We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful Staff - Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Ogden
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Helpful Staff - Beautiful Hotel”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

The front desk was able to get us the room we wanted at the last minute and the staff were very helpful. We were across the street from the Christmas lights at the Municipal Garden in Ogden and had a pleasant stay in a lovely setting. The room was clean and quiet and the lobby is beautiful. It was a great place to meet with family and worked out perfectly. They have a nice hot breakfast in the mornings and was our second stay at the Hotel in the last year. I would stay there again on my next trip to Ogden. Thanks!

Room Tip: Room with a separate bedroom door is great for traveling with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Tony M.,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. We are so glad that you enjoyed the hotel and our team. We are happy that you were able to stay in a room with view of Ogden's Christmas Village. Christmas Village is a lot of fun kids of all ages and you just can't beat the twinkle lights.

Thank you again for the review, we hope to see you again soon.

Have a Beautiful Day!

Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    103
    46
    17
    18
See reviews for
90
120
26
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Missoula
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stunning historical property and great prices ,,

Excellent room, beautiful bed and very comfy and they accommodated my golden retriever, lots of cool restaurants in walking distance!!! Definitely going back...

Room Tip: Price, history, location and comfort all in one,,,,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Lisa S,

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with your golden retriever. We agree there are tons of great restaurants within walking distance of the hotel and we have two wonderful restaurants at the hotel. Thank you for your business, we hope that you and your dog will stay with us again soon.

Have an Awesome day!

Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The hotel was very clean and spacious. Staff was courteous and informative. Lots of variety in the included breakfast. Very tall ceilings and ornate furnishings give this place a real old world classy feeling you just don't find in newer buildings.

Room Tip: Any room is a great one as the Rocky Mountains can be seen from any vantage point at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Lisa O,

Thank you for sharing your Awesome review on TripAdvisor. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and breakfast. We hope that you stay with us again soon!

Have a great day!

Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Although I could have chosen the Hilton or some other chain hotel in the Ogden area, I was fortunate when I chose the Ben Lomond, instead. It was happy surprise. Despite the place being really quiet during the Christmas holiday, it was charming and decorated for the holidays in a really lovely way. Right on the corner of the historic 25th strip, the hotel overlooked the singular most amazing display of small-town holiday lighting I have ever seen. (Ogden townfolk: You are astonishing!).
The hotel had convenient parking, much of it in-doors. The room was immense, the staff was courteous and thoughtful, and the location to Snowbasin was only about 20 mins.
I stayed there with my daughter who absolutely loved the old charm of this historic hotel and said that she felt "charmed" to have the Ben Lomond be our accommodation at the end of what was a perfect day of skiing. Although it would have been nice to catch a post-ski hot-tub, I couldn't have been happier with this place. Incredible value and experience. Will not go anywhere else when skiing in the Ogden area.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the amazing holiday-lit park are a bonus. The suites are huge and comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bangDdrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear dangDdrum,

We are so glad that you "felt fortunate" to stay with us. Ogden's Christmas Village is really fun and we are so happy that you got to enjoy it and that we have views of it from some of our rooms. Did you get the opportunity to explore Ogden's Christmas Village and visit the Ben Lomond Suites cottage? We are glad that you enjoyed skiing at Snowbasin, it is really a world class ski resort. Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdviser.

We hope that you have a wonderful year in 2014!

Happy Holidays!

Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Ok, people, listen up! Wonderful, well renovated old hotel in historic district with microwaves and fridges in each room.
Simple buffet breakfast (eggs, bacon, coffee, juice, cereal) included
Discount ski packages available (lift tickets and room)
Ski where they had Olympic races.
So, fly to Salt Lake, rent a car, and get thee to Ogden--Avoid the big resorts! Enjoy this small town with good and modestly priced restaurants (including those in hotel) and excellent skiing with friendly people everywhere.
Really now, what more do you want?

Room Tip: ask for a corner suite--huge and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear Lucy W.,

Thank you for the great ski review. We are so glad that you enjoyed our ski package. We agree you can't beat the skiing at Snowbasin and Powder Mountain and both mountains are just 30 minutes from the hotel. My father used to live in the San Francisco Bay Area and he said "it is easier to get to the slopes in Utah than to get to skiing in Tahoe, and the snow is better."

We hope to see you again this ski season. It looks like the snow is going to be great!

Have a very Happy New Year!

Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

On a recent trip to Ogden, I chose this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews. I was pleasantly surprised that this hotel exceeded all my expectations. The Ben Lomond is a grand building which has been restored to its original condition. I booked a queen suite which was an enormous room containing a sitting area with a sofa and chairs and two queen beds in separate areas. Everything about this hotel was spotless, and the employees were all very friendly and accommodating. Finally, the breakfast buffet was superb and offered a wide variety of breakfast items.
There was absolutely nothing about my stay I could fault. If you are looking for a hotel in Ogden, you cannot do better than the Ben Lomond.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MontanaTraveler643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear MontanaTraveler643,

Thank you for staying with us at our wonderful historic hotel. We are so happy that we were able to exceed your expectations and that you enjoyed our large rooms and breakfast. Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review.

We hope you get the opportunity to stay with us again soon.

Have a wonderful day!

Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I was a guest at the Ben Lomond from June 26th until November 11th, 2013. The stay overall had been quite pleasant. That was the case until I checked out November 11th. I accidentally left my jewelry case hanging in the window of the hotel behind the blinds. When I called about it the next day, I went directly there and was allowed to go to the room to retrieve it. After examining the case however, I found that there were quite a few of the more valuable pieces missing. I immediately contacted the manager. The room had not yet been re-rented and the only one having entered the room would have been the maid (the beds had been made). THERE ARE NO SAFES AVAILABLE IN THE ROOM TO LOCK YOUR VALUABLES IN. I was told the maid was contacted and denied touching the case. I was also told that there is a statement on the door stating not to leave valuables in the room. Now, that would be okay if there were safes to lock things in, but that is not the case here. I guess every time you leave the room you need to carry a valise for your valuables??? This is ridiculous. It is also ridiculous that no action was taken against the maid - the only person who entered the room after I left. I am extremely disappointed in the way this was handled. I had previously given the Ben Lomond a good review, but I really have to rescind that review at this point....Sad, because it is a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Okaloosagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Okaloosagirl,

Thank you for staying with us, we are sorry to hear that your items went missing and ruined a pleasant stay. The maid that cleaned your room that day has been with the hotel for four years and never been accused of theft. When we asked the maid about the jewelry she stated that she did not touch your jewelry case. When we spoke with you, you told us that the maid had, had the opportunity to steal much more valuable items (cameras and computers) that you had left out previously when she cleaned and nothing had gone missing. Since you feel so strongly that our maid took your items we again request that you report the theft to the police so they can investigate and find proof. Sometimes items go missing during moves, we hope that you find your jewelry while you are unpacking.

Travel Tip
If you can, do not bring valuables along when you travel. If you must travel with valuables stow them in the hotel safe or securely out of sight in your car. Our hotel does not have room safes but we do have a location behind the front desk where guests may keep small valuables secure.

Have a lovely day!

Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogden hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ogden UT
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 21 in Ogden
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus High Country Inn
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Ogden
Courtyard Ogden
#6 of 21 in Ogden
126 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ogden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Property: Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Address: 2510 Washington Blvd, Ogden, UT 84401-3137
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Ogden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ogden
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ogden
#6 Business Hotel in Ogden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in Utah's second oldest hotel. It is rich in history including the gambling, extortion, bootlegging and corrupt cops. Step back in time and have the Grand Dame of Ogden welcome you. Just like Mae West in the 20s and 30s, the Historic Ben Lomond Suites ran the city. She was big and boisterous and ran the town her way. The Ben Lomond is the only all suite hotel located in downtown Ogden. Ben Lomond Suites is located in the epicenter of Ogden. All within walking distance of numerous independent restaurants and bars, shopping, night life, theaters, Ogden Eccles Conference Center, Ogden Amphitheater, Egyptian Theater, Salomon Center. All rooms are suites with microwave, fridges. Rooms are larger than a standard hotel with separate living rooms and bedrooms. Free wireless internet, and free covered parking. Ben Lomond Hotel has a business center, fitness center, and coin operated guest laundry. Ben Lomond Hotel also has 6 event spaces that have capacities of 25 to 350 guests. Ben Lomond Hotel has two great restaurants and a bar. Breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as room service are available daily at the hotel's on-site restaurant, The Bigelow Grill. Fine evening dining can be found at Restaurant 1107 located on the hotel's 11th floor. Come and enjoy Ogden's history and find out why Al Capone said, "Ogden is too rough a town for me!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ben Lomond Historic Suite
Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, An Ascend Collection Hotel Ogden, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing