We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (411)
Filter reviews
411 results
Traveler rating
204
115
51
20
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
204
115
51
20
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ben lomond historic hotel sitting room front desk separate bedroom sleeping area jetted tub rooms are spacious within walking distance flat screen main floor downtown ogden coffee maker bagels powder mountain salt lake union station
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 411 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2017

Per tripadvisor property was listed as pet friendly, it is not. We got by on Service Dog credential but were warned to avoid the night manager. Not as billed. The hotel was way past due for a face lift. Tattered, torn and dirty. The carpet in our "suite" was filthy, like the kind you are afraid to take your shoes off, I did not like my dog walking on it let alone lying down on it. The front desk staff was nice and helpful. The name had recently been changed to "Bigalow", if I was to hang a new shingle, I would at least rent a carpet cleaner. That this doghouse was no longer pet friendly was a joke.

Room tip: n/a did not see one
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cross S, Director of Sales at Bigelow Hotel and Residences, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2017

Dear John L,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Historic Ben Lomond Suites soon to become The Bigelow Hotel & Residences. I have forwarded your review onto our owners for further review.

Sincerely,
Susan Cross
Director of Sales
Ben Lomond Suites
Ogden, Utah
801-627-1900
scross@benlomondsuites.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2017

Beautiful, historic hotel. We had a suite room, so we had a very large living room area, and a separate bedroom. We were going to the rodeo, and we lucked out because a ton of the rodeo people and Miss Rodeo contestants were staying at the hotel! They were all very nice, especially to the kids. We had lots of room for the kids, and the hotel was so conveniently located. We just walked right out onto 25th street (one of the main streets) and took part in the farmer's market, train rides, park time... very convenient. Staff was very friendly as well. Good value stay, great location!

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sttravels143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cross S, Director of Sales at Bigelow Hotel and Residences, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to respond on your current stay with us. You are correct in July, we do become the "bunkhouse for the cowboys." We are the host hotel for the Ogden Pioneer Days Rodeo.

We are delighted that we met your lodging expectations. Shortly, we will be undergoing a new re-branding, where we will become The Bigelow Hotel & Residences. In the future, we would appreciate serving you again. Thank you for your business.

Safe Traveling,
Susan Cross
Director of Sales
The Bigelow Hotel & Residences (formerly Ben Lomond Hotel)
Ogden, Utah
801-627-1900
scross@benlomondsuites.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2017

The hotel is in the middle of a massive renovation, so hopefully many of the aspects we did not appreciate will be changed. That said, the hotel had plenty of potential but consistently fell flat. Both the lobby and our room felt dated. The hotel overall seemed past its prime - there was a sense that the hotel was once beautiful and grand but its heyday was long over. The bedroom suite was enormous and the bed was comfortable. We were on the 6th floor and had a fantastic view. However, there were stray hairs on the bathroom floor, which, while the only noticeable grime, called into question the cleanliness of the rest of the room. Perhaps the renovation will restore the hotel to its former grandeur, but if you are looking for a historic hotel, this will not fit the bill.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elreha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cross S, Director of Sales at Bigelow Hotel and Residences, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your response. It is the owner's intention to bring the hotel back to it's
Grand status.

We would appreciate your choosing to stay with us again in the future.

Safe Traveling,
Susan Cross
Director of Sales
Ben Lomond Suites
Ogden, Utah
801-627-1900
scross@benlomondsuites.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2017 via mobile

It is a very nice historic hotel. It is a little outdated in the rooms, but customer service and the stay was very nice. I had to travel once a month for 2 years for school so I stayed here several times with some friends and we all enjoyed it. Breakfast was amazing. I recommend this place.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank kayla_lewis_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cross S, Director of Sales at Bigelow Hotel and Residences, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2017

Dear Kayla,

Thank you for taking the time to respond on your stays at the Historic Ben Lomond Hotel, soon to be the Bigelow Hotel and Residences. We thank you for your business and would ask that you choose to stay with us again in the future.

Safe Traveling,
Susan Cross
Director of Sales
Ben Lomond Hotel
Ogden, Utah
801-627-1900
scross@benlomondsuites.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2017

Tried to make a change in nights, from Friday to Saturday night (1 day), they had vacancy, but wouldn't allow it because evidently I booked through a 3rd party?? When I spoke to the 3rd party they said they couldn't make the change, only the hotel can. Long story short, instead of losing $120, I had to make a change in my schedule which messed up my entire trip.

Rooms are decent, lobby is a mess, and the restaurant staff were not very friendly and accomodating.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cross S, Director of Sales at Bigelow Hotel and Residences, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for responding on the experience that you when booking and staying at the hotel. We apologize for your not being able to change your reservations.

We would appreciate your giving us another try to make your next visit stellar.

Safe Traveling,
Susan Cross
Director of Sales
Ben Lomond Suites
Ogden, Utah
801-627-1900
scross@benlomondsuites.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews