids and grown-ups can climb around, some picnic tables, and some not-very-inviting bathrooms.

We saw deer and wild turkey on our walk. The grounds are not landscaped, but wild. Don't forget sunscreen and bug spray. The thing I like most about the Ogden Nature Center is the peace and simplicity of it. I have been there two times (both weekdays) and have seen only a few other people there. We can't get that at our public parks or even at the popular National Parks we have visited with our family.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank alaypath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ogden Nature Center also viewed

 

Been to Ogden Nature Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing