We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the WORST hotel I ever stayed in...Ghost hotel...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Ogden
Reviewed September 24, 2010

Ben Lomond has to be the worst hotel I ever stayed in my trips both business and personal. The hotel room was dirty and the furnitures had stains all over it. The bed sheets had holes and were smelly. The amenities such as hair dryer came off the wall not working as well as the coffee maker and the microwave. The kicker was the hotel has ghost that lived there for nearly 90 years on the 11th floor which does not get booked. This place is considered a historical hotel with the Department of InFerior (Interior), but it is just old and run down. I would never want to stay here ever again and I did not get any sleep at night with all the noises. HORRIBLE hotel and horrible trip to Ogden.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HellCatECA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, General Manager at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2010

Thank you for your feedback; we appreciate your incite and hope we can
get more information from you, so we can address your concerns.
Fortunately the majority of our guests enjoy their time at the Ben
Lomond and your experience is not typical of our hotel or our service.
While the hotel is historic and older you can rest assured, the hotel
is not haunted. The hotel is in the process of being renovated and we
are rolling out new bedding in all of our suites. Please contact me so
I can locate the suite you stayed in and take care of the concerns you
listed.
Best regards,
Blake
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (372)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

354 - 360 of 372 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2010

My colleages and I greatly enjoyed our 3 week stay. While not "luxurious", the Ben Lomond has most, if not all, traveler needs covered. Extremely close to the downtown strip, it only lacks a pool and a way to get one's bags to the lobby. Designed for time when there was likely a team of bellhops, this is one thing that would help. The staff was great and daily breakfast a great sendoff into one's day. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank altbowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2010

Thank you for the nice review, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay. We love being able to share positive feedback with our employees. We agree a bellhop would be nice to help with the bags up the four steps at the entrance. Looking forward to having you stay with us again the next time you are in Ogden.

Anna Gavan Owners' Representative

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2010

The staff was very excellent!!! They were so nice to us. We got in late and got right up to our room. The rooms are very roomy. They have a sitting area and two beds it was very nice. The next morning as we were getting ready to leave the cleaning staff knocked on our door and with young kids ready to leave they were very loud. I got a phone call from the cleaning staff asking if I wanted them to clean. I said yes. They came right back up and cleaned our room. As we were heading down to breakfast we talked to a man who was doing new carpet in the whole hotel., They are doing ot floor by floor so they can still have floors open. They ae doing new carpet and wallpaper in the hotel. The hotel is very beautiful. If you have been to any hotel and had a breakfast this hotel will beat any of those hotels. The second day we were there we all woke up late and breakfast is over at 10 we got there right before 10 and were the only ones there. She refilled everything for us and would put the things we wanted right on our table. Very friendly and the whole staff was so kind. I will stay here again!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneyStri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2010

Thanks for the great comments, it is always a pleasure to share positive reviews with our staff. (Our breakfast staff was very pleased to hear you enjoyed breakfast.) We hope you stay with us again soon.

Anna Gavan Owners' Representative

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2010

Where do I start? The room was huge! Had reserved a room with 2 queen beds but when we opened the door the nice lady at the front desk had upgraded us to a suite! Sweet!! That made our teenager Most happy- her own room for the first time in a week of traveling.
When we asked for a dinner suggestion she handed us a coupon for free dessert at a very nice Bistro within walking distance. The motel is downtown and its a Lovely town. Our reason for staying here was the train museum and it was just blocks away. If I am ever in Ogden again we will definitely stay here!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrainsRFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2010

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and dinner at the Bistro. We look forward to your next stay at Ben Lomond Suites in Ogden.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2010

Had an excellent stay at the Ben Lomond Historic Hotel. Fantastic location to ski resorts, historic 25th St. Salomon Complex and walking distance to TRAX- Utah's very fine mass transit train/bus system. Excellent experience overall. Courteous friendly staff, OUTSTANDING breakfast, free WiFi and covered parking. Large rooms, perfect for solo or family traveling. I will be back!!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maryannfaithful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2010

Thank you for the review. It is so fun when people enjoy our beautiful hotel and have a good experience with our staff. We look forward to having you stay with us at Ben Lomond Suites again in the future.

Anna
Hotel Ambassador
Ben Lomond Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2010

If you're tired of cookie cutter hotels, stay at the Ben Lomond. Spacious suites and the rooms are quiet. The hotel lobby is remarkable. The new owners will bring you back to the days of charm and quality. Grand ballrooms, sweeping marble staircases, and craftsmanship you can't find anymore. Hotel is located downtown within walking distance of many excellent restaurants. All of the modern conveniences without the plastic.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swedemar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2010

My stay in the Ben Lomond Hotel in Ogden, Utah was the highlight of my trip. The rooms are spacious and very clean and the staff were friendly, helpful and competent. It was like stepping back into time with the comforts of today and was very restful and relaxing. The hotel is centrally located to downtown Ogden and is also located on historical 25th street with its restaurants, antique shops and galleries and is within walking distance of the Depot that also has museums. This was a business trip, but there are also shuttles to the local ski resorts. Well worth the visit.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValleyviewIdaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogden hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ogden UT
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 21 in Ogden
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus High Country Inn
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Ogden
Courtyard Ogden
#6 of 21 in Ogden
136 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ogden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Address: 2510 Washington Blvd, Ogden, UT 84401-3137
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Ogden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ogden
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ogden
#3 Family Hotel in Ogden
#6 Business Hotel in Ogden
Price Range: $75 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in Utah's second oldest hotel. It is rich in history including the gambling, extortion, bootlegging and corrupt cops. Step back in time and have the Grand Dame of Ogden welcome you. Just like Mae West in the 20s and 30s, the Historic Ben Lomond Suites ran the city. She was big and boisterous and ran the town her way. The Ben Lomond is the only all suite hotel located in downtown Ogden. Ben Lomond Suites is located in the epicenter of Ogden. All within walking distance of numerous independent restaurants and bars, shopping, night life, theaters, Ogden Eccles Conference Center, Ogden Amphitheater, Egyptian Theater, Salomon Center. All rooms are suites with microwave, fridges. Rooms are larger than a standard hotel with separate living rooms and bedrooms. Free wireless internet, and free covered parking. Ben Lomond Hotel has a business center, fitness center, and coin operated guest laundry. Ben Lomond Hotel also has 6 event spaces that have capacities of 25 to 350 guests. Ben Lomond Hotel has two great restaurants and a bar. Breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as room service are available daily at the hotel's on-site restaurant, The Bigelow Grill. Fine evening dining can be found at Restaurant 1107 located on the hotel's 11th floor. Come and enjoy Ogden's history and find out why Al Capone said, "Ogden is too rough a town for me!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ben Lomond Historic Suite
Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, An Ascend Collection Hotel Ogden, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing