We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bigelow Hotel and Residences, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Ogden
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Great Historic Hotel. Large rooms, separate bedroom & living room. Great little kitchen area with micro, refrig, & coffee maker. The staff was also great, friendly, & very helpful. There is a fabulous Antique Shop downstairs & the Irish Pub called Mac Kools in the hotel served great "pub grub" at reasonable rates. Free breakfast was awesome. Right on busline to PowMow & SnowBasin.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grooving2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Bigelow Hotel and Residences, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear Grooving2014,

Thank you for staying with us. We are so glad that you had a great stay and decided to share it on TripAdvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed the large room, friendly staff, breakfast and MacCool's.

We hope that you stay with us again soon. Hopefully for skiing at Powder Mountain and Snowbasin ski resorts.

Thanks again,

Have a great day!
Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (388)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 388 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014

this beautiful historical hotel is the place to stay in Ogden - located on 25th street the heart of the city. the rooms are roomy yet quaint. with a sitting room and a bedroom. updated ammenities yet remains as it has for 87 years with wood furniture and great views. the staff was great and a good breakfast served. the architecture outside and in is a great part of staying here. very clean and i was also pleasantly surprised at the cost.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joycew178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Bigelow Hotel and Residences, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Joycew178,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. We are so glad that you enjoyed our historic hotel and its many historic details. I look forward to sharing your praise with our team.

Thank you again for you review, we hope to see you again soon.

Have a Great Day!

Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Very clean, quiet. Easy access to bus route and skiing. Breakfast was excellent, very attentive service people. Will definitely stay again. Beds were comfortable, having suite is a plus, clean microwave and refrigerator.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadtrippers2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Bigelow Hotel and Residences, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Roadtrippers2014,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for staying with us. We are so glad that our team treated you well and that your suite was clean and quiet. We are also happy that you enjoyed our easy access to Powder Mountain and Snowbasin Ski Resorts.

Thank you again for your review, we hope to see you at Ben Lomond Suites again soon.

Have a Great Day!

Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

A very friendly staff. A great value. Very clean and and excellent breakfast. Definitely would recommend this hotel. Easy on off highway in great part of town. Old style hotel well preserved and updated.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OHara628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Bigelow Hotel and Residences, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear OHara628,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a "Fantastic" review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and the old style of our hotel. I am looking forward to sharing your review with our team.

Thank you again for the review, we hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again soon.

Have a Fantastic Day!

Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Beautiful hotel with very friendly staff. The two restaurants in the hotel are very good. Convenient location on 25th and near the bus stop to the ski resorts. Suite is good-sized and clean, with refrigerator and microwave.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul_W_T36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Bigelow Hotel and Residences, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Paul_W_T36,

Thank you for your Excellent review and for staying with us at Ben Lomond Suites. We are so glad that you enjoyed the hotel, our staff, and restaurants. We are happy that you liked the Ogden Ski Bus to Snowbasin, Wolf Mountain and Powder Mountain Ski Resorts. We hope that you get another opportunity to enjoy one of our ski packages this season, but if not we hope to see you again next year!

Have an Excellent day!

Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Our ski group stayed here and overall I was very impressed, They handled a large group and put on a nice show for us. The rates were reasonable and I am sure I will be back as I love Powder Mountain and this is a convenient location.

Room Tip: Their is rumor of a haunting but good luck getting it out of the staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Bigelow Hotel and Residences, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Laura E.,

Thank you for staying with us at Ben Lomond Suites and posting your review. We are very glad that your ski group enjoyed staying with us.

I agree Powder Mountain is a great ski resort, you just can't beat the powder and tree skiing.

I've read some of the ghost stories about the hotel online, but I've been with the hotel since 2009 and have yet to have a ghostly encounter.

Thank you again for staying with us.

Have a great day!

Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

The Ben Lomond Historic hotel is located in downtown Ogden, Utah. It is very quaint and some say it is haunted. Ask the front desk clerk about some of the strange happenings that go on there or you can do a Google search.
Our stay was just for one night but we enjoyed it very much. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The free continental breakfast was above average. Plenty of food.
The only down side was cleanliness. Over all it was good but I did find human hair all over the bath tub. I don't believe it was from someones head if you know what I mean.
For sure, we would stay there again but would bring a can of Lysol.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samslik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Bigelow Hotel and Residences, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Samslik,

Thank you for staying with us and posting your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and breakfast.

We apologize for the hair in the tub. We have shared your experience with housekeeping and they are working to prevent that from happening to another guest.

Online is the best place to look for stories of ghosts at the hotel, since most of the staff, me included, have not had any first hand experience with ghosts at the hotel.

Thanks again, Have a great day!

Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogden hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ogden UT
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 21 in Ogden
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Ogden
Courtyard Ogden
#7 of 21 in Ogden
155 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ogden
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus High Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bigelow Hotel and Residences, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bigelow Hotel and Residences, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Address: 2510 Washington Blvd, Ogden, UT 84401-3137 (Formerly Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel)
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Ogden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ogden
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ogden
#6 Business Hotel in Ogden
Price Range: $89 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bigelow Hotel and Residences, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in Utah's second oldest hotel. It is rich in history including the gambling, extortion, bootlegging and corrupt cops. Step back in time and have the Grand Dame of Ogden welcome you. Just like Mae West in the 20s and 30s, the Historic Ben Lomond Suites ran the city. She was big and boisterous and ran the town her way. The Ben Lomond is the only all suite hotel located in downtown Ogden. Ben Lomond Suites is located in the epicenter of Ogden. All within walking distance of numerous independent restaurants and bars, shopping, night life, theaters, Ogden Eccles Conference Center, Ogden Amphitheater, Egyptian Theater, Salomon Center. All rooms are suites with microwave, fridges. Rooms are larger than a standard hotel with separate living rooms and bedrooms. Free wireless internet, and free covered parking. Ben Lomond Hotel has a business center, fitness center, and coin operated guest laundry. Ben Lomond Hotel also has 6 event spaces that have capacities of 25 to 350 guests. Ben Lomond Hotel has two great restaurants and a bar. Breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as room service are available daily at the hotel's on-site restaurant, The Bigelow Grill. Fine evening dining can be found at Restaurant 1107 located on the hotel's 11th floor. Come and enjoy Ogden's history and find out why Al Capone said, "Ogden is too rough a town for me!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Bigelow Hotel and Residences, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ben Lomond Historic Suite
Bigelow Hotel And Residences, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member Ogden, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing