We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Ogden
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Although I could have chosen the Hilton or some other chain hotel in the Ogden area, I was fortunate when I chose the Ben Lomond, instead. It was happy surprise. Despite the place being really quiet during the Christmas holiday, it was charming and decorated for the holidays in a really lovely way. Right on the corner of the historic 25th strip, the hotel overlooked the singular most amazing display of small-town holiday lighting I have ever seen. (Ogden townfolk: You are astonishing!).
The hotel had convenient parking, much of it in-doors. The room was immense, the staff was courteous and thoughtful, and the location to Snowbasin was only about 20 mins.
I stayed there with my daughter who absolutely loved the old charm of this historic hotel and said that she felt "charmed" to have the Ben Lomond be our accommodation at the end of what was a perfect day of skiing. Although it would have been nice to catch a post-ski hot-tub, I couldn't have been happier with this place. Incredible value and experience. Will not go anywhere else when skiing in the Ogden area.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the amazing holiday-lit park are a bonus. The suites are huge and comfy.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bangDdrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear dangDdrum,

We are so glad that you "felt fortunate" to stay with us. Ogden's Christmas Village is really fun and we are so happy that you got to enjoy it and that we have views of it from some of our rooms. Did you get the opportunity to explore Ogden's Christmas Village and visit the Ben Lomond Suites cottage? We are glad that you enjoyed skiing at Snowbasin, it is really a world class ski resort. Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdviser.

We hope that you have a wonderful year in 2014!

Happy Holidays!

Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (367)
There are newer reviews for Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 367 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2013

Ok, people, listen up! Wonderful, well renovated old hotel in historic district with microwaves and fridges in each room.
Simple buffet breakfast (eggs, bacon, coffee, juice, cereal) included
Discount ski packages available (lift tickets and room)
Ski where they had Olympic races.
So, fly to Salt Lake, rent a car, and get thee to Ogden--Avoid the big resorts! Enjoy this small town with good and modestly priced restaurants (including those in hotel) and excellent skiing with friendly people everywhere.
Really now, what more do you want?

Room Tip: ask for a corner suite--huge and comfortable.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Dear Lucy W.,

Thank you for the great ski review. We are so glad that you enjoyed our ski package. We agree you can't beat the skiing at Snowbasin and Powder Mountain and both mountains are just 30 minutes from the hotel. My father used to live in the San Francisco Bay Area and he said "it is easier to get to the slopes in Utah than to get to skiing in Tahoe, and the snow is better."

We hope to see you again this ski season. It looks like the snow is going to be great!

Have a very Happy New Year!

Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

On a recent trip to Ogden, I chose this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews. I was pleasantly surprised that this hotel exceeded all my expectations. The Ben Lomond is a grand building which has been restored to its original condition. I booked a queen suite which was an enormous room containing a sitting area with a sofa and chairs and two queen beds in separate areas. Everything about this hotel was spotless, and the employees were all very friendly and accommodating. Finally, the breakfast buffet was superb and offered a wide variety of breakfast items.
There was absolutely nothing about my stay I could fault. If you are looking for a hotel in Ogden, you cannot do better than the Ben Lomond.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MontanaTraveler643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear MontanaTraveler643,

Thank you for staying with us at our wonderful historic hotel. We are so happy that we were able to exceed your expectations and that you enjoyed our large rooms and breakfast. Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review.

We hope you get the opportunity to stay with us again soon.

Have a wonderful day!

Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I was a guest at the Ben Lomond from June 26th until November 11th, 2013. The stay overall had been quite pleasant. That was the case until I checked out November 11th. I accidentally left my jewelry case hanging in the window of the hotel behind the blinds. When I called about it the next day, I went directly there and was allowed to go to the room to retrieve it. After examining the case however, I found that there were quite a few of the more valuable pieces missing. I immediately contacted the manager. The room had not yet been re-rented and the only one having entered the room would have been the maid (the beds had been made). THERE ARE NO SAFES AVAILABLE IN THE ROOM TO LOCK YOUR VALUABLES IN. I was told the maid was contacted and denied touching the case. I was also told that there is a statement on the door stating not to leave valuables in the room. Now, that would be okay if there were safes to lock things in, but that is not the case here. I guess every time you leave the room you need to carry a valise for your valuables??? This is ridiculous. It is also ridiculous that no action was taken against the maid - the only person who entered the room after I left. I am extremely disappointed in the way this was handled. I had previously given the Ben Lomond a good review, but I really have to rescind that review at this point....Sad, because it is a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Okaloosagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear Okaloosagirl,

Thank you for staying with us, we are sorry to hear that your items went missing and ruined a pleasant stay. The maid that cleaned your room that day has been with the hotel for four years and never been accused of theft. When we asked the maid about the jewelry she stated that she did not touch your jewelry case. When we spoke with you, you told us that the maid had, had the opportunity to steal much more valuable items (cameras and computers) that you had left out previously when she cleaned and nothing had gone missing. Since you feel so strongly that our maid took your items we again request that you report the theft to the police so they can investigate and find proof. Sometimes items go missing during moves, we hope that you find your jewelry while you are unpacking.

Travel Tip
If you can, do not bring valuables along when you travel. If you must travel with valuables stow them in the hotel safe or securely out of sight in your car. Our hotel does not have room safes but we do have a location behind the front desk where guests may keep small valuables secure.

Have a lovely day!

Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

All rooms are suites. That means extra room. While not updated with the brand new furniture, the bed and pillows (most important) were very comfortable. Dining on top level was above average and the view from the 11th floor is outstanding. Lobby is at street level and is adjacent to a pub with local crowd, a much used shuffleboard table and local beers. Nice. Staff is friendly. Only real negative is that the bathrooms need to be updated but overall, I would stay here again. Oh, and the haunted house theme? i love a good story and a bit of history to boot!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear Jean A.,

Thank you for staying with us during your business trip. We are happy that you enjoyed our suites and our restaurants. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We hope to see you again soon!

Have a lovely day!

Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We had a weekend getaway to Ogden and stayed at the Ben Lomond. We were duly impressed! The room was wonderful--clean, bright, spacious and quiet. The lobby is elegant and just east of the front door is a grand hall with a faboulous fireplace. There are great historic photographs on the walls of the hallways leading to the rooms. The main floor pub had delicious food and great beer on tap with good prices. Complimentary newspapers, nice toiletries, tasty complimentary butter mints and Seattle's Best coffee in the room were appreciated touches The breakfast which was included was very good and well prepared. We plan to return for the winter ski packages and hope to dine at the 11th floor restaurant. Choose the Ben Lomond for an elegant and nostalgic walk back in time. BTW, the Ben Lomond would do Peter Skene Ogden proud!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TopKatzWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Dear TopKatzWife,

Thank you for the great review. We are so glad that you enjoyed our elegant lobby, historic photographs, and breakfast. We are thinking snowy thoughts, so you will have a great time when you come to ski with us this winter.

Thank you for staying with us.

Have a lovely day!

Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

On Saturday, November 2, my wife and I stayed in one of their suites and were very impressed. The bed was very comfortable and the sleeping area was spacious. The sitting area included a couch, desk, TV, microwave and mini-refrigerator. The room was very quiet, and we didn't hear a noise all evening despite the fact that a large wedding was taking place 2 floors below us. The staff at registration were very helpful and the hotel was beautiful. The buffet breakfast included bacon, eggs, home fries, fresh yogurt and fruit, pastries, cereals and beverages. All in all, it was an incredible bargain. Also, it was a 5-minute walk (or quick drive) to the restaurants on 25th Street. We will stay there again on our next visit to Ogden.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bob&robin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayBenLomondSuites, Owner at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Bob&Robin,

Thank you for staying with us. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay enough to post such a nice review. We are happy you enjoyed a quiet night and good breakfast.

We hope you stay with us again soon!

Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogden hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ogden UT
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 21 in Ogden
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus High Country Inn
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Ogden
Courtyard Ogden
#6 of 21 in Ogden
133 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ogden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Address: 2510 Washington Blvd, Ogden, UT 84401-3137
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Ogden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ogden
#3 Family Hotel in Ogden
#6 Business Hotel in Ogden
Price Range: $87 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in Utah's second oldest hotel. It is rich in history including the gambling, extortion, bootlegging and corrupt cops. Step back in time and have the Grand Dame of Ogden welcome you. Just like Mae West in the 20s and 30s, the Historic Ben Lomond Suites ran the city. She was big and boisterous and ran the town her way. The Ben Lomond is the only all suite hotel located in downtown Ogden. Ben Lomond Suites is located in the epicenter of Ogden. All within walking distance of numerous independent restaurants and bars, shopping, night life, theaters, Ogden Eccles Conference Center, Ogden Amphitheater, Egyptian Theater, Salomon Center. All rooms are suites with microwave, fridges. Rooms are larger than a standard hotel with separate living rooms and bedrooms. Free wireless internet, and free covered parking. Ben Lomond Hotel has a business center, fitness center, and coin operated guest laundry. Ben Lomond Hotel also has 6 event spaces that have capacities of 25 to 350 guests. Ben Lomond Hotel has two great restaurants and a bar. Breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as room service are available daily at the hotel's on-site restaurant, The Bigelow Grill. Fine evening dining can be found at Restaurant 1107 located on the hotel's 11th floor. Come and enjoy Ogden's history and find out why Al Capone said, "Ogden is too rough a town for me!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ben Lomond Historic Suite
Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, An Ascend Collection Hotel Ogden, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing